Portion of Nav non-existant

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby Trunks30 » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:37 pm

I was using the nav the other day and around the last quarter of the navigation, it's like the navigation stopped. The purple line just ended. Now this would have been a big problem if i didn't know where I was going already, because where it ended there were a few turns I had to make. After about a mile or so after it just ended and I had made all my turns, the purple nav line picked back up. Also the whole time I was in that in between area, it kept trying to recalculate but was unsuccessful. My gps was working just fine because my location was in the right spot the whole time in between. This has only happened once since I've been using waze so I just wanted to put it out there and see if anyone else has had this problem before.
Trunks
MyTouch4G - T Mobile - Virtuous Affinity 2.05 - Android 2.3.5
Trunks30
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:08 pm

A screenshot would be very helpful. It sounds like it could have been your app didn't, for some reason, download the latest version of the map tile. Usually, the route going through the tile is supposed to force it to download a new one. It may be helpful to upload logs from the app, then submit a ticket from the Quick Help box on the support page, noting the time/date you uploaded the logs.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.1.1 | Waze v4.14
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23499
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1090 times
Been thanked: 4637 times

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby Trunks30 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:24 pm

I'm not exactly sure how to do the screenshot. It did however happen to me again. It seems that the navigation portion of it does not like the longer road trips. The map tiles are there, maybe it's not the updated one like you said, but at the same time it was on the interstate. The navigation line along the interstate looked like a hashed line instead of a solid line. In between sections, it would constantly try to re-calculate with no success. One of my recent trips I lost signal during one of the in between sections, and since it couldn't re-calculate, waze just shut down on it's own. I thought maybe it was my phone, and it still could be, so I tried a couple of different ROM's and both having the same effect. They have been having issues with the NA servers so maybe that would have caused it as well.

At this point I'm thinking for the longer road trips just having waze on but not using the nav portion of it.
Trunks
MyTouch4G - T Mobile - Virtuous Affinity 2.05 - Android 2.3.5
Trunks30
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby Trunks30 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:06 am

Just another update, I was just talking to one of my friends who uses waze as well. He just got back from a long road trip and he asked me if the navigation for waze has ever cut out on me. From what I've seen of this issue so far, it seems to work fine for every day commutes of less than 30 min. Once you get over that 30 min mark it seems to start having issues.

As for his phone, it's a T-Mobile Sensation and whatever the last OTA update was.
Trunks
MyTouch4G - T Mobile - Virtuous Affinity 2.05 - Android 2.3.5
Trunks30
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby weeezer14 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:41 pm

I frequently use Waze for multi-hour trips and only rarely have this issue -- and when I do it always seems connected with poor cell phone service.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
weeezer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby Trunks30 » Sun Oct 21, 2012 6:08 am

I'm starting to wonder if it's just my phone.
Trunks
MyTouch4G - T Mobile - Virtuous Affinity 2.05 - Android 2.3.5
Trunks30
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby invented » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:28 am

It's been doing it to me too. Then you get "proceed to highlighted route".
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby OldGnome » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:40 am

I have recently used Waze for multiple trips of two to more than four hours in Florida, Mississippi and Louisiana. I didn't notice a problem at all with the navigation, even across southern Florida ("alligator alley") where cell reception can be spotty.

I have an iPhone 4S and Verizon is my carrier.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby invented » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:15 pm

OldGnome wrote:I have recently used Waze for multiple trips of two to more than four hours in Florida, Mississippi and Louisiana. I didn't notice a problem at all with the navigation, even across southern Florida ("alligator alley") where cell reception can be spotty.

I have an iPhone 4S and Verizon is my carrier.

Right, but other people *are* having this problem.
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Portion of Nav non-existant

Postby weeezer14 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:23 pm

I just re-read this thread from the start to see if I missed anything or had anything else to add. Well both are true. Although I said I hadn't seen this before, I actually HAVE. When I first read and replied I took it as the navigation function stopped and not that literally that the line ended.

This issue comes up every "now and then" and seems to be related to transitions between map tiles. Just recently I drove from Knoxville TN to Boston MA and through most of VA and PA I would get the disappearing line and then proceed to highlighted route error. For me it seemed to be every time I got close to and drove through a new city polygon (could have just been a coincidence).

So just for a few hours that one day I had the problem. The rest of the week through the return trip was fine except for maybe 3 or 4 times total, each of which was very short.

In the end I don't think it has anything to do with the length of your trip other than the longer you are driving the more likely you are to find a problem.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
weeezer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users