New WME version v1.39

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby Onmywaysir » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:41 pm

Nice! Can't wait to try it.
Onmywaysir
AM for WNC, Casper WY, Tucson AZ and Sonora MX
https://www.waze.com/user/editor/onmywaysir
:D
ImageImage Image Image Image
Onmywaysir
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 6:52 pm
Location: Asheville
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby nzahn1 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:10 pm

vince1612 wrote:[*]The current changes to the UI are precisely made and done to allow creating more stop points and to rename them in the future, as previously explained by me here, therefor it should be no surprise to see that some places might start having multiple points here and there as this gets further tested before it is fully released.

As a follow up, in some countries, Places have been imported to the map from 3rd parties; especially Parking Lot Areas (PLAs). Some of these 3rd Party provided places came with multiple entry points, and I assume they have just been hidden until now, when the WME supported the data.

I'm happy to see that multiple entry points is coming to the WME.

I'm also not upset that editors are getting a chance to learn the new entry-point interface using the left pane, before being thrown into the deep end with multiple entry points and renaming. I wouldn't want to see this feature rolled back.
ImageImageImageImage
Rank 6 | US Local Champ | Maryland SM | WME Beta | iOS Beta
WME Profile E-Mail MD Twitter MDForum MDWiki Welcome!
nzahn1
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA (SM)
Has thanked: 681 times
Been thanked: 707 times

New WME version v1.39

Postby MapSir » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:05 pm

Hey Guys and Girls!

New version live in Prod.

* Changes that are made in sandbox no longer show in the save counter after logging in.
* RTC - New defaults are set on blank closures based on your feedback
* Long words in UR's disappear/break - Fixed
* URLS in wme are now converted to clickable links
* Choosing category for a place from suggestions is not possible - Fixed
* Fixed layout issues for Safari 10
* Hovering over PUR's - Fixed a UI issue
* Moving place entry points resulted in saving error - Fixed
* New UI for turns with "Difficult Turns" set - Difficult turns now have striped arrows.
* Shift-z and Red turns bugs - Fixed
* New place entry points UI's, base for Multiple Entry Points feature. you can now add an entry point from the left panel. New polygons are created with no entry point.
Once you create a new venue, go to left panel and find the button to add a new entry point.

Thanks!
MapSir
MapSir
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7517 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby LaukinisBriedis » Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:11 am

Kurzor this was explain on first page of this topic
vince1612 wrote:This is the additional information you should know:
  • As MapSir said above by using the word at the start of his description, it's important to realize that this is only the base for a new feature. It's still far from being fully functional.
  • It is currently NOT YET possible to add more than one stop point. (Planned but no ETA given)
  • It is currently NOT YET possible to rename stop points from the default "Unnamed" name. (Planned but no ETA given)
  • It will only be working with area/polygon places, not point places.
  • If you don't manually create a stop point to move it somehwere else, the routing behavior is the same as before. Meaning that, even if you can't see it, the stop point "exists" in the center of the polygon (default location) and routing will then work accordingly. Making it visible by clicking "Add point" should only be needed if you have to move it to another location than the default one.

That's all the information we have and that was confirmed by staff in Q&A's, we wish we could tell you more and we also wish that we knew more ourselves.
For the time being please keep in mind this is an unfinished new feature and it should not be expected to work for adding multiple stop points until at least a new WME update (or two?)
ImageImageImage
Country Coordinator: Lithuania
Local Champ: Lithuania
Country Manager: Lithuania
Wazeopedia lietuviškai https://wazeopedia.waze.com/wiki/Lithuania/Pagrindinis_puslapis
LaukinisBriedis
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: LTU
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby Kurzov » Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:03 am

Hey, I don't know if this is an purposeful restriction on new editors, but there's only one entry/exit point available, if there's already one the link button changes the cursor to a "prohibited" icon. Is this normal?
5K edits
L2
Kurzov
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 1:05 am
Location: Kannapolis, North Carolina (USA)
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby kumiankka » Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:45 pm

MapSir wrote:* New UI for turns with "Difficult Turns" set - Difficult turns now have striped arrows.

This is good idea, but the stripes could be a bit more visible. Currently they are really hard to see.
kumiankka a.k.a. the rubber duck. Quack quack!

Image Image
kumiankka
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:03 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 106 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby kumiankka » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:52 pm

Hello All!

This is partial cross-post of another message I posted earlier today in another thread. As recommended by a moderator and in order to keep discussion in this official thread, I'll repeat some of my opinions here.

Generally speaking this new UI for entry/exit points is ok. I like the concept of multiple stop points and I look forward to see it in action. True, it feels a bit cumbersome to use as it has so many not-yet-implemented features, but it gets the job done for the most part (but not every time!) People are capable of getting accustomed to new features without explicit guidance. Developer's responsibility is to design and implement a feature in a such way that it won't backfire, in this case, in the hands of level 2+ editor.

However, what I don't like in this release and what I think should be rolled back or repaired, is reduced maximum distance of the entry/exit point. Earlier it was possible to drag the marker somewhere what to me looked like almost 1000 m away from the polygon of the place. Now this distance looks like 500-ish meters or so. It's way too short and I have already run into issues with it as I cannot edit details of an adventure park that has over 600 meters walk from the nearest legal parking place. If I drop the entry/exit point anywhere within these new limits, Waze will guide unsuspecting tourists to streets where parking is prohibited. Entry/exit point’s maximum distance needs to be returned to its earlier value.
kumiankka a.k.a. the rubber duck. Quack quack!

Image Image
kumiankka
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:03 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 106 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby karlcr9911 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:31 pm

Agreed, the stop points UI should not have been moved to production already. It needs to stay in beta until it's completed and ready after being tested fully by the beta community. Showing the editing community half-completed features is not a morale booster...it's quite the opposite.
Regional Coordinator - U.S. South Central
Global Champ / U.S. Country Manager
iOS Beta Tester | WME Beta Tester
Image Image ImageImageImageImage
SCR Wazeopedia | Welcome Wazeopedia
karlcr9911
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:05 am
Location: North East Texas, USA
Has thanked: 451 times
Been thanked: 1356 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby johnsninja58 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:04 pm

I hope we can get more direct communication from staff about the updates for the entry/exit point feature. This is not intuitive for newer editors and has caused lots of confusion. The end features from what I am reading are great concepts but without a clear road map it would be beneficial for some more communications from staff.
-John
-------
ImageImage
VT - State Manager
New England - Multi State Manager
Member of the NYC Closure Task Force
johnsninja58
 
Posts: 750
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:05 am
Location: VT, NY, MA
Has thanked: 378 times
Been thanked: 371 times

Re: New WME version v1.39

Postby DMZamora » Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:55 pm

vince1612 wrote:
DMZamora wrote:What about the old stop points? They seem to have vanished, at least on INTL server.

It's as explained above. They remain set in the center of the polygon by default and routing works accordingly. Nothing changed apart from the fact that they're not visible as they used to be.
They only "vanished" for your eyes, but they remain where they always were and still work exactly like before. Using "Add point" to make it visible is not required, except if you need to move the stop point to a specific location which is not the default one.


I think I wasn't clear. I was referring to the old stop points that were modified to other than default center positions, sorry. However, just noticed that these are shown, so no issues with that :)
ImageImage
Dúvidas? Que tal iniciar pelos links úteis?
Permalinks
DMZamora
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:42 am
Location: Brasília, DF - Brazil
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 291 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users