Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby umopapisdn » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:16 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I set the route in Waze anyway. It's pretty hard to drive 700-1000 miles in a day for most people. 1000 miles @70mph is 14hrs without stopping. You're almost always going to have a start and end point for the entire day of driving within 700 miles, within which Waze is fully capable of routing.


i dunno... about 5 years ago a buddy and i drove from indianapolis to seattle without stopping for anything other than fuel. we knew the basic route before we left, but we didn't know where the fuel stops would be. switched drivers every time we filled up, and we made it in 40 hours.

it's not likely that many people would do it that way, but it's not impossible. :)
umopapisdn
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby Gamersea » Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:43 pm

Well, maybe the problem is not then how long the route is, but how much data the server can handle. Cause when we navigate from The Netherlands to somewhere close in France (lets say 800km away) Waze can't handle it, too much roads with too much junctions probaly. A navigation to Austria which is more then 900 km, and Waze has no problem with finding a route. Untill you search for alternative routes then the routing server crashes.

By the way, if we go on vacation we drive alot of those long rides. Most time with two drivers though, still doing the whole route in one day!
Gamersea
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby OldGnome » Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:20 pm

I use pretty much the same approach as Alan. I plan my route with daily stops where they make sense and then use Waze on each segment to guide me to the next stop.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:24 pm

I set the route in Waze anyway. It's pretty hard to drive 700-1000 miles in a day for most people. 1000 miles @70mph is 14hrs without stopping. You're almost always going to have a start and end point for the entire day of driving within 700 miles, within which Waze is fully capable of routing.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23598
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4782 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby Borgholio » Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:49 pm

Sorry for the mini-necro, but here's what I do. When Waze won't calculate a long route, I use Google Nav to plan the route and give me turn by turn, but I also launch Waze and keep it running in the background so I can record the drive and get points.
Borgholio
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:15 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby Gamersea » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:56 pm

I would like longer distances, just cause it's easier (offcourse you could split the trip into serveral smaller "navigations"). I understand that it cost more server capacity etc, so I put up a suggestion which may meet in the middle for costumer and Waze.

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=34208

Waze remains free for those who only need to use it for short drives, and those who want to do longer drives can do so with a small compensation to Waze.
Gamersea
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby WeeeZer14 » Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:52 pm

invented wrote:
WeeeZer14 wrote:
invented wrote:Right, there are ways to mitigate that. I think with proper coding, you should be able to navigate wherever you want to.

Yes. And they probably can do that now. But as harling mentioned, Waze doesn't WANT to do that to conserve resources on their servers. Even with the most efficient coding in the world it will still take more resources to calculate longer routes. They have picked their focus and it is their right to stick to it.

It doesn't matter what Waze *wants* to do, it matters what they *have* to do to remain competitive. You can set routes pretty much as long as you want in Garmin, TomTom, Apple Maps, Google Navigation. This complacency is what drives companies under.

No, it is still what they want to do. They don't HAVE to remain competitive -- because they have every right to run out of money and go under. We all have expressed our concerns. We've made our suggestions. If they don't listen and fail, well it is all their fault. Will I be sad? Of course. But I know I have done everything I could to create a positive outcome. They aren't entitled to survive and I am not entitled to get what I want. (Crap. Does that mean I support a free market? ;) )
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby invented » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:34 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:
invented wrote:Right, there are ways to mitigate that. I think with proper coding, you should be able to navigate wherever you want to.

Yes. And they probably can do that now. But as harling mentioned, Waze doesn't WANT to do that to conserve resources on their servers. Even with the most efficient coding in the world it will still take more resources to calculate longer routes. They have picked their focus and it is their right to stick to it.

It doesn't matter what Waze *wants* to do, it matters what they *have* to do to remain competitive. You can set routes pretty much as long as you want in Garmin, TomTom, Apple Maps, Google Navigation. This complacency is what drives companies under.
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby thanos6 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:40 am

WeeeZer14 wrote:They have picked their focus and it is their right to stick to it.


And it's my right to be disappointed in that.
thanos6
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:39 am
Location: South Carolina, USA
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:19 pm

xtago wrote:Its probably more a case of not having maps or links over long trips

Clueless.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23598
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4782 times

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users