Strange routing?

Moderators: Unholy, Unholy

Sudden increase in routes with micro-detours

Postby anthyz » Mon Jan 21, 2013 3:54 am

Fyi in case others are seeing this in other areas. There seems to have been a burst in routing by Waze in the San Diego area today where the route inexplicably deviates from a street in order to bypass one or two segments. I experienced it myself personally, and others in the area are submitting URs showing the same issue. I've reported the issue to nanoRep.
anthyz
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:40 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Sudden increase in routes with micro-detours

Postby jemay » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:08 am

I have seen about 4 of them also. I then rebuild each node that the route deviated from.
PLEASE READ: Wiki Resources: FAQ|Map Editor|Best Practices|Editing issues?
Global Champ | Regional Coordinator for US South West - CA,NV,UT,AZ,NM,CO,HI | CM for US

Samsung Galaxy Note® 4 (SM-N910V) - Verizon - Waze Ver. 3.9.8.0
jemay
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1953
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:26 am
Location: US South West - Lakewood, CA
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 886 times

Strange routing?

Postby Olestas » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:19 am

Any strange routing in last 2 days? In Latvia Waze somehow now tries to route through some unexpected angles and internal streets. Moving away from chosen routes to usual routes and recalculating removes 3-5 minutes from ETA (on 25-30min routes).
In settings I have Fastest route and avoid dirt roads.
Olestas
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 1384 times
Been thanked: 1027 times

Re: Strange routing?

Postby robin1979 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:39 am

Yeah, there's an issue on the world server right now.
MapSquadEurope
Area Manager - Europe
robin1979
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:49 am
Location: EUROPE
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Strange routing?

Postby Olestas » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:57 am

Hmm.. any other topic I missed?
Olestas
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 1384 times
Been thanked: 1027 times

Re: Strange routing?

Postby robin1979 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:40 pm

olestas wrote:Hmm.. any other topic I missed?


No, not really. But they are working on it (at least, that's what they are telling us 8-)).
MapSquadEurope
Area Manager - Europe
robin1979
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:49 am
Location: EUROPE
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Sudden increase in routes with micro-detours

Postby anthyz » Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:49 pm

I received a response that they are aware of the problem and working on a fix.
anthyz
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:40 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Strange routing?

Postby jwkilgore » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:47 pm

It's not just the world server. I have the same problem in the USA. I thought it was just being too sensitive to historic speed data because most of the re-routes are at locations known for occasional bad backups, but the re-routes occurred during times of minimal traffic. Some of the re-routes tried to take me several miles out of the way.

It's good to hear there is a fix on the way.

Just curious, but is routing done by the client or on the server? I just now downloaded the newest Beta version... will this affect routing?
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Strange routing?

Postby Olestas » Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:14 am

ACtually the problem was already gone.. Maybe you have something else.
Olestas
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 1384 times
Been thanked: 1027 times

Re: Strange routing?

Postby jwkilgore » Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:10 pm

Actually, it's been a little while since I noticed it, so maybe it's been fixed. I AM having a problem with routing when adding a stop that's a considerable distance from the original route, but that issue is being discussed HERE.
Image
Jason Kilgore
iPhone 5c
Area Manager: Mississippi and Tennessee
jwkilgore
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users