Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby harling » Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:25 pm

xtago wrote:You have base map, its basic, the road might come up but that doesn't mean all state roads ate linked up out there.

I'd be willing to bet the Interstate system has been fully "Wazed" (no segments still basemapped), along with the highways within probably 30-50 miles of any major city. Do you have an example to the contrary, that would prevent cross-U.S. routing if not for the 1K mile limit?
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby WeeeZer14 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:48 am

invented wrote:Right, there are ways to mitigate that. I think with proper coding, you should be able to navigate wherever you want to.

Yes. And they probably can do that now. But as harling mentioned, Waze doesn't WANT to do that to conserve resources on their servers. Even with the most efficient coding in the world it will still take more resources to calculate longer routes. They have picked their focus and it is their right to stick to it.
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby invented » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:28 am

WeeeZer14 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
invented wrote:Why does it matter how far you want to drive with it?

Impact to routing server infrastructure performance (long routes have exponentially-increasing branches/options), changes required to routing algorithms may be necessary, etc.

Plus from the search side, when someone performs a search chances are very good that they are most interesting in finding things close to them and not across the country. Just because I search for "New York Pizza" doesn't mean I want pizza in the state of NY ;)

Right, there are ways to mitigate that. I think with proper coding, you should be able to navigate wherever you want to.
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby xtago » Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:37 am

You have base map, its basic, the road might come up but that doesn't mean all state roads ate linked up out there.


Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby harling » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:36 pm

xtago wrote:Its probably more a case of not having maps or links over long trips
What are you talking about, "not having maps or links"?! The Waze map database spans the continent.

We have been told directly by Waze that the reason distances are limited is to reduce the load on the routing server, as explained above. IIRC the limit used to be 200 miles, and evidently they have expanded their capacity since then to allow routes up to ~1000 miles.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby xtago » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:15 pm

Its probably more a case of not having maps or links over long trips

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby WeeeZer14 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:19 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
invented wrote:Why does it matter how far you want to drive with it?

Impact to routing server infrastructure performance (long routes have exponentially-increasing branches/options), changes required to routing algorithms may be necessary, etc.

Plus from the search side, when someone performs a search chances are very good that they are most interesting in finding things close to them and not across the country. Just because I search for "New York Pizza" doesn't mean I want pizza in the state of NY ;)
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:13 pm

invented wrote:Why does it matter how far you want to drive with it?

Impact to routing server infrastructure performance (long routes have exponentially-increasing branches/options), changes required to routing algorithms may be necessary, etc.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23613
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4793 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby invented » Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:17 pm

Why does it matter how far you want to drive with it?
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can't seem to do long distance navigation

Postby thanos6 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:58 am

bigbear3764 wrote:Can your car go 1000 miles on a tank of fuel? Are you making the trip in one day?


No, but I would like an idea of how long and far the trip will be, so I can plan things out better. I'll have to use some other app or program for that instead.
thanos6
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:39 am
Location: South Carolina, USA
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users