Address location in completely wrong city and state

The place to discuss editing specifically related to house numbering (addresses): how to optimize locations, set stop-points, etc.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Address location in completely wrong city and state

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:54 pm

We can't control what google does with their addresses. We can only request the change be made on their side. Sometimes, repeatedly. Waze uses Google for address data in the US. You only (currently) need to fix it on Google Maps.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.3.928
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23089
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1027 times
Been thanked: 4134 times

Address location in completely wrong city and state

Postby kreg37 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:37 pm

I have an issue with my address, which is an apartment building. The address is:

235 Hudson St, Hoboken, NJ 07030

The problem is that Waze and Google both show this address as being located in midtown Manhattan (New York, NY), which is the completely wrong city and state. Hoboken, NJ is right across the Hudson River from Manhattan.

I have tried to update this on Google Maps many times. Google corrected it once, but then it went back to the incorrect location a few weeks later. I have also submitted this to Tele Atlas. NavTeq has it in the correct place.

Is something else that can be done so this will be corrected in both Google Maps and Waze?

Here is where 235 Hudson St is being shown on Google:

https://maps.google.com/maps?q=235+huds ... s&t=m&z=16

If I type instead type 225 Hudson St, this actually shows where 235 Hudson St should be:

https://maps.google.com/maps?oe=utf-8&c ... CC4Q8gEwAA

Thanks,

Craig
kreg37
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Address location in completely wrong city and state

Postby kreg37 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:02 pm

Okay. Do you know if anyone at Waze has the authority to make a prioritized map fix with Google? I've made this request many times and it seems to be falling on deaf ears.
kreg37
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to House Numbers (Addresses)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users