Speed Limit integration  Topic is solved

Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Moderators: Unholy, MGODLEW

Forum rules
Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby AussieParis » Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:40 pm

I know people often drive faster than the posted speed limit, but it is still good to know what the limit is on the road you are driving in. As an additional feature suggestion, you should be able to set an alert that goes off when you are X mph/kph above the posted limit. You can turn this on/off, and also set X as a fixed number, percentage of limit, etc.
AussieParis
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby B-Stylz » Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:42 pm

Hi,
I'm daily on the road and often more than 500 km a day. I'm from Germany and driving through the big cities is a pain regarding speed limits. My integrated GPS in my Skoda is like 3 years old so I switched to Waze. Although I'm still new to this app (5 months) I already did some edits in my home area because I regularly encounter new roads and for me it's an awesome feature.
I hope it's going to be integrated, the people will definately maintain it up to date I think.

Greetz from Germany,
B-Stylz
B-Stylz
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 1:01 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby BetsyFordSpicer » Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:42 pm

My Garmin nuvi lists speed limits, no problem, they are (so far) always correct. Waze is so much more sophisticated in so many ways, can't see why they can't do this too.
BetsyFordSpicer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:41 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby Bezmen » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:13 pm

To see the speed limit is more important than to see the camera speed.
Image
Bezmen
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:27 am
Location: Lipetsk, Russia
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby billHLol3 » Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:34 pm

Although it is annoying having a sound notification alert repeatedly indicating when your speed exceeds the speed limit ("SL") on a particular portion of a road, it could very easily be designed that the sound notification alert be in an On or Off status. With the SL shown for the road location where you happen to be at the moment it is very helpful for keeping your speed down and "not getting a ticket" for going over the SL. As has been pointed out by others within this subject, the SL changes as you move along a road going through more and less congested areas. Consequently, when a SL has changed you can miss seeing a SL change indication sign and not see another SL sign for a mile or more. Having the SL always showing on the Waze screen together with your current moving MPH speed (e.g., on the HERE map navigation system) could very easily save a Wazer from getting stopped for speeding.
billHLol3
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby capbat » Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:20 pm

I agree that most imported roads already have speeds attache to them. I recently downloaded my latest update to my Garmin and in my area 90% of the roads have speed limits included in them and they are very accurate. It would be handy if in an future version it would be possible to toggle a speed alert when exceeding by a parametrable unit of MPH or KPH above permitted speed. We all live in different locations with different rules and different ways of implementing them. I have notice in a previous post that someone in his region can over speed by 10 to 15mph without any problem. Well is is not so in my region speed limits are enforced very radically and in certain zones the $$ penalty doubles by every 5 kmh. I have also seen in a previous post that it is the responsibilty of the driver to know in what zone he is and to go by the rule. I have often seen ten's of kilometer or miles without any signs, so if you miss the first one, I suppose you have to guess your speed limit. :o
As far as GPS speed not being accurate I disagree I often compare them to my car speedometer and most of the time they are within 2% of the car meter, but then again the car speedometer might be off.


And as it mentioned in previous post if you don't want it, just turn it off.
I Strongly approve of this recommendation. I am using it on my Garmin even thought they don't have the alert yet.

Bat
capbat
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:37 pm
Location: Québec
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby ddeconin » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:31 am

+1 for crowdsourcing speed limits and displaying the current speed limit of the segment your driving on. Or at least , speed limit display together with the traffic cams.
ddeconin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:28 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby deeploz » Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:49 pm

:arrow: + 1

That would definitely be a tremendous improvement for Waze.
This is a key feature, hardly expected by a wide panel of wazer.
Image
deeploz
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1325
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 10:41 am
Location: Yvelines Est, Essonne Nord, Petite Couronne Sud
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 214 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby dmcconachie » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:50 am

grenness wrote:To describe how Waze somehow could get sued for this - well, as another poster said: if Garmin, and Sygic, and TomTom, and probably many more, can provide this info without the risk of being sued, then why can't Waze?

I'm sure there is still a risk, albeit a minimal one because they pay for the information and can reasonably assume that it is accurate!

As to guessing the speed limit, that's just completely unworkable. These data are useless unless fairly accurate.
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6107
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 301 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby DonaldKoenig » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:08 pm

I am glad it is coming. I feel it is good information to have if available. Also, if Waze does not have the information, how does it accurately predict time to your destination?
DonaldKoenig
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EWK333