Ramp Names Not Displayed

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:09 pm

CBenson wrote:All I'm noting is that my Blackberry does not have the problem.


Understood. Likely because the older Blackberry version of Waze works differently than the newer iPhone and Android code.
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:06 pm

I agree with you that it is dependent on the routing data received. Based on your insights I realized that on my Android I also get correct ramp names if I start waze in the parking garage where I do not have a network connection, but incorrect ramp names if the routing (or recalculation) is performed with a network connection. All I'm noting is that my Blackberry does not have the problem.
Last edited by CBenson on Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:01 pm

CBenson wrote:I know there has been some indication that this is a server side bug rather than a client side problem. Nonetheless, I'm curious whether the new iPhone beta release has made any difference. Any iPhone beta users able to comment?


I can confirm that the lasted iPhone beta does nothing in regards to resolving this issue. I have seen this issue (skipping the first Ramp segment name) at least 3 times today. I still stand by my observation that this is a server side (routing server) bug - surely for iPhone and Android.

Since BlackBerry is using an older version of the Waze application - maybe that release doesn't get the ramp names from the routing server in the navigation instructions?
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:58 pm

I understand that problem is based on the routing data provided by the server. However, I do not have the problem at all with my Blackberry. So for whatever reason, the problem is appears to be device dependent.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:41 pm

CBenson wrote:I know there has been some indication that this is a server side bug rather than a client side problem. Nonetheless, I'm curious whether the new iPhone beta release has made any difference. Any iPhone beta users able to comment?

I haven't gotten to an area with ramps to test, but based on what I have seen (with my own eyes) relative to the bad data coming to the client in the routing XML, it will not be fixed until the routing code is fixed.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23590
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4773 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:53 pm

I know there has been some indication that this is a server side bug rather than a client side problem. Nonetheless, I'm curious whether the new iPhone beta release has made any difference. Any iPhone beta users able to comment?
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:38 am

This has actually gotten worse for me. There are several ramps whose names were displayed when I started this thread that are no longer displayed.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby gerben » Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:12 pm

My example above is NOT fixed in the latest beta (Android).
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 195 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:24 pm

Now I have no idea what to expect. I had the occasion yesterday to twice traverse this ramp discussed above. The first time the ramp name was "Exit 23 MD-450 to MD-178 Parole" (even the voice used this name). The second time the ramp was refferred to as "West St."
Last edited by CBenson on Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:00 pm

Has this been fixed? I'm using Android release 2.3.99.116 and my routes still include ramp names that differ from the ramp names in cartouche.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Next

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher