Learning?

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Re: Learning?

Postby foxitrot » Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:16 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:Note that there are a few times I have seen it route me a 3rd direction further down the freeway. I usually find no issue with my normal route, so I am not sure why it ever selects that route over mine.

Give it a try ;-) then you'll possibly know.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7065
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2353 times
Been thanked: 1076 times

Re: Re: Learning?

Postby Kuhlkatz » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:25 pm

biffhero wrote:That would be really awesome. For some reason, Waze has never figured out where I live or where I am going. You would think that after 148,000 points, most all of it to / from work, it would have figured that out by now.


Do you have the home and work favorites set and do you usually navigate there?
It should figure it out in less than a week if thats the case.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using Tapatalk 2
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Re: Learning?

Postby dmcconachie » Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:53 pm

yrrabsille wrote:A LOT of editing has been lost

Just because you're not seeing things as you expect doesn't mean anything has been lost. We've had issues like this before on both servers and rarely has anything actually been lost. Once support have confirmed a solution/timescale you can begin to assess the impact. There's no point speculating before!
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Re: Learning?

Postby dmcconachie » Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:39 am

gerben wrote:
If that's still too complicated, then maybe we can steal the idea from my old Tom-Tom GPS that has no internet connectivity: add a button called "avoid roadblock" which allows you to avoid the current road for a specified distance (can specify 1/4 mile, 0.5 mile, 1 mile, 3 mile, etc) and finds the best route possible with the exception of the current road.


I used that one a lot when I still used TT, and I have wanted to use this in Waze several times...

Yeah it's probably the one feature I miss from my tomtom days!
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Learning?

Postby yrrabsille » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:40 am

Nice, thank you, that's good to hear.


Barry
yrrabsille
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Learning?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:35 pm

yrrabsille wrote:So, today I left for work from a friends house. I had in my mind a certain route that I thought would be best and I assumed that Waze would probably pick it. Nope. Waze just wanted to go to the highway...

We talked about routing via road type preference at the US meetup. We shared examples, and some pretty striking examples or Waze routing bad choices, and some complete failures when it comes to the drive-distance-to-direct-distance ratio.

We've also shared examples with Ehud directly via email since the meetup. Between Ehud and Fej talking, it seems clear there is going to be some changes. One quote from Ehud: "We already have a fix for this but we need to test it. We plan to deploy it on a few servers and let you test it with us." But there was also an example I shared where, even though the road was well-established and not new, some segments had "something ... wrong in our historical speed data on one of the segments in the way." To which he also noted, "I'll let you know when we fix it (we're doing a global fix in case this issue effected other segments)."

Not that this means anything to learning routes. Waze has already stated multiple times in the last few months that they are working on bringing back actual, real, learned routes. I think the US meetup notes have it mentioned.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23589
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 4770 times

Re: Learning?

Postby yrrabsille » Thu Mar 14, 2013 6:25 pm

So, today I left for work from a friends house. I had in my mind a certain route that I thought would be best and I assumed that Waze would probably pick it. Nope. Waze just wanted to go to the highway. But I thought that it would probably be not much different to go either way so I decided to skip the turn to the highway. It recalculated and took an entire eight minutes off of the destination time. That's huge. I can't say it enough, Waze puts way too much priority on the highways. At this point I have very little confidence that Waze ever chooses the fastest route unless the fastest route happens to be the highway. And in New England, that's not always true.
And I consider the maps in this area to be very good.
yrrabsille
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Learning?

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:03 pm

In my route to work, getting off the freeway has two routes that are possible. What appears to be the shorter of the two is what Waze "usually" uses, but I never take that route because sometimes I find heavier traffic on part of it and there is a long light required for a left turn. When I take my route it of course will recalc to my route and show my distance increased by 0.5 miles, but the time is about the same. Because my route does not have that left turn light I don't stop driving. I hate to wait. :D

Periodically (1 per week or few weeks) Waze will select the route I always take. At those times I can see there is usually heavier traffic on the normal route. So I know Waze will take an alternate route based on traffic. I guess the route it proposes is actually faster most of the time, but psychologically I like not stopping.

Note that there are a few times I have seen it route me a 3rd direction further down the freeway. I usually find no issue with my normal route, so I am not sure why it ever selects that route over mine.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1328 times
Been thanked: 1568 times

Re: Learning?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:10 pm

stlninx wrote:I think I am in the same boat here. There are three subdivisions off a major road where I live. I live in the middle one. Waze alwaze wants to take me through the first one.

Care to post a permalink to this area so someone can check for map issues?
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23589
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 4770 times

Re: Learning?

Postby Stlminx » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:58 pm

I think I am in the same boat here. There are three subdivisions off a major road where I live. I live in the middle one. Waze alwaze wants to take me through the first one. When I turn onto my street it looses me and thinks it needs to route me to the 3rd one. (mine is in the middle) The point is that I turn into mine every day 5 days a week and it still doesnt learn that I am not going in #1 or #3.
Stlminx
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:41 pm
Location: St Louis
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]