Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts  Topic is solved

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts

Postby CBenson » Thu May 16, 2013 3:49 pm

CBenson wrote:It might be related to road types, but there is a beta livemap that is intended to avoid this problem and it also can't find the same routes.
I can also route from North Carolina to Springfield, MA on my phone.

I was confused as to when I was accessing the beta-router designed to avoid road type routing problems and when I was not. It seems likely to me at this point that this is a road type long distance routing issue.

Riamus wrote:My guess is that it will relate to which roads it wants to route over, so it may or may not work depending on starting point. If you were to get somewhere that overlaps the suggested route from Allentown, PA to Springfield, MA, can you route it? That is if you're not too far away to do so, of course. I think it will fail if you are at a point that would use the same route that I'm trying to use. I'm just not sure. I really need to route there in a couple of weeks and this is going to be a problem. I would rather use Waze than Google on the trip.

Waze is testing solutions for the problem, but it seems unlikely to me that routing will change for you in the next couple of weeks.

Riamus wrote:I'm not sure if this is a routing engine problem or a problem with the roads, but I can route all over as long as I avoid SW Connecticut. For example, I can route to northern Michigan, which is a longer route. I can also route to NW Massachusetts, which bypasses CT.

It is a problem with how the routing engine considers road types in calculating long routes. Thus in theory, it could be solved either by changing the routing engine or by changing how we as editors type the roads. Waze wants to solve the issue by changing the routing engine and thus has asked us not to change the road types to address this issue.

Riamus wrote:That said, it does appear that there is still a limit on how far you can route. I can route somewhat over 1000 miles (Oklahoma City, OK or Houston, TX), but I can't route all the way to CA or even to CO.

I think the limit is 1000 miles as the crow flies between start point and destination. But routes over 1000 miles can be generated.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts

Postby Riamus » Thu May 16, 2013 10:24 am

My guess is that it will relate to which roads it wants to route over, so it may or may not work depending on starting point. If you were to get somewhere that overlaps the suggested route from Allentown, PA to Springfield, MA, can you route it? That is if you're not too far away to do so, of course. I think it will fail if you are at a point that would use the same route that I'm trying to use. I'm just not sure. I really need to route there in a couple of weeks and this is going to be a problem. I would rather use Waze than Google on the trip.

Just to get a more specific routing than an entire state, you can use Greensboro, NC to Springfield, MA. I prefer not posting exact addresses or cities where I am at online, but routing between those two locations will use the same route I'd be using. That may offer a better testing experience than using the enter state as the starting point. I also tried other places in MA that route through CT, such as Boston, Worcester, and Salem. They all fail to find a route.

I'm not sure if this is a routing engine problem or a problem with the roads, but I can route all over as long as I avoid SW Connecticut. For example, I can route to northern Michigan, which is a longer route. I can also route to NW Massachusetts, which bypasses CT. That said, it does appear that there is still a limit on how far you can route. I can route somewhat over 1000 miles (Oklahoma City, OK or Houston, TX), but I can't route all the way to CA or even to CO.
Riamus
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 7:34 pm
Location: Summerfield, NC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 235 times

Re: Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts

Postby AndyPoms » Thu May 16, 2013 12:54 am

I just checked the CT Highways on the live map & I can cross from NY to RI (I-95), NY to MA (I-84) and NY to MA (I-95 to I-91). I've also routed them in real life several times and they work.
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7215
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1325 times

Re: Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts

Postby CBenson » Thu May 16, 2013 12:47 am

I can route from NY city to any of these locations. So it doesn't seem to be a map error. It seems to be a routing algorithm issue. It might be related to road types, but there is a beta livemap that is intended to avoid this problem and it also can't find the same routes.
I can also route from North Carolina to Springfield, MA on my phone.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts

Postby Riamus » Wed May 15, 2013 10:10 pm

Hm. I seem to be able to route to Bridgeport on the phone (I hadn't tried the various routing from the phone when I was doing the testing earlier). However, if I enter a place in Massachusetts, such as Springfield, MA, it will not route there on the phone. I think there is still something wrong in Connecticut. Perhaps the Live Map routing and the client routing are slightly different so one will manage to route and the other won't to Bridgeport, but to get into MA, both route through the same problem and so can't get there? Should I ask in the CT forum to see if someone in CT can look over the routing problem?
Riamus
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 7:34 pm
Location: Summerfield, NC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 235 times

Re: Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts

Postby CBenson » Wed May 15, 2013 8:00 pm

I can reproduce this problem on the livemap (although it sporadically returns "could not find route" for Norwalk and even Stamford for me, but Bridgeport is a consistent "could not find route" from the generic "North Carolina" as starting point). However, waze is currently giving me a route in the app. I'm not sure why the difference.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Unable to route from North Carolina to Massachusetts

Postby Riamus » Wed May 15, 2013 1:27 pm

After posting, I just felt like testing some more (using the Live Map for ease) and found that I can route as far as around Norwalk, CT. I cannot route to the nearby Fairfield, CT or Bridgeport, CT. Note that I'm just going city to city right now instead of actual addresses, though I tried exact street addresses as well. Further testing to see if it's a distance thing was a test from Allentown, PA to Bridgeport, CT. That also failed. It seems to be some problem in Connecticut. As a note, I *can* route from Norwalk, CT to Bridgeport, CT.

Also, if I bypass Connecticut by choosing a location that wouldn't route through CT, it works. Example: NC to Stockbridge, MA. That seems to definitely indicate a problem somewhere in southwest Connecticut.

If anyone has a way to find the exact problem, let me know. I'll try to narrow this down further, but at this point, it may be difficult to get much closer.
Riamus
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 7:34 pm
Location: Summerfield, NC
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 235 times

Previous

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users