Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby Twister-UK » Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:17 pm

vince1612 wrote:This issue was already reported in the WME beta BUGS forum and passed on to staff, who is currently away for the weekend, we can surely expect to hear something from them once they're back in the office.


Vince, I'd respectfully disagree with your viewpoint here. If this was only a beta issue then fair enough, but since it affects production users as well - the overwhelming majority of whom have no access to the beta forum or, therefore, the existing references to this problem - it seems entirely appropriate given the severity of the issue to also make some reference to it here.

And quite frankly, considering how quickly the devs have rolled back to earlier releases in the past when issues were detected in the past, I'd have to agree with SP here that there doesn't appear to be any signs of action from the team this time around. It might be the weekend now, but it wasn't the weekend when this issue was first confirmed and raised with them, so why has it been allowed to persist across both editors without any attempts to prevent the consequential damage the the map data that's now occurring.

TBH, when an error like this is found, the LEAST that should be done is immediately freezing access to WME, to prevent further damage being done whilst the devs are given a chance to fix it. If they can instead roll back to an earlier issue free version then great, but I appreciate that due to changes behind the scenes it may not always be possible to roll back to the last known-good release.

Leaving full access to the known-bad WME enabled so that editing (and potential data loss) can continue over the weekend when there's no-one in HQ to deal with any consequences just seems like a complete non-response, and I can quite understand why SP is feeling a bit frustrated here.
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 435 times
Been thanked: 2573 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby Twister-UK » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:55 pm

SeveriorumPatrem wrote:I just noticed what the new pending cameras icons look like.


If you were still active in the beta test community, you'd know this was just one of oh so many issues raised about the new UI and, surprisingly (hah) this, along with pretty much every other complaint, was brushed aside by HQ who, once again, chose to hunker down behind their "our designers know best" attitude and act all defensive when any of us dare to suggest their latest creation is anything less than perfect :roll:
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 435 times
Been thanked: 2573 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby UEFL » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:45 pm

Just confirming the bug with trying to create a junction out of two overlapping (but not connected) segments with same elevation. Thanks.
UEFL
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:05 am
Location: California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: New WME version v2.0-455

Postby vince1612 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:08 pm

Regarding the issue previously mentioned, Glodenox is right, please don't publicly expose problems that may be taken advantage of by people with bad intentions for all the Internet to see.

Staff is already working on fixing the issue. EDIT: It has been fixed ;) moving on
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 3117 times
Been thanked: 3304 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby vince1612 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:41 pm

Ardillon42 wrote:On chrome I'm not able to use my scroll wheel on chat, but it's working when I want to zoom in or out.

This is a known bug which I hope will be fixed soon, thanks ;)
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 3117 times
Been thanked: 3304 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby vince1612 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:06 pm

Lukring wrote:Hello. It seems I cannot make an intersection from two overlapping, same-level roads. Node Idle icon comes up but nothing happens when I tap on it - or something does 'cause one of the segments usually turns red, Save button is grayed out, but refreshing WME will show Leave Page? prompt. Kindly confirm if its broken or its just me having this problem. Thanks.

Known bug, devs are aware and already checking.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 3117 times
Been thanked: 3304 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby vince1612 » Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:12 am

Stomtape wrote:I noticed that the new editor had once again opened the (unnecessary) option to confirm or not to approve U-turns on dead-end roads

This was reported to staff about 10 days ago who said it wasn't normal, AFAIK they should be removed again at some point.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 3117 times
Been thanked: 3304 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby vince1612 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:09 am

@All
Please always try to reproduce the bugs you encounter on a CLEAN WME to make sure that the issue is caused by the WME code and not by a script.

@SeveriorumPatrem
Posting that in this feedback thread isn't the way you should proceed as a WME beta tester and it won't actually make anything go any faster. This issue was already reported in the WME beta BUGS forum and passed on to staff, who is currently away for the weekend, we can surely expect to hear something from them once they're back in the office.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 3117 times
Been thanked: 3304 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby vince1612 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:46 pm

Twister-UK wrote:
vince1612 wrote:This issue was already reported in the WME beta BUGS forum and passed on to staff, who is currently away for the weekend, we can surely expect to hear something from them once they're back in the office.


Vince, I'd respectfully disagree with your viewpoint here. If this was only a beta issue then fair enough, but since it affects production users as well - the overwhelming majority of whom have no access to the beta forum or, therefore, the existing references to this problem - it seems entirely appropriate given the severity of the issue to also make some reference to it here.

I understand, but I think you may have misunderstood my comment and why I made it.

You're right that it would be appropriate to also make reference of this issue here, I never said it wasn't and never said it was only a beta issue.
I simply believe that someone who is a beta tester and that (so far) has not also provided feedback in the beta section at all, should not be posting steps and videos of the issue in this section only.

Thus I stand by my previous statement, absent from your quote and which provided the context for the rest of my post: Posting (only) in this feedback thread isn't the way someone should proceed as a WME beta tester and it won't actually make anything go any faster.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 3117 times
Been thanked: 3304 times

Re: Feedback on the new WME UI (v2.0-455)

Postby vince1612 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:37 pm

SeveriorumPatrem wrote:For anyone on this thread following the undesired deletions issue, other editors figured out the steps to reproduce the problem 100% of the time, and scripts are not involved.

Per Vince, the devs have been informed. No further info was provided beyond that.

We're indeed waiting on a response.

In the meantime we also noticed that the problem occurs when you use the "Del" or "Delete" key on your keyboard to delete something. At first I couldn't reproduce the bug when it was reported because I wasn't using that key (Not in my editing habits).
If you instead click on the WME trash icon with you mouse (how I tried at first when prompted to delete), the bug does not happen. You should use that as a workaround for the time being.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6184
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 3117 times
Been thanked: 3304 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users