Learning my routes

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Learning my routes

Postby floppyrod84 » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:55 am

That'll be why your routes are dodgy ;-)
If you can PM me a permalink I'll have a look at it.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Learning my routes

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:06 am

This is a feature, but it's been broken for as long as I can remember.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Learning my routes

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:32 am

That will only increase the penalty, it won't stop it.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Learning my routes

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:39 pm

What happens if they're wrong, or name a road and don't check the turn restrictions?

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Learning my routes

Postby floppyrod84 » Tue Aug 28, 2012 7:20 am

If you can't legally drive down a road it should either be set as private, or removed completely.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Learning my routes

Postby hegedusa » Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:12 am

Are you sure waze doesn't learn routes? Or at least reduce the "cost" to locations on your way to your destination? This isn't the experience I have. I'll explain:

I regularly drive to one place at different times of day (I called it "work") using my own preferred route. This is west of where I live. Waze seems to have now "learnt" that I prefer that route, and sometimes the alternatives seem quicker. The route uses a major trunk road - the A12.

However, recently, I asked to route to somewhere else, in the other direction, about 50 miles away to the east. Waze took me on part of my regular route to work, via the A12 west of where I live, rather than a junction with the A12 east of where I live actually on the way. This route was a few miles and 10 minutes longer than a better route.

Waze knew about this route because when I asked for other routes, it only listed one, and that that was what I would regard as the proper route.

So in a nutshell, waze shows me an inefficient route that uses part of my way to work, and when I ask to show me routes, it shows me just one route, a sensible one.

So it appears to be behaving as if it attributes a low cost to locations along regular routes, in preference to what it knows to be a correct route. It added only a small percentage to the time and distance travelled. When I tried routing to other locations along the way to the second route, it stopped using the "silly" route when the destination was nearer home.
--
Anthony Hegedus
Running Ubuntu 12.04 / Windows 7 / iPhone 4s
Wazeing about 250 miles a week!

Area Manager for South Essex (UK)
hegedusa
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:42 pm
Location: Billericay, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Learning my routes

Postby hegedusa » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:38 am

I've noticed, having made almost 5000 corrections. Roads with turns blocked, roundabouts randomly placed 500 yards from the junction, roads not named and littered with one way roads.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
--
Anthony Hegedus
Running Ubuntu 12.04 / Windows 7 / iPhone 4s
Wazeing about 250 miles a week!

Area Manager for South Essex (UK)
hegedusa
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:42 pm
Location: Billericay, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Learning my routes

Postby julienmason » Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:16 pm

I cannot seem to "train" WAZE to remember my preferred route to work. Though my preferred route is available to me as an alternate, I always see the WAZE default which I do not take.

How do I teach WAZE to use my preferred route rather than the default?
julienmason
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 4:50 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Learning my routes

Postby julienmason » Fri Jun 29, 2012 8:18 am

Thanks. I appreciate it.
julienmason
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 4:50 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Learning my routes

Postby txemt » Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:45 am

After about 15 tries, Waze "learned" that I can use the back gate (and routinely directs me that way) of my apartment complex. Although my apartment complex has now closed and lock the gate, Waze does route me that way. It choses a private road and street as opposed to the primary street at the front of my complex. So....I don't know.
Just wazeting my time to help you waze your route smoothly
S Florida
US CM
RC-US Territories, Texas & OK
"Don't Mess With TxEmt"
Read, Read & Read
txemt
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 4431
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:03 pm
Location: Miami, Fl
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 950 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users