Missing segments

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Missing segments

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:41 am

This problem was solved with a patch back at the end of December. There's nothing that could have been done in the editor end that could fix it (although your theory about what makes tiles upload is correct).

Are you saying you're still seeing a failure of segments to load?


Via my iPhone 3GS.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Missing segments

Postby Bigbear3764 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:14 am

Areas it happened to me on back in December were fine this time. Drove from northern Illinois to Minnesota and across northern Wisconsin. All was good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image Image
SM Illinois ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 5204
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 216 times
Been thanked: 954 times

Re: Missing segments

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:08 pm

jhfrontz wrote:do I really need to reboot the phone or is it sufficient to just terminate the app (truly terminate it, via a double-home and then press-and-hold on the app's icon for an iPhone) then restart?

Also, what's the penalty for always running with debug mode turned on?

No, the device doesn't need to reboot, but it is adviseable to restart the app.

"Penalty" may be more timeouts for operations as Waze is sometimes busy writing to log files instead of paying attention to netcode. Some display movements may be more jerky.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Missing segments

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:58 pm

You'll want to find the location on the edit map and provide the permalink via that support ticket, too.

We know that updating a segment within a tile forces the rebuild of the tile, but the freeway missing tiles/recalc issue we experienced in December, that had no effect and Waze had to fix something in the background.

There have been things in the past which did require updating a segment, such as getting shields to appear back in the early days when that process was actually running. When we found a segment which would show the name rather than the shield, we had to make a small change to geometry of the road so that Waze would rebuild the tile and assign the right shield.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Re: Missing segments

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:49 pm

I've been seeing this a lot lately too. I have nearly a dozen screenshots waiting for another map update cycle to see if they clear out automatically. We have seen this happen before and Waze has always had an explanation/excuse.

Whether this is a Map issue, or an app issue, isn't clear.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2.1 | Waze v4.19.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 36539
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4829 times

Previous

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users