[REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:41 am

It would be great if waze could at least support calls from other apps with different coordinates system and not the weird decimal longitude latitude that it supports. I don't believe that I am the only one requiring this...

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:01 pm

and online using the geocaching.com Api ?

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:06 pm

jcb10157 wrote:Geocaching pois. Off-line in a kml file for example

That's pretty far beyond what the whole point of and the current business case for Waze is. There are already apps for that.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23605
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1125 times
Been thanked: 4785 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:53 pm

Geocaching pois. Off-line in a kml file for example

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:51 pm

jcb10157 wrote:How about the points of interest? Why doesn't waze support it? Every other gps navigation app support POIs.

What POIs does Waze not support? There are landmarks in Waze and it also searchs google, bing foursquare, yelp, yellowpages. What other or type of POI are you desiring?
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23605
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1125 times
Been thanked: 4785 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby jcb10157 » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:15 am

The format of the coordinates waze accepts is useless in geocaching. Decimal and longitude latitude means that I would need to convert coordinates and enter them manually to use waze.

How about the points of interest? Why doesn't waze support it? Every other gps navigation app support POIs.

Sent from my NexusHD2 using Tapatalk 2
jcb10157
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:42 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:25 pm

Timbones wrote:> Longitude (East/West), then Latitude (North/South).

They claim to have read the wiki and would therefore be entering the coordinates in the correct order. I'm trying to find out the next step, which is, based on exactly what they entered, why it may not be working. I see three main options: bug, distance too far, not accounting for how to specify W and S values.


Tapatalk made me do it.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23605
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1125 times
Been thanked: 4785 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby Timbones » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:55 am

Did you enter the coordinates in the order specified above? It may be the opposite of what you are used to:

> Longitude (East/West), then Latitude (North/South).
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6715
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 983 times
Been thanked: 2638 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:51 am

fvaliente81 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Please read the FAQ, which answers this question pretty quickly. There's lot of other good info in there too!

Does not work

It does. I just did it. Where are you located and what are the coordinates you entered? About how far away is the location from your location/start point?


Tapatalk made me do it.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23605
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1125 times
Been thanked: 4785 times

Re: [REQUEST] navigate to coordinates

Postby fvaliente81 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:19 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Please read the FAQ, which answers this question pretty quickly. There's lot of other good info in there too!

Does not work
fvaliente81
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users