Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby invented » Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:38 am

tgp1994 wrote:I remember crossing at least two bridges either on or almost directly after the point at which I crossed into the US... I'm pretty sure it was north of Niagara, on 405.

Which is in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and usually the busiest crossing... Because everyone's GPS seems to send them down there.
invented
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby tgp1994 » Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:51 am

I remember crossing at least two bridges either on or almost directly after the point at which I crossed into the US... I'm pretty sure it was north of Niagara, on 405.
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:35 am

tgp1994 wrote:Come to think of it, isn't it strange that Waze didn't prompt me to submit a traffic report when I was at a standstill?


Not if the historic average around the border checkpoints is close to 0.

At what point did you cross? The Peace Bridge between Buffalo and Fort Erie was always a pretty quick route for me.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby tgp1994 » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:59 am

ncc1701v wrote:You just went through the border? How long did it take? I'm guessing Waze 's aversion to Canada is due to the hours it can take to get back into the USA.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD


It honestly didn't take more than 20 minutes from the moment we hit stopped traffic waiting to get through. Waze didn't have any traffic delay reports unless it considers the border a permenant delay :P

Come to think of it, isn't it strange that Waze didn't prompt me to submit a traffic report when I was at a standstill?
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby CBenson » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:44 am

ncc1701v wrote:You just went through the border? How long did it take? I'm guessing Waze 's aversion to Canada is due to the hours it can take to get back into the USA.

But if you route from Ann Arbor to Niagra Falls, ON, waze routes you through Buffalo. You have to cross the border whether from Michigan or New York. Why would waze route you south of Lake Erie?
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby ncc1701v » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:37 am

You just went through the border? How long did it take? I'm guessing Waze 's aversion to Canada is due to the hours it can take to get back into the USA.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
ncc1701v
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:08 pm
Location: Ithaca, NY USA
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby CBenson » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:06 pm

jasonh300 wrote:You also can add a stop somewhere along the route in Canada.

But from Ann Arbor waze routes the long way south of Lake Erie to Niagra Falls, ON in Canada.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby CBenson » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:04 pm

invented wrote:Do you have toll roads disabled?

But it does the same thing on the live map.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby tgp1994 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:43 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
invented wrote:Do you have toll roads disabled?

You might just have to get to Windsor then fire up Waze from there.


You can also just route to the border crossing, and then route in steps from there. I know that sucks because you can't get an ETA on your final destination, but it's a workaround.

You also can add a stop somewhere along the route in Canada. Pick a place you may want to stop for the night, or for lunch or for gas or something like that.

I'm just passing through the boarder to NY, I'll give that a try on my way back, thanks :)
invented wrote:Do you have toll roads disabled?

You might just have to get to Windsor then fire up Waze from there.

They should be allowed, Waze still suggested routes involving tolls. It is starting to look like I'll have to set a midway point in the future, thanks :)
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Fastest routing and aversion to Canada

Postby jasonh300 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:32 pm

invented wrote:Do you have toll roads disabled?

You might just have to get to Windsor then fire up Waze from there.


You can also just route to the border crossing, and then route in steps from there. I know that sucks because you can't get an ETA on your final destination, but it's a workaround.

You also can add a stop somewhere along the route in Canada. Pick a place you may want to stop for the night, or for lunch or for gas or something like that.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users