[REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:42 pm

Please read the FAQ, which answers this question pretty quickly. There's lot of other good info in there too!
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 653 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:51 am

fvaliente81 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Please read the FAQ, which answers this question pretty quickly. There's lot of other good info in there too!

Does not work

It does. I just did it. Where are you located and what are the coordinates you entered? About how far away is the location from your location/start point?


Tapatalk made me do it.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 653 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:25 pm

Timbones wrote:> Longitude (East/West), then Latitude (North/South).

They claim to have read the wiki and would therefore be entering the coordinates in the correct order. I'm trying to find out the next step, which is, based on exactly what they entered, why it may not be working. I see three main options: bug, distance too far, not accounting for how to specify W and S values.


Tapatalk made me do it.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 653 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:51 pm

jcb10157 wrote:How about the points of interest? Why doesn't waze support it? Every other gps navigation app support POIs.

What POIs does Waze not support? There are landmarks in Waze and it also searchs google, bing foursquare, yelp, yellowpages. What other or type of POI are you desiring?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 653 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:06 pm

jcb10157 wrote:Geocaching pois. Off-line in a kml file for example

That's pretty far beyond what the whole point of and the current business case for Waze is. There are already apps for that.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19485
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 653 times
Been thanked: 2254 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby fvaliente81 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 3:57 am

I have tried to use the navigator with the coordinates, but it does not work. Waze just does not found the place. Is there any other way I can use the coordinates? Or maybe I am doing something wrong.
fvaliente81
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby fvaliente81 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:19 am

Timbones wrote:Enter "Longitude, Latitude" in the search box, and Waze will navigate you there (well, as close as it can, depending on proximity to roads and how well mapped the area is. YMMV)

via mobile

Does not work
fvaliente81
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby fvaliente81 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:19 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Please read the FAQ, which answers this question pretty quickly. There's lot of other good info in there too!

Does not work
fvaliente81
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby htahta » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:45 am

Would be nice. Geocaching takes us to places on small roads. That we normally not drive for home/work. So for road data and routing on less used streets. Is this nice.
ImageImageImage
Local Champs
Regio Manager: Fryslân
Benelux
htahta
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:33 pm
Location: Ferwerderadiel, The Netherlands
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 43 times

[REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:49 am

I wonder why waze doesn't provide this, or offline (kml or other format) poi loading. This would be great to use waze in geocaching. Today I have to use another app to navigate to a geocache.

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users