Speed Limit integration  Topic is solved

Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Moderators: Unholy, MGODLEW, Unholy, MGODLEW, Unholy, MGODLEW, Unholy, MGODLEW

Forum rules
Request NEW features or CHANGES to existing features of the Waze App

If you think you've found a bug, use the appropriate "Official Feedback" thread found in the Waze App forum (parent of this forum).

If you have a request for new or modified feature of the Waze App, use this forum.

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby Evel_Knievel » Mon May 18, 2015 2:54 pm

We capture (users input) changing hazards. Don't see why speed limits wouldn't be incorporated. Yes, changing speed limits (electronic signs) would be more challenging, but in the vast majority of places around the world they still use old school signs. Waze needs to do this before the competition does.
Evel_Knievel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 8:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby FerdySmidt » Thu May 14, 2015 9:03 pm

Well it would be nice to have at least an indicator instead from black to red for instance like most navigation software already uses. And those generally use 4 km per hour over before the speed sign goes from black to red.
I personally wouldn't want an audio alert for it, but it is a good indicator if you are speeding at a certain road which you might not be familiar with. Perhaps a feature that could be enabled/disabled in a menu.
FerdySmidt
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 8:04 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby Fredo-p » Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:52 am

I've wanted to request this feature for so long However, after reading many posts on this topic, and having an actual police officer, who is also a Waze user, reply on this topic, I've realized something.

Having Waze display your speed is an option one can activate. To have Waze be able to tell you that you are speeding or warn you of the current speed limit would be even greater. Sadly, there is one flaw that poses great risk for drivers. This flaw is how Waze gets your speed. Waze, like many other GPS navigation units, use a triangular point system and averages the distance between the unit and each satellite over a set amount of time to get your "estimated" speed. The flaw to this is that the satellites are not that accurate and give a rough or estimated speed.

The results can vary and sometimes not even work for some unknown reason. The responsibility of knowing and maintaining the speed limit is solely up to the driver. In the US, speed limits must be posted every X amount of feet/miles (I think). If a person has a drivers license for a particular state, they are required to know what the maximum speed limit is for certain types of roads (residential, school zone, construction) if it's not posted (I've seen this question in 3 diff states, other states may vary).

In theory, this feature sounds great. But in reality, there are just to many flaws, risks, and unknowns to think about and that is something I fell Waze doesn't want to risk the lives of users to find out.
The true purpose of Waze is to help you get from point A to point B by using real-time speed data gathered by other users and give you the best possible route. It's an aid for drivers. Everything else that the driver must do/know is their responsibility. Besides, having to remove my focus on driving to have to check Waze and see if I am speeding can be dangerous, when I could just look down and see how fast I am going.
Image
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
WME βeta Tester
Waze Map Editor | Arizona Wiki | Waze Arizona G+
VZ Droid 4 |Waze v3.9.3.0
Fredo-p
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 357 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby Fredo-p » Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:22 am

jmbox80 wrote:+1

Now I'm forced to run my TomTom in parallel with Waze just so I can see the speed limit. Waze desperately needs this feature.

Why would you need a GPS device to know the speed limit?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
Image
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
WME βeta Tester
Waze Map Editor | Arizona Wiki | Waze Arizona G+
VZ Droid 4 |Waze v3.9.3.0
Fredo-p
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 357 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby Fredo-p » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:19 am

How would roads with variable speed limit signs work? It would be a nightmare for editors to try and deal with this.

Here in AZ, we have a city that is going to get the variable speed limit signs. They will alternate speed limits during peak hours, events, and heavy traffic. The speed limit will adjust as needed but will try to be on a set schedule.

I can't see how this is going to be possible for an editor to keep up with.

Also, trying to keep up with construction zones and finding out what the speed limit is for that zone, when it starts, and remembering when it ends.
Image
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
WME βeta Tester
Waze Map Editor | Arizona Wiki | Waze Arizona G+
VZ Droid 4 |Waze v3.9.3.0
Fredo-p
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 357 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby gobits01 » Fri Nov 15, 2013 3:36 pm

Still, Speed Limit integration with the option to turn warnings on and off easily would be quite useful when traveling outside our normal routes, especially on smaller country roads where there is little traffic to judge speed by and where small towns often use speed traps as a means to raise revenue at the cost of the hapless out of town driver.

