Routing server internal error

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Routing server internal error

Postby optid » Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:41 pm

I've done everything people have suggested and the problem still persists. It's sad that such a good app has bad support.

Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk 2
optid
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 5:21 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Routing server internal error

Postby optid » Wed Jul 18, 2012 4:35 am

gettingthere wrote:How far away are you trying to route to? Have you rebooted your SmartPhone?


I am trying to navigate from Wilmington,NC to Roanoke,VA - Everytime I do so I get the error. I can navigate to any other city in VA though. I have rebooted phone, uninstalled app and re-installed the app, and I get the same error.
optid
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 5:21 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Routing server internal error

Postby optid » Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:49 am

I am having the same issue. I live in Wilmington, NC and whenever i try to navigate to Roanoke, VA it says Routing server internal error. Please help.

Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk 2
optid
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 5:21 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Routing server internal error

Postby nykonkitty » Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:03 pm

Hi,

I have also had this issue. I have now have an iPhone5 and updated waze to the newest version.
The only I can fix the issue is by restarting WAZE.
My friend has an iPhone 4S with the one version older of waze and has none of these issues.

I still love waze but is now becoming very frustrating to use.

-Kitty
nykonkitty
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Routing server internal error

Postby millerok98 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:31 pm

gettingthere,

I have rebooted my device several times with no changes. I've uninstalled and reinstalled Waze. I tried to do some navigating on the LiveMap and I can't get a route further than 5-7 miles in the areas that I normally travel around in. Anything outside of that gives me a Can not find a route message. I also tried installing Waze on my Android tablet that's never had Waze on it, and it gives me the same problems as well. So I know it has to be a Waze issue not a device issue. If I can be of further assistance, let me know.
millerok98
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: salt lake city, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Routing server internal error

Postby millerok98 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:42 am

I'm finding some locations will route fine others give me that message. Can't really figure out any pattern.
millerok98
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: salt lake city, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Routing server internal error

Postby millerok98 » Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:20 pm

I created a ticket and got this response:

If the problem persists, please uninstall Waze (make sure to remove any remaining directories in your SD card) and then reinstall the software. Make sure that you have a stable data connection and good GPS reception.

I uninstalled Waze, deleted all Waze files left over, reinstalled Waze, but I still get that error message. Didn't work for me, might work for someone else.
millerok98
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: salt lake city, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Routing server internal error

Postby millerok98 » Sun Jul 15, 2012 8:33 pm

I have been getting a routing server internal error message anytime I try to navigate anywhere. It's being going on for the last 4 days. I'm in the salt lake city, utah, usa area. Using latest waze android update.
millerok98
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: salt lake city, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Routing server internal error

Postby iahim » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:45 am

Kitty,

I don't think there are any server issues presently (at least none are reported on the status page). I would try to do a hard reset on the phone (google it if you've never done it). If that doesn't work I would uninstall Waze, do a hard reset and then install it again.
iahim
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Routing server internal error

Postby iahim » Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:11 am

chybb wrote:I have been getting the Internal Server Error for two weeks now. The only time it works is when I GPS home or work. It also works when I am relatively closer to where I am heading. Now, keep in mind I am only traveling no more than 30 miles and am in the DC area. I have full bars and 3G up. I have an iPhone and my husband has a Droid and is also having the same issues.
Waze, please fix the issues - it's happening to my coworkers too! It's not our phones - it's your app. Maybe when you updated it, someone didn't do something correctly. Accountability folks...

For the last few days it worked fine for me (except Saturday when I kept getting the server timeout error for about 5 minutes - but that's a different issue).
iahim
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users