Learning?

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Re: Learning?

Postby dmcconachie » Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:39 am

gerben wrote:
If that's still too complicated, then maybe we can steal the idea from my old Tom-Tom GPS that has no internet connectivity: add a button called "avoid roadblock" which allows you to avoid the current road for a specified distance (can specify 1/4 mile, 0.5 mile, 1 mile, 3 mile, etc) and finds the best route possible with the exception of the current road.


I used that one a lot when I still used TT, and I have wanted to use this in Waze several times...

Yeah it's probably the one feature I miss from my tomtom days!
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 305 times

Re: Learning?

Postby dcsohl » Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:15 pm

I'm having a similar issue as the OP here, in that Waze is not learning my route home. Oddly, Waze has learned my route to work in the morning; my preferred route shows up as an alternate route in Waze. I'm able to select it and use it to get to work in the morning.

But coming home in the evening, Waze has never presented me with my preferred route, which is simply the morning route backwards.

Here's an illustration... my route home from work, giving only one option: https://www.waze.com/livemap/?zoom=12&l ... g=61633318 (NB: I am finding in Firefox, loading up that map URL, that it wants to show me the whole world and I have to zoom all the way in to see the route. If you have to do this, know that this is all happening about 15 miles west of Boston, MA.) And my route to work, showing both options: https://www.waze.com/livemap/?zoom=12&l ... g=61611535

You can see, on the map, that a major road, State Route 9, runs a straight line from point A to point B. The Interstate route adds over two miles to the route and is, on average, roughly the same time. Sometimes it's faster, and sometimes Route 9 is faster. But Waze, going eastbound in the evenings, won't even consider Route 9, not even as an alternative route, until after I drive past the on-ramps to the Interstate. Then it recalculates to use Route 9 the whole way, and often 9 is faster. (Side note: When I drive past the first ramp, Waze recalculates to tell me to take an illegal left turn onto the other ramp, and doesn't consider Route 9 until after I drive past both ramps.)

So why is Waze learning the Route 9 way westbound, but not eastbound?
dcsohl
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Learning?

Postby gettingthere » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:05 pm

A brief look at is seems that the road directionality is correct as well as turn restrictions along Worcester St to the East. I do see several segments with very low road speed info, in one direction in Cartouche_old. This may or may not be relevant since Waze supposedly uses time of day speed data that we don't have access to as map editors.

Possible workarounds:

* Keep driving the way you want to go whether Waze routes you that way or not. Unfortunately if you do this on your own, you may route yourself into a traffic jam that Waze is trying to avoid :)

* An editor could try re-doing some/all of the segments with very low speed data. Generally this is somewhat of a last resort measure.

https://www.waze.com/cartouche_old/?zoo ... 1=22389049

https://www.waze.com/cartouche_old/?zoo ... 1=22419474

https://www.waze.com/cartouche_old/?zoo ... 1=22419474

https://www.waze.com/cartouche_old/?zoo ... 1=22455081

https://www.waze.com/cartouche_old/?zoo ... 1=22434644
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Learning?

Postby dcsohl » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:39 pm

Hmm, interesting find on those segments. But the speed data is a bit confusing to me... It seems to me that when you see a segment that says "48/3 mph" that traffic is moving one way at 48 mph and the other way at 3 mph... but I don't know how to tell which direction is which. So I'm going to guess based on my knowledge of the area.

On your first two (well, three, since your second and third segment are the same one ;) ) segments, there is a traffic light at the intersection of Temple which can cause some delays. The low speeds are probably traffic heading towards the light. Likewise on your fourth segment, there's a light at Country Club Ln.

But your fifth segment... wow, that's a strange one. 3 mph in one direction... probably eastbound given the behaviour. The Country Club Ln light doesn't usually back up that far (though it does, sometimes), and the segments to the west of that segment have fine numbers, including the highway ramps.
dcsohl
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Learning?

Postby RallyChris » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:41 pm

I've been told by Dror to ignore the speed numbers in old cartouche, that navigation isn't using those at all. He didn't actually state it, but I inferred that he also was trying to say that they may not be accurate, since they aren't used, they may not being updated (correctly?)
Portland, OR / USA - Mega Mapper
Wiki: Area Manager | Map Editing | Known Issues List
Official Suggestion Websites (hosted by uservoice):
Waze Client | Waze Website / Editor
Image
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Learning?

Postby gettingthere » Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:59 pm

RallyChris wrote:I've been told by Dror to ignore the speed numbers in old cartouche, that navigation isn't using those at all. He didn't actually state it, but I inferred that he also was trying to say that they may not be accurate, since they aren't used, they may not being updated (correctly?)


If they are not longer using this data or if it is not accurate, it should be removed ;)

Although I have seen at least one case where I was personally having routing issues, saw very low speed data such as this on the segment in question, re-did the segment, and the routing issue was resolved when the map updated.

Although I do agree (and posted above) that likely this data is not reflective of what is being used for the routing since Waze is supposedly using time of day data for routing (although lots of questions on how this actually works, how many data points are there, etc.).
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Learning?

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:09 pm

dcsohl wrote: It seems to me that when you see a segment that says "48/3 mph" that traffic is moving one way at 48 mph and the other way at 3 mph... but I don't know how to tell which direction is which. So I'm going to guess based on my knowledge of the area.


It depends on which direction that segment was drawn. Just like on one-way streets, the arrow in the editor can point in either direction depending on whether the segment was drawn forwards or backwards. There's no easy way to tell.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana or Mississippi Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7533
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 395 times
Been thanked: 962 times

Re: Learning?

Postby yrrabsille » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:21 am

I cannot even begin to tell you how frustrated I am with this "learning" issue and now frustrated with cartouche as well. To update you guys on the original problem I posted about on this thread, there has been ZERO progress. I hoped that the map update would help since I spent a LOT of time updating the map to help this issue out only to find out that half of my updates never saved. Mainly it's on Salmon Falls Rd in Rochester, NH where I changed it from a street to a primary street. Go look at the stupid thing now, only portions of it saved and what's left it won't let me fix. I can change it, but moments later it changes back. So I went and looked at other roads I've fixed and sure enough, they're screwed up too. Check out Dover Point Rd. in Dover, NH.
How much more of my hours of work was wasted all over New England?
yrrabsille
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Learning?

Postby gettingthere » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:47 am

Check out status.waze.com. There are issues with the display layer of the map editor. Per comments on the recent status post from Dror, no previous edits are lost. They are working to resolve this issue.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Learning?

Postby yrrabsille » Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:55 pm

That's not true. The screwed up map is "live".
I saw it for myself on my way to work. There's a lot of wasted work out there
yrrabsille
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:23 pm
Location: Sanbornville, NH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users