Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby abc1357 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:03 pm

I have discovered that routing to RPPs is not correct under certain circumstances.

I put in a new PR and a RPP a few days ago. 1099 Via Media, Lafayette, CA, USA. One of the things I DID NOT do was to move the Stop Point of the RPP.

Today, after confirming that a tile update has occured, I used my phone to test routing to this address. This is the route I got.
Route before Stop Point Adjustment.jpg
(21.91 KiB) Downloaded 630 times

This is not correct as the guidance ends before routing me onto the PR. I did clear the cache on my phone first before requesting a route.

Next, I adjusted the Stop Point of the RPP. I cleared the cache on my phone and did another search. This is the route I got.
Route after Stop Point Adjustment.jpg
(25.4 KiB) Downloaded 632 times

Note that the second attempt, after the Stop Point has been adjusted, correctly routes me down the PR.

Therefore, it appears that if a RPP is off on a side segment (PR, PLR, etc.), Waze would not route it correctly until the Stop Point is adjusted. I feel that this is a bug as there are many RPPs already on the map to fix routes to business parks, shopping centers, etc., and there is no way we can go back and adjust them all. There is also no easy way (without using scripts) for us to even tell if the Stop Point has been adjusted without selecting each RPP.
-- abc1357 --
California State Manager

[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ]
abc1357
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:01 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
Has thanked: 213 times
Been thanked: 176 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby abc1357 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 4:18 pm

After testing with herrchin, we have discovered that this is an issue only when the RPP is within about 80 meters from the named segment AND the Stop Point/Entry Point has NOT been adjusted.

If the RPP is farther than ~80 m from the named segment, Waze will route correctly to the differently named segment where the RPP is closest to - even if the RPP was just created without nudging the RPP or the Stop Point/Entry Point i.e. just entering the HN, Street Name, City, Country and Save.

If the RPP is within ~80 m from the named segment, you must nudge the Stop Point/Entry Point for Waze to route to the differently named segment.
Last edited by abc1357 on Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
-- abc1357 --
California State Manager

[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ]
abc1357
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:01 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
Has thanked: 213 times
Been thanked: 176 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby abc1357 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 12:16 am

FYI. JustinS83's WME Place Interface Enhancements now includes a fix for this requirement to nudge the Stop/Entry Point of the RPP. I just tested by creating two RPPs side by side about 1 m apart. These two RPPs are on a unnamed PR about 20 m from the main named segment. Also, these 2 RPPs were created without nudging the RPP or the Stop/Entry Point of the RPP. I just added the addresses.

RPP #1 was created in a plain WME without any extensions or scripts. Waze stopped the routing on the main segment (as discussed in the first post).
RPP #2 was created in WME with the WME Place Interface Enhancements script active. Waze routed me correctly to the PR.

THANK YOU JustinS83.
-- abc1357 --
California State Manager

[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ]
abc1357
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:01 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
Has thanked: 213 times
Been thanked: 176 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby dspille » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:43 am

Very interesting. Thanks for figuring this out!
Thanks,
dspille
Country Manager, Multi-State Manager - South Central Region

SCR Wiki
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
dspille
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:05 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Has thanked: 530 times
Been thanked: 149 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby juliansean » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:05 am

I have seen this happen, and had no idea it just took moving the RPP. Great detective work! I do hope this gets fixed so we aren't nudging RPP's like we have been nudging HN's.
Sean Julian
SM: TX, LA, MS, AR, OK
AM: SE FL, Boston, MA, Brooklyn, NY, Bronx, NY, Manhattan, NY, Queens, NY, E CA, SW KS

[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
juliansean
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 3:33 am
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 322 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby PesachZ » Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:50 pm

This is a known behaviour and was explicitly stated by staff to us when they fixed RPP routing. We (the champs) have been trying to get the behaviour changed so it doesn't require a stop point adjustment. However as far as I understand adjusting the stop point changes something in the database to allow the proper routing behaviour.
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC}
Has thanked: 1998 times
Been thanked: 2374 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby sikemever » Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:37 pm

Working on a lot of rural addresses in PA, this is a very important revelation. Thank you for sharing.
Nokia 6.1, Android 9 "Pie"
[ img ] [ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
[ img ]

NOR Multi-state Manager
MAR Area Manager
sikemever
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby SpencerFG » Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:17 pm

PesachZ wrote:This is a known behaviour and was explicitly stated by staff to us when they fixed RPP routing. We (the champs) have been trying to get the behaviour changed so it doesn't require a stop point adjustment. However as far as I understand adjusting the stop point changes something in the database to allow the proper routing behaviour.


Stop point adjustment is not working for me. Here's one UR (problem is some distance from the report so you'll have to search for the address): https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... st=7586033 .

I'm probably doing something wrong so maybe someone can point out the problem.
SpencerFG
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Virginia, Southern California USA
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby subs5 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:14 am

Has this been reported as a [BUG] yet?
subs5
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Has thanked: 618 times
Been thanked: 929 times

Re: Routing to RPPs not correct under certain circumstances

Postby tcalvert317m » Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:12 am

Thanks for investigative work!
tcalvert317m
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:47 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 71 times


Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]