Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby OldGnome » Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:20 pm

I use pretty much the same approach as Alan. I plan my route with daily stops where they make sense and then use Waze on each segment to guide me to the next stop.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby invented » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:34 pm

WeeeZer14 wrote:
invented wrote:Right, there are ways to mitigate that. I think with proper coding, you should be able to navigate wherever you want to.

Yes. And they probably can do that now. But as harling mentioned, Waze doesn't WANT to do that to conserve resources on their servers. Even with the most efficient coding in the world it will still take more resources to calculate longer routes. They have picked their focus and it is their right to stick to it.

It doesn't matter what Waze *wants* to do, it matters what they *have* to do to remain competitive. You can set routes pretty much as long as you want in Garmin, TomTom, Apple Maps, Google Navigation. This complacency is what drives companies under.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby invented » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:28 am

WeeeZer14 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
invented wrote:Why does it matter how far you want to drive with it?

Impact to routing server infrastructure performance (long routes have exponentially-increasing branches/options), changes required to routing algorithms may be necessary, etc.

Plus from the search side, when someone performs a search chances are very good that they are most interesting in finding things close to them and not across the country. Just because I search for "New York Pizza" doesn't mean I want pizza in the state of NY ;)

Right, there are ways to mitigate that. I think with proper coding, you should be able to navigate wherever you want to.
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby invented » Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:17 pm

Why does it matter how far you want to drive with it?
invented
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby harling » Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:25 pm

xtago wrote:You have base map, its basic, the road might come up but that doesn't mean all state roads ate linked up out there.

I'd be willing to bet the Interstate system has been fully "Wazed" (no segments still basemapped), along with the highways within probably 30-50 miles of any major city. Do you have an example to the contrary, that would prevent cross-U.S. routing if not for the 1K mile limit?
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby harling » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:36 pm

xtago wrote:Its probably more a case of not having maps or links over long trips
What are you talking about, "not having maps or links"?! The Waze map database spans the continent.

We have been told directly by Waze that the reason distances are limited is to reduce the load on the routing server, as explained above. IIRC the limit used to be 200 miles, and evidently they have expanded their capacity since then to allow routes up to ~1000 miles.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby Gamersea » Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:43 pm

Well, maybe the problem is not then how long the route is, but how much data the server can handle. Cause when we navigate from The Netherlands to somewhere close in France (lets say 800km away) Waze can't handle it, too much roads with too much junctions probaly. A navigation to Austria which is more then 900 km, and Waze has no problem with finding a route. Untill you search for alternative routes then the routing server crashes.

By the way, if we go on vacation we drive alot of those long rides. Most time with two drivers though, still doing the whole route in one day!
Image
Gamersea
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby Gamersea » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:56 pm

I would like longer distances, just cause it's easier (offcourse you could split the trip into serveral smaller "navigations"). I understand that it cost more server capacity etc, so I put up a suggestion which may meet in the middle for costumer and Waze.

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=34208

Waze remains free for those who only need to use it for short drives, and those who want to do longer drives can do so with a small compensation to Waze.
Image
Gamersea
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:03 pm
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby Borgholio » Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:49 pm

Sorry for the mini-necro, but here's what I do. When Waze won't calculate a long route, I use Google Nav to plan the route and give me turn by turn, but I also launch Waze and keep it running in the background so I can record the drive and get points.
You will be assimilated...bunghole!

Area Manager - Southern California, Highway 395, Yosemite National Park, Mariposa County and surrounding area.

Image Image
Borgholio
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:15 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby Bigbear3764 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:53 am

True. I don't remember if the live map on the web site will do trips over 1000 miles.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image Image
SM Illinois ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2611
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 955 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users