[REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby Timbones » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:55 am

Did you enter the coordinates in the order specified above? It may be the opposite of what you are used to:

> Longitude (East/West), then Latitude (North/South).
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 11210
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 991 times
Been thanked: 2712 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby Timbones » Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:08 pm

Enter "Longitude, Latitude" in the search box, and Waze will navigate you there (well, as close as it can, depending on proximity to roads and how well mapped the area is. YMMV)

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 11210
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 991 times
Been thanked: 2712 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:41 am

It would be great if waze could at least support calls from other apps with different coordinates system and not the weird decimal longitude latitude that it supports. I don't believe that I am the only one requiring this...

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:01 pm

and online using the geocaching.com Api ?

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:53 pm

Geocaching pois. Off-line in a kml file for example

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:15 am

The format of the coordinates waze accepts is useless in geocaching. Decimal and longitude latitude means that I would need to convert coordinates and enter them manually to use waze.

How about the points of interest? Why doesn't waze support it? Every other gps navigation app support POIs.

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

[REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:49 am

I wonder why waze doesn't provide this, or offline (kml or other format) poi loading. This would be great to use waze in geocaching. Today I have to use another app to navigate to a geocache.

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby htahta » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:45 am

Would be nice. Geocaching takes us to places on small roads. That we normally not drive for home/work. So for road data and routing on less used streets. Is this nice.
Image
Local Champs
Country Manager Netherlands:
Benelux
htahta
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:33 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby fvaliente81 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:19 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Please read the FAQ, which answers this question pretty quickly. There's lot of other good info in there too!

Does not work
fvaliente81
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby fvaliente81 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:19 am

Timbones wrote:Enter "Longitude, Latitude" in the search box, and Waze will navigate you there (well, as close as it can, depending on proximity to roads and how well mapped the area is. YMMV)

via mobile

Does not work
fvaliente81
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher