Wrong language using voice navigation

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby VegasAlien » Mon May 20, 2013 5:06 pm

I have English listed as my language but when I tried to use the voice command in navigation a strange script showed up in the query box and I cannot tell what it is trying to do.
VegasAlien
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby Lauriso » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:23 am

You wouldn't believe it's 2017, and the issue is still not fixed. :-D
Lauriso
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby QTgui » Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:08 pm

also in Estonia is only option for voice commands still russian :roll:
sound set english US
and also general - language is english
QTgui
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 6:17 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby Jimmybhoy » Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:15 am

If you go to settings and language,it will show on the map your chosen language, to change the sound,go my waze, settings, then sound.
Jimmybhoy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby Zm0gis » Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:27 pm

Is this bug still in fixing process ? Did it even got started fixing ? Because i have same problem with russian voice in Lithuania. Is putin taking over waze ? o_o joke.
Zm0gis
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:04 pm
Location: Lithuania
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby R0N1S » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:31 pm

I've received an answer from support as follows.
"OK, I've checked with the devs, the voice command feature works on the local voice prompts TTS (including street names) so there is no way to change the voice commands to a different language.
I've forwarded this to our product manager to consider to add more languages to the voice commands."

Asked to forward the following text to the devs.
"1. Russian language has nothing to do with Latvian official language. With this kind of approach you could as well choose Japanese, Thai, German or French for Latvia. Unless you have Latvian language, please change the language used for voice commands to English (it's at least considered to be international).
2. The "local approach" to voice commands in general looks rather awkward to me. How am I supposed to report road hazard, accident or police trap driving in other country (f.e. France)? In French? Seriously? What if drive to Italy from there? IMHO this approach ruins the whole idea. Please consider giving people an option to use the fixed voice commands language to preserve usability."

I hope the devs are able to rectify this issue very soon.
R0N1S
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby R0N1S » Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:24 am

I've read the FAQ thoroughly but still have no clue about how to change voice commands language to English. I've sent an info request to waze support but I'm yet to hear from them. Will keep you posted.
R0N1S
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby Genesis1-11 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:39 pm

Hi there from Brazil

Well, I cannot really believe that waze would chose the language according to initial GPS-location. That would be just too dumb, thinking of Europe. I have not really looked in the forum, wiki etc. yet to find the explanation, and we could always ask Ron or someone else from the support team to explain the algorithm, but I would only do this after really exhausting the support-FAQs and a few Wikis, especially those in European languages. I just do not have the time to do this now, so if you find something, pls post it here or send me a PM, ok?

Keep wazeing!
Genesis1-11
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 1:58 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby R0N1S » Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:53 am

Pretty much same problem here.
While using Waze in Latvia, voice commands are in Russian (O_o) despite English_UK in Sound settings. I couldn't find any way to change it to English. That makes this feature rather unusable. :(
IMHO tying language to initial gps location is lame. Users must be able to select a language they are comfortable with from available options. I hope it's fixed very soon.
R0N1S
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Wrong language using voice navigation

Postby Genesis1-11 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 7:14 pm

Hi Alan

Well, I came here after I found nothing on the Brazil-related forum pages.

I think you are right with the Preferred language by country. I have tried out a few things, nothing seemed to remedy the problem.

What finally did the job was:
Delete the app totally, erase the /waze subdirectory, fake a GPS-position in Britain, make a clean install, and then make waze believe that you actually are driving around in Britain for a few miles. That, and only that, did it.

When I switched back to my real GPS-position in Brazil, the voice recognition stayed on (British) English.

I have not switched menues, TTS etc back and forth to different languages, mostly for a lack of time, so I have everything set on British English now. And it makes me laugh a lot when my new waze girlfriend from England pronounces the street names in Brazil ;-)

One last thing: I think that deleting the ASR-language file alone would do the job. While trying a few other options, I got the voice recognition to talk to me in German once (I faked a GPS position at the border of Austria with the Czech republic and virtually drove a few meters on Czech territory - and suddenly she spoke to me in a German (not the Austro-Bavarian type of German, but a quite distinctive northern German accent we know from WWII-movies and the like ;-)

And yes, it seems there are a few commands that are not localized. One of them has to do with the mood I have been using a lot, namely [ img ].

So long, keep Wazeing!
Ingo
Genesis1-11
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 1:58 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users