hud mode... Heads up display

You MUST read the "[Guidelines] How to request and search for new features" before posting here.

If you think you've found a BUG, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, MGODLEW

Forum rules
Waze staff does not read this forum

This forum is made for community discussions only.
To submit a feature request to Waze, read and follow the "[Guidelines] How to request and search for new features".


If you think you've found a BUG, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby bloodklot » Fri Feb 06, 2015 7:34 pm

I would love a HUD display. Another great feature would be for people that use dash mounts, to make a dashcam feature so that while the GPS is running, the camera on the phone would record 5+ minute loops in case of accidents. This would ensure that EVERYONE would be using Waze at all times and not just the occasional point a to point b.
bloodklot
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby hebermc » Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:13 pm

Have you ever tried using a phone as HUD display?

I tried using the Sygic function, but there was no way of sticking the phone, every cuver made it go places a phone should not.
[ img ][ img ][ img ]
AM Recife - SM Pernambuco - CM Brasil - Links importantes
"He who hesitates is not only lost, but several miles from the next freeway exit"
hebermc
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 1572
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:17 am
Location: Recife, PE, Brasil
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 1044 times

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby bloodklot » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:41 pm

There IS actually another competitor GPS app that has HUD mode but I wasn't able to try it out because its a micro transaction. I didn't see it worth it since I didn't like their GPS anyway. I think Waze could do this way better. But it was nice to see that it CAN be done.

They also had another feature that you had to pay extra for that was a dashcam and recorded the road while your GPS was on so that you could document any accidents, etc. If they could do it, Waze could do it.
bloodklot
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby L-Champignac » Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:43 pm

omba_de wrote:Well. A real HUD is great (e.g. in BMW5). But with a normal windshield it's almost impossible to have a real and usable HUD.


Well, can I disagree with you ?
I drive a Toyota Prius and I've been, one night leaving my Samsung near the windshield...
I foud the image absolutly readable except it has a reversed left/right image !
If I had the capability to mirror and reverse the image I should feel to be a jet pilot (!!!)

If you don't believe me I can take a picture ! The contrast and light are just perfectly adjustable and confortable.

Please consider there are other feeling than your !

I apologise I am french and my english is poor.
L-Champignac
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: France - Massif Central
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby L-Champignac » Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:49 pm

bloodklot wrote:I would love a HUD display. ... This would ensure that EVERYONE would be using Waze at all times and not just the occasional point a to point b.


+1... I fully agree with you !
I experienced by hazard one night !
Now I feel frustrated ! all nights while driving :?
L-Champignac
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: France - Massif Central
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby L-Champignac » Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:01 pm

hebermc wrote:Have you ever tried using a phone as HUD display?
I tried using the Sygic function, but there was no way of sticking the phone, every cuver made it go places a phone should not.


Not a big deal... Just stick a smartphone shell casing sticked at a right place and put your smartphone in it ! Cool !
L-Champignac
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: France - Massif Central
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby digitalturtle » Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:49 pm

I would love to see waze HUD..
please make it happen..
Maybe an add on or other app that could connect to waze main app..
this app only display the hud according to information provided by the waze main app..
therefore we could do the route editing, hazard and traffic update via the waze main app..
would love to see it happen :)
digitalturtle
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 4:04 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby MGODLEW » Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:22 am

iOS users who are Jailbroken might want to check this out.. http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-turn-y ... -your-car/
[ img ]
Rank 6 US Champ, Beta Tester & iOS Beta Leader | Waze Wishlist | Improper Edits | iPhone 6: JB iOS 9.0.2 |
Area Managing: State of Pennsylvania
MGODLEW
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:39 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 779 times
Been thanked: 703 times

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby mwolfyu » Thu Mar 12, 2015 1:25 pm

ok HUD is nice Idea, but I just wonder how would you report bunch of things if you are in HUD mode?
I think not ...
When I think Waze I think of People reporting all the problems they find on the road
"Čuvaj se besa tihih ljudi"
"Ako misliš pobediti ne smeš izgubiti."
"Neprijatelj koga poznajete, je ujedno i onaj protiv koga se možete i braniti."
mwolfyu
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:04 am
Location: Pančevo, Južni Banat, Banat, Vojvodina, Srbija, Balkan, Evropa ...
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: hud mode... Heads up display

Postby MGODLEW » Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:37 pm

mwolfyu wrote:ok HUD is nice Idea, but I just wonder how would you report bunch of things if you are in HUD mode?
I think not ...
When I think Waze I think of People reporting all the problems they find on the road

Waze Voice Commands
[ img ]
Rank 6 US Champ, Beta Tester & iOS Beta Leader | Waze Wishlist | Improper Edits | iPhone 6: JB iOS 9.0.2 |
Area Managing: State of Pennsylvania
MGODLEW
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:39 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 779 times
Been thanked: 703 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]