Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:51 pm

petervdveen wrote:But the street name I saw in the intructions was this:
'A50 ri Zwolle'.


That's a known bug, if you are routed to a ramp that has more than one segment, the on screen prompt will show the name of the second or third part of the ramp in stead of the first one.

See here.

Being routed along the ramps while travelling to the north is indeed the problem discussed here.
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby petervdveen » Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:24 am

Yesterday on this road:
http://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=4 ... FTFTFFTTTT
I was going north and I got the message 'Keep right'.
But the street name I saw in the intructions was this:
'A50 ri Zwolle'.
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 10135
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 622 times
Been thanked: 1476 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby Bait-Fish » Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:28 am

Ah, very good. No mystery here then. I didn't have time to check earlier when I posted (our toddler demands much of my time). I was able to get that I-5 N and Oso Parkway junction connected. Immediately after that though I got a warning that someone else was editing in the area so I stopped poking around.
Bait-Fish
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:27 am
Location: Southern California
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby Talisker66 » Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:05 am

This looks to be easy ;-).
There's simply no connectivity between the I-5N-Segments. The I-5N is only connected to the Ramp.
If I look at the number of open Update Requests it seems that the Area Managers there are not very active :-(
Talisker66
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby Bait-Fish » Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:05 pm

Funny. I just had this happen last night and had my passenger put in an update request. Here is the permalink. We were headed NB on I-5 driving in the number 2 or 3 lane when I noticed Waze routing me off then back on (I usually drive with the nav muted). The update request in almost a mile past it, General Error "nav directed to exit and reenter fwy immediately." A couple months ago when I first started using Waze, it tried to do the same thing to me going Westbound on the 210 but I didn't get a report in and I forgot where it happened exactly.
Bait-Fish
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:27 am
Location: Southern California
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:35 pm

gerben wrote:OK, mail sent.


The reaction in short: Because the is thread no longer very active, they assume this problem has gone away.

So if you still are experiencing