How often are the house numbers updated?

The place to discuss editing specifically related to house numbering (addresses): how to optimize locations, set stop-points, etc.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:38 pm

Same as for any map tile update.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.1.2 | Waze v3.9.3.906
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 22930
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1018 times
Been thanked: 4029 times

Re: How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:51 pm

jakudo wrote:So why can't I still see them? Added them in December...

What do you mean by "see" them? If you added them in the map editor, you should be able to see them there still. If they aren't coming up in Search in the app, then it is likely because Waze relies primarily on other search providers for address lookup, such as Google. (This is written in the HN wiki page and in the FAQ.)

You may want to head to your country forum and ask editors there about this as their experience and information will be more locally relevant.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.1.2 | Waze v3.9.3.906
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 22930
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1018 times
Been thanked: 4029 times

Re: How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:20 pm

scott_h wrote:You need to check how your country uses address lookups. In the US lookups are through Google. The Waze street addresses are not used. It may be different in other countries.

That's not entirely accurate... See this thread for more details: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=129&t=79453

Ohad via email wrote:When you start entering a search string, the autocomplete results are being populated by Google - if you tap one of the results and there's a Waze house number defined and properly matched for that result - that will be the navigation target.

If after entering a search string you ignore the autocompleted results and tap the 'search' button, the results shown will be a mixture of both Waze's and Google's search engine results. Again - if you tap one of the results that has a Waze house number defined for it (even a Google one), that house will be the navigation target.

One caveat is that if the search algorithm failed to match the correct street name in the Waze map, it cannot know there's a Waze number for it and this will not work.
Example - I searched for 'Sunset Court', and the Waze street name for that street is 'Sunset Ct' and for some reason the algorithm failed to match that - the house numbers you've entered in Sunset Ct will not be provided as a navigation target for me.


Ohad on Waze HN source wrote:...we only take into account house numbers that a Waze community member explicitly entered or updated, and not house numbers that we obtained from possibly non-accurate external sources which have not been modified by an editor in WME. We trust you guys way more than we trust our external search providers which, in turn, we trust more than imported 3rd party data to our database.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 910 times

How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby jakudo » Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:35 pm

I've input few house numbers in our street few weeks (months?) ago and still can't see them in client. What's wrong? Now I'm not sure whether I should keep on with adding the numbers or not.
How the update process works with it?
If it helps, I'm from Czech Republic.

Thanks:)
jakudo
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby jakudo » Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:41 pm

So why can't I still see them? Added them in December...
jakudo
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby jakudo » Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:53 pm

I ment search. When I try to search any address with house number on my street, the waze result doesn't find them. Try any number on Akatova street in city Bustehrad Czech Republic.

I didn't get any useful answer in Czech part of this forum.
jakudo
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby jakudo » Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:12 pm

Ok, I'll check it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jakudo
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: How often are the house numbers updated?

Postby scott_h » Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:11 pm

You need to check how your country uses address lookups. In the US lookups are through Google. The Waze street addresses are not used. It may be different in other countries.
scott_h
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: MA, USA
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 9 times


Return to House Numbers (Addresses)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron