Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?  Topic is solved

The place to discuss editing specifically related to house numbering (addresses): how to optimize locations, set stop-points, etc.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:44 pm

Even after tapping the auto-fill result, Waze is still supposed to look at the internal house number data, and if it finds a match, is supposed to use the Waze result. All Waze results for House Numbers will show the pin on the road, whereas most Google results will show slightly off the road.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.4
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23254
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1036 times
Been thanked: 4241 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jun 03, 2014 6:54 pm

CBenson wrote:But as it stands waze never finds a "match" if the Waze result doesn't have a city name. Thus, as the Google results are used for the autofill, you will never be taken to to waze address pin result for a road segment without a city name by tapping on the autofill results. Even worse, if you do ask for search results, a Google result with an assumed city is listed above the waze result without the city name.

It isn't a good situation. This request should be able to help with that if they choose to implement: https://bugs.waze.com/show_bug.cgi?id=7112
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.4
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23254
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1036 times
Been thanked: 4241 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby Bigbear3764 » Sat May 31, 2014 1:49 pm

Have you deleted previous searches and/or saved favorites for this location? Old searches will continue to give the old bad location.

Can also try going to settings>advanced>data transfer>update maps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image Image
AM Chicagoland Area ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
ILL To-Do
Bigbear3764
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 2259
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 138 times
Been thanked: 744 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby Bigbear3764 » Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:57 pm

CBenson wrote:Waze does confirm that if there is no city name, the search returns use Goggle's result, and not Waze's, as waze can't be sure the waze result is good enough in this case.

Maybe we do need to reconsider using Zip Code cities in rural areas.


What if the city name is in the alternate field?
Image Image
AM Chicagoland Area ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
ILL To-Do
Bigbear3764
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 2259
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 138 times
Been thanked: 744 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby CBenson » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:20 pm

These are both working for me in the client and the live map. Did they update recently or are we seeing different results?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9031
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 745 times
Been thanked: 1799 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby CBenson » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:50 pm

Right. That second waze result shows that the edit has been processed. I can get the live map to give the same results. Type in "4311 Green Glade Rd, MD" and then hit more results at the bottom of the list. I then get the same thing as forcing the app to provide the search results.

For the second example, the result comes up in the autofill results for me. My guess on the difference is that the first doesn't have a city name. My guess is that without a city name, waze is not displacing the Google result with the house number layer result.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9031
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 745 times
Been thanked: 1799 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby CBenson » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:13 pm

Agreed, but at this point I think the answer is to find out how waze is planning to handle the autofill result long term. I'll see what I can do.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9031
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 745 times
Been thanked: 1799 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby CBenson » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:58 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Even after tapping the auto-fill result, Waze is still supposed to look at the internal house number data, and if it finds a match, is supposed to use the Waze result.

Right, that is what seems to be happening for the second example, 10036 Hilgreen Circle. But as it stands waze never finds a "match" if the Waze result doesn't have a city name. Thus, as the Google results are used for the autofill, you will never be taken to to waze address pin result for a road segment without a city name by tapping on the autofill results. Even worse, if you do ask for search results, a Google result with an assumed city is listed above the waze result without the city name.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9031
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 745 times
Been thanked: 1799 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby CBenson » Sun Jun 08, 2014 3:41 pm

Waze does confirm that if there is no city name, the search returns use Goggle's result, and not Waze's, as waze can't be sure the waze result is good enough in this case.

Maybe we do need to reconsider using Zip Code cities in rural areas.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9031
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 745 times
Been thanked: 1799 times

Re: Tile Update Schedule for New/Modified Addresses?

Postby CBenson » Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:12 pm

Well that's been the question for quite awhile. Should enter the ZIP city as an alternate name. I guess this would be a good one to test.

Should we add Green Glade Rd, Swanton, MD as an alternate name and see what happens?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9031
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 745 times
Been thanked: 1799 times

Next

Return to House Numbers (Addresses)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users