Ramp Names Not Displayed

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:00 pm

Has this been fixed? I'm using Android release 2.3.99.116 and my routes still include ramp names that differ from the ramp names in cartouche.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:24 pm

Now I have no idea what to expect. I had the occasion yesterday to twice traverse this ramp discussed above. The first time the ramp name was "Exit 23 MD-450 to MD-178 Parole" (even the voice used this name). The second time the ramp was refferred to as "West St."
Last edited by CBenson on Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:38 am

This has actually gotten worse for me. There are several ramps whose names were displayed when I started this thread that are no longer displayed.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:53 pm

I know there has been some indication that this is a server side bug rather than a client side problem. Nonetheless, I'm curious whether the new iPhone beta release has made any difference. Any iPhone beta users able to comment?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:58 pm

I understand that problem is based on the routing data provided by the server. However, I do not have the problem at all with my Blackberry. So for whatever reason, the problem is appears to be device dependent.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby CBenson » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:06 pm

I agree with you that it is dependent on the routing data received. Based on your insights I realized that on my Android I also get correct ramp names if I start waze in the parking garage where I do not have a network connection, but incorrect ramp names if the routing (or recalculation) is performed with a network connection. All I'm noting is that my Blackberry does not have the problem.
Last edited by CBenson on Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby gerben » Tue May 31, 2011 6:58 pm

I've seen this happen too. It was an offramp, which splitted at the end (keep right and continue straight to turn left later) because traffic turning right is led to the right before the intersection with traffic lights. It showed the name of the second part of the ramp while still on the freeway.

I've mailed about this a few months ago, but alpha couldn't reproduce this (now i think that was because they used another platform to test it). In the end I worked around it by removing the split at the end of the ramp.

I put the split back tonight, and see what happens when the live map is updated.

https://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom= ... FTFTFFTTTT
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby gerben » Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:44 pm

gerben wrote:I've seen this happen too. It was an offramp, which splitted at the end (keep right and continue straight to turn left later) because traffic turning right is led to the right before the intersection with traffic lights. It showed the name of the second part of the ramp while still on the freeway.

I've mailed about this a few months ago, but alpha couldn't reproduce this (now i think that was because they used another platform to test it). In the end I worked around it by removing the split at the end of the ramp.

I put the split back tonight, and see what happens when the live map is updated.

https://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom= ... FTFTFFTTTT


I've passed there once, and the instructions were fine...
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby gerben » Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:37 pm

I need to take my words back...

Image
Image

The first keep right should have been named 'Afrit 30 Almelo-Zuid' in stead of 'N349 - Henriëtte Roland Holstlaan', which is the name of the second part of the ramp (see cartouche link above).

I reopened my mail discussion with support about this issue.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Ramp Names Not Displayed

Postby gerben » Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:12 pm

My example above is NOT fixed in the latest beta (Android).
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users