So, just because you or I wouldn't need it going to and from work, doesn't mean it wouldn't be a useful feature to many Wazers.
gobits01
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:58 pm
Location: New York
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby grenness » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:43 am

+1 for speed limit data in Waze.

I see many different (and strange) arguments against it in this thread.

If you don't want your Waze to tell you the speed limit, or whether you are speeding or not, then of course it must be possible to turn it off.

To describe how Waze somehow could get sued for this - well, as another poster said: if Garmin, and Sygic, and TomTom, and probably many more, can provide this info without the risk of being sued, then why can't Waze?

Except for when you're in a tunnel, Waze will probably give you a much more correct speed than your speedometer which has been "factory set" with a fault margin to allow different wheel sizes etc. Typically a car's speedometer has a fault tolerance within 10%, but always so that it tells you a slightly higher speed than what is the actual speed of the car (so you shouldn't be accused of speeding based on what the speedometer tells you) - good for you, bad for the ones behind you with GPS showing them that you are constantly driving below speed limit ;-)

How to get the speed limit data?
Well, I would guess that on roads frequently travelled by Wazers, Waze could 'guess' the speed data based on historical data.
Local Wazers could probably help by entering speed limits in the Waze map editor.
But one other solution, that I would guess could work and would give 100% correct data, would be for Waze, or Google, or Waze reps in the respective countries, to ask the "department for traffic" for the national speed limit data.
This might seem impossible, but it's not.
Why should the government "hide" this? Their interest should be to share these data with as many (drivers) as possible - remember that the speed limits are not there in order to collect fines, it's there for safety reasons.
In Norway, data like this has been, and are still being, released in open formats (think 'set the data free') *, so I would assume/hope that Waze (and other driving apps/units) could use data received directly from 'the source' (but of course still with disclaimers that the Driver is solely responsible bla, bla, bla).


~Christopher

*: http://www.vegvesen.no/Fag/Teknologi/Na ... In+English
Last edited by grenness on Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
grenness
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby grenness » Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:44 pm

dmcconachie wrote:As to guessing the speed limit, that's just completely unworkable. These data are useless unless fairly accurate.


I agree that it's not my preferred method of collecting speed limit data (getting the data straight from the government would be my preferred method!).

However, the 'guessing' method would of course need some nifty logarithms and logics in order to work.
First of all, the speed limits are of course 'rounded', in Norway (and probably EU/countries using Metrics) they are most commonly 50kph (populated areas), 80kph (sparsely populated areas) , 90/100/110kph (highways), with additions of 70/60kph on main roads that are considered high risk or when main roads momentarily enters/crosses populated areas, and 40/30 in residential areas.
My point is that Waze wouldn't only consider the average speed driven on a given stretch of road, but could/should also compare it to the nearest probable speed limit 'level' and could even take into consideration crossing roads (implicating a populated area, even a residential area if there are many crossing roads on a short stretch), maybe how the road looks (sharp turns, or straight runs for miles and miles?), and so on.
Also, Waze should not start guessing the speed limit before it has either a vast amount of 'probable' drives registered through the stretch of road, or a solid 'edit' in the Editor where someone with thrustworthyness has entered the actual speed limit, or it could add a feature asking through the app "is the speed limit here 70kph?" with a big YES button - where the driver is free to ignore the question and concentrate on driving and the question will go away after say 10 sec.

When Waze thinks it knows the speed limit on a road, it should probably not present it in the same graphical matter as an actual speed sign (black letters with red circle around) but find some other way/colors to underline that Waze doesn't /know/ the speed limit, it's just /guessing/ based on user data and feedback. It would still help me a lot.

But again - I would love to see the data coming straight from the source - the government.
grenness
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby Guill007 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:25 pm

hebermc wrote:Calm down dude, the post before yours already sayd its being worked on.


Hi,
has anybody an idea when this feature will show up? As of 3.9.3 it is not there.
Cheers.
Guill007
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speed Limit integration

Postby Guill007 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:41 pm

MrBertnl wrote:I would really like to have speed limit integration on my screen. Just a sign showing the maximum speed end maybe an alarm if you drive a certain amount to fast.
Many time I know the speed limit but sometime I missed a sign and then I could help.
I know sygic, tomtom and also here have such feature

Not paying attention to a known speed limit just cost me 45€ and a point. That's why I'm really really looking forward to this feature.
Well, I guess I should be patient for now.
Guill007
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]