How do I force an exact location?

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

How do I force an exact location?

Postby biz_kid1 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:11 pm

My work has a physical address that is NOT where I actually go so Waze tries to make me turn at our main gate where I have to enter the property and drive to my parking lot. It's a large campus with building numbers to identify us and not a different physical address. The other issue that stems from this is that Waze won't "park" my car...after I park and start walking inside, Waze keeps trying to reroute me back to the physical "work" address. How do I manually "park" my car? Thanks in advance!

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
biz_kid1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:48 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby ramblinwreck_81 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 1:00 am

There's a couple of questions there that I don't see a connection between. I'd start with the first problem. If you tell us where you are located, we can try and connect you with editors in that region. They can likely help with the business location problem. I'd solve that one first. then move on to the next.
USA Country Manager; Georgia State Manager

[ img ][ img ]
utile, simplicitate, retentione
Join the Southeast Region Discord Channel
ramblinwreck_81
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 1:05 pm
Location: I dunno. Thankfully, I have Waze.
Has thanked: 134 times
Been thanked: 183 times

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby biz_kid1 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:15 pm

Fort Worth, Texas

ramblinwreck_81 wrote:There's a couple of questions there that I don't see a connection between. I'd start with the first problem. If you tell us where you are located, we can try and connect you with editors in that region. They can likely help with the business location problem. I'd solve that one first. then move on to the next.
biz_kid1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:48 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby russblau » Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:40 pm

The second issue is ridiculously simple. When you have parked your car, tap the bar at the bottom of the map that shows your estimate time of arrival, and then the "Stop" button. Waze will then stop trying to direct you to the other side of the campus.
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ]
MAR MSM; State Manager: District of Columbia
russblau
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1488
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:36 pm
Has thanked: 296 times
Been thanked: 642 times

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby biz_kid1 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:42 pm

russblau wrote:The second issue is ridiculously simple. When you have parked your car, tap the bar at the bottom of the map that shows your estimate time of arrival, and then the "Stop" button. Waze will then stop trying to direct you to the other side of the campus.


Except that isn't working either. Waze still refuses to park my vehicle.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
biz_kid1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:48 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby biz_kid1 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:38 am

I have yet to receive a response from a map editor. Ironically, sometimes now Waze wants me to turn at the main gate and sometimes it wants me to go straight but neither is still where I technically need to be.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk
biz_kid1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:48 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby turbomkt » Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:03 am

Can you tell us how you are searching for the location? There are ways to force to a specific lat/long with a url like this http://waze.to/?navigate=yes&ll=34.021120,-118.396470

But...there are other ways to do it by making the map more accurate if we know the location.
turbomkt
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1120
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 450 times
Been thanked: 311 times

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby biz_kid1 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:25 am

I enter the address, if that's what you mean.

turbomkt wrote:Can you tell us how you are searching for the location? There are ways to force to a specific lat/long with a url like this http://waze.to/?navigate=yes&ll=34.021120,-118.396470

But...there are other ways to do it by making the map more accurate if we know the location.
biz_kid1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:48 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby turbomkt » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:50 am

What's the address?

When it's anything other than a residence, searching by name is usually better. In this case, it's going to be more complicated, but there may still be a way to get better navigation...but we need to know where you are trying to go.
turbomkt
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1120
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 450 times
Been thanked: 311 times

Re: How do I force an exact location?

Postby juliansean » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:30 am

I have passed this on to our Ft. Worth editors.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sean Julian
SM: TX, LA, MS, AR, OK
AM: SE FL, Boston, MA, Brooklyn, NY, Bronx, NY, Manhattan, NY, Queens, NY, E CA, SW KS

[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
juliansean
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 3:33 am
Has thanked: 448 times
Been thanked: 305 times

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users