New WME version v1.39

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby SpencerFG » Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:33 am

johnsninja58 wrote:I hope we can get more direct communication from staff about the updates for the entry/exit point feature. This is not intuitive for newer editors and has caused lots of confusion. The end features from what I am reading are great concepts but without a clear road map it would be beneficial for some more communications from staff.


I don't know if I'm a "newer editor" having been editing for a couple of years but I was definitely thrown this morning by the introduction of entry points. Once I caught the new menu item in the left pane it made sense but I spent a lot of time trying to figure out what was wrong. Please give us fair warning when a change like this is rolled out.
SpencerFG
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Virginia, Southern California USA
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby SpencerFG » Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:27 am

So it seems that stop points are back and entry points on the left menu are gone already?
SpencerFG
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Virginia, Southern California USA
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby kumiankka » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:52 pm

Hello All!

This is partial cross-post of another message I posted earlier today in another thread. As recommended by a moderator and in order to keep discussion in this official thread, I'll repeat some of my opinions here.

Generally speaking this new UI for entry/exit points is ok. I like the concept of multiple stop points and I look forward to see it in action. True, it feels a bit cumbersome to use as it has so many not-yet-implemented features, but it gets the job done for the most part (but not every time!) People are capable of getting accustomed to new features without explicit guidance. Developer's responsibility is to design and implement a feature in a such way that it won't backfire, in this case, in the hands of level 2+ editor.

However, what I don't like in this release and what I think should be rolled back or repaired, is reduced maximum distance of the entry/exit point. Earlier it was possible to drag the marker somewhere what to me looked like almost 1000 m away from the polygon of the place. Now this distance looks like 500-ish meters or so. It's way too short and I have already run into issues with it as I cannot edit details of an adventure park that has over 600 meters walk from the nearest legal parking place. If I drop the entry/exit point anywhere within these new limits, Waze will guide unsuspecting tourists to streets where parking is prohibited. Entry/exit point’s maximum distance needs to be returned to its earlier value.
kumiankka
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:03 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby johnsninja58 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:04 pm

I hope we can get more direct communication from staff about the updates for the entry/exit point feature. This is not intuitive for newer editors and has caused lots of confusion. The end features from what I am reading are great concepts but without a clear road map it would be beneficial for some more communications from staff.
johnsninja58
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:05 am
Location: VT, NY, MA
Has thanked: 336 times
Been thanked: 313 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby vince1612 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:07 pm

russblau wrote:But, despite this, the UI for point places has changed along with that for area places, and new point places will not have an entry/exit point by default, unless and until a user adds one.

I posted what we were told by staff. Now as we know between what's said and what happens there can be differences where we didn't expect any. Again I wish we knew more but we don't ;)
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5791
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 2831 times
Been thanked: 3033 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby russblau » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:03 pm

vince1612 wrote:[*]It will only be working with area/polygon places, not point places.


But, despite this, the UI for point places has changed along with that for area places, and new point places will not have an entry/exit point by default, unless and until a user adds one.
russblau
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:36 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 532 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby vince1612 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:46 pm

bwawsc wrote:Incomplete features rolled out live to production without explanation or announcement to the general editing community is really a poor practice. Beta is for testing new features until they are ready for prime time. Beta people expect weird behavior. Beta people have been given some explanation of what is going on. What the WME editor community saw today looked like a bug with a broken UI on top. Not cool.

I must say I also didn't expect this would be released in its current state without further details, so about:
MapSir wrote:* New place entry points UI's, base for Multiple Entry Points feature. you can now add an entry point from the left panel. New polygons are created with no entry point.
Once you create a new venue, go to left panel and find the button to add a new entry point.
This is the additional information you should know:
  • As MapSir said above by using the word at the start of his description, it's important to realize that this is only the base for a new feature. It's still far from being fully functional.
  • It is currently NOT YET possible to add more than one stop point. (Planned but no ETA given)
  • It is currently NOT YET possible to rename stop points from the default "Unnamed" name. (Planned but no ETA given)
  • It will only be working with area/polygon places, not point places.
  • If you don't manually create a stop point to move it somehwere else, the routing behavior is the same as before. Meaning that, even if you can't see it, the stop point "exists" in the center of the polygon (default location) and routing will then work accordingly. Making it visible by clicking "Add point" should only be needed if you have to move it to another location than the default one.

That's all the information we have and that was confirmed by staff in Q&A's, we wish we could tell you more and we also wish that we knew more ourselves.
For the time being please keep in mind this is an unfinished new feature and it should not be expected to work for adding multiple stop points until at least a new WME update (or two?)
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5791
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 2831 times
Been thanked: 3033 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby dBsooner » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:42 pm

I agree with those that have already stated it. The stop points UI should have waited. There hasn't been any discussion sent down from the champs with regards to how these work and should be used. The last we heard about multiple stop points was from those that attended meet ups. They only gave us brief information as they were told to keep most information given secret for now.

It's bad to launch a new feature to the masses with no explanation of what the feature does and how to correctly use it. That being said, if we can start using it now, what do we do with it? A start would be what the ultimate goal of the new UI is.
dBsooner
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:53 pm
Location: Tulsa / Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, US
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby karlcr9911 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:31 pm

Agreed, the stop points UI should not have been moved to production already. It needs to stay in beta until it's completed and ready after being tested fully by the beta community. Showing the editing community half-completed features is not a morale booster...it's quite the opposite.
karlcr9911
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2072
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:05 am
Location: North East Texas, USA
Has thanked: 396 times
Been thanked: 1286 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby bwawsc » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:04 pm

Incomplete features rolled out live to production without explanation or announcement to the general editing community is really a poor practice. Beta is for testing new features until they are ready for prime time. Beta people expect weird behavior. Beta people have been given some explanation of what is going on. What the WME editor community saw today looked like a bug with a broken UI on top. Not cool.
bwawsc
Map Editor - level 3
Map Editor - level 3
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:15 am
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Has thanked: 222 times
Been thanked: 76 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron