House Numbers Update Schedule

The place to discuss editing specifically related to house numbering (addresses): how to optimize locations, set stop-points, etc.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby orbitc » Wed May 13, 2015 2:28 pm

Everyone:

Please see below info from Waze regarding the update schedule for house numbers:

The waze engine house numbers index contains all the house numbers you see in the editor's house numbers layer. Some of the house numbers were added by users and some were imported. The index is updated during the tile build process.

When searching for a specific number, we prioritize the data as follows:
1. If there's a residential place with that specific number, use the place location.
2. If there's a waze house number added by a user (not imported), use house number location.
3. Use google location.
4. If there's no house number location in google's address, use imported location.
Regional Coordinator for Northeast & New England
• ßeta Tester
• iOS ßeta: Latest version
• WME ßeta

[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
WME | USA | MapRaid!
orbitc
Master Raider
Master Raider
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:51 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 2579 times
Been thanked: 6548 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby MojaveCactusMonkey » Wed May 13, 2015 2:36 pm

Does this apply to place point and areas with address added by a user taking priority over other sources?
MojaveCactusMonkey
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Nevada
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 156 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby PesachZ » Wed May 13, 2015 2:43 pm

MojaveCactusMonkey wrote:Does this apply to place point and areas with address added by a user taking priority over other sources?

Only residential places. Not public (business) places, even if they have addresses listed.

Sent using Tapatalk for Android 4.4.2
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4507
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC}
Has thanked: 1997 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby TheLastTaterTot » Wed May 13, 2015 2:44 pm

Thanks, Orbit! How does Waze deal with abbreviated and full common road name suffices? E.g., Blvd vs Boulevard. In the past, I've seen that Waze tend to favor Google's search hit when the suffix is fully spelled out.
R5 | RI SM | CA, MA & NY AM | Mentor
TheLastTaterTot
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:46 am
Location: RI, USA
Has thanked: 300 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby tonestertm » Wed May 13, 2015 4:29 pm

Important Note:

(2) includes imported numbers which have been confirmed (nudged) by an editor.
[ img ]
ARC for SW Region, USA
US Local Champ, US Country Manager
The best editors Read the Wiki and read it often. Learn the proper way to handle URs. Don't draw another Place until you read this!
tonestertm
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: City of...um, Angels, CA, USA
Has thanked: 521 times
Been thanked: 894 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby bummerdude69 » Wed May 13, 2015 5:55 pm

Just to make sure I'm clear. If we nudge an imported HN (#4), it would then become an added/ edited HN (#2)?
bummerdude69
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 9:01 pm
Has thanked: 234 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby PesachZ » Wed May 13, 2015 6:58 pm

bummerdude69 wrote:Just to make sure I'm clear. If we nudge an imported HN (#4), it would then become an added/ edited HN (#2)?

Yes exactly

Sent using Tapatalk for Android 4.4.2
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4507
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC}
Has thanked: 1997 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby citeman » Thu May 14, 2015 11:35 pm

orbitc wrote:1. If there's a residential place with that specific number, use the place location.
2. If there's a waze house number added by a user (not imported), use house number location.

I heard a rumor that Waze was now checking these two databases for duplicates when saving a place and/or house number. Meaning, if there was a confirmed house number and residential place with the same address, Waze would error-out indicating 'duplicate record' and not let an editor save the new duplicate record. Anybody know if this is a bad rumor or fact?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
- CITEMAN
Remember to keep Wazing!

[ img ] [ img ]
Closure & Restrictions Fanatic
citeman
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:02 am
Location: Long Beach, CA
Has thanked: 916 times
Been thanked: 308 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby PesachZ » Thu May 14, 2015 11:41 pm

citeman wrote:
orbitc wrote:1. If there's a residential place with that specific number, use the place location.
2. If there's a waze house number added by a user (not imported), use house number location.

I heard a rumor that Waze was now checking these two databases for duplicates when saving a place and/or house number. Meaning, if there was a confirmed house number and residential place with the same address, Waze would error-out indicating 'duplicate record' and not let an editor save the new duplicate record. Anybody know if this is a bad rumor or fact?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have seen this error in wme trying to save a residential place. Not sure it applies to place reporting from the app

Sent using Tapatalk for Android 4.4.2
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4507
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC}
Has thanked: 1997 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: House Numbers Update Schedule

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon May 18, 2015 6:14 pm

An UPDATE on House Numbers and searchability:

While the address database index is updated with each tile build, the Search server index is NOT updated daily with tile updates. This is why recently added/moved HNs in Waze are not showing changes/adds to House Numbers when searching in the app when we'd expect.

We are not sure if this is currently working as designed and/or if they are planning to make any kind of update to get the Search server to align daily with the House Number index.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23621
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4852 times

Next

Return to House Numbers (Addresses)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users