South African Wazers

Post by mithrandi
Hey guys (and gals?) :)

Just thought I'd start a thread to try get an idea of how many of us there actually are; please chime in if you're wazing it up. Mentioning what area you're active in would also be nice, I guess.

I'm in JHB, for what it's worth.
mithrandi

POSTER_ID:362912

Send a message
Tristan Seligmann
AM: Johannesburg, South Africa
Community expert: South Africa (client / Android / editing / routing)
Android 4.1 / HTC One X

Post by Adventurer
Hi Guys,

I'm an Area Manager in Midrand north, and now moving South and West into Midrand Central and Kyalami.

Craig
Adventurer
Send a message

Post by aneekah
hi - i'm in cape town... i thought this was a really cool app so i downloaded it to my phone. have had lots of fun driving around and seeing my routes mapped on my phone. however i find the website crap and have been struggling to edit the roads - either i don't have permission, or some road geometry error keeps popping up that i can't seem to fix. it takes forever to load the maps and is not very user friendly. i have just spent over an hour following the instructions on the wiki and not getting anywhere... sorry but this is not fun.
aneekah
Send a message

Post by c4talyst
I waze Cape Town. Doing it for the cupcakes. Om nom nom.

<2c> I think the difficult part is that people install the app, see that the road their house is in doesn't exist and promptly delete it. We need to encourage friends and colleagues to use it and tell them how this is going to improve every users commute :) </2c>
c4talyst
Send a message

Post by c4talyst
I agree.

I have spent a good many hours updating the map. It's great feeling to drive along a road that you've mapped yourself, and also see the routing work over it. OSM is a fantastic reference for map updates, it is by far the most up-to-date reference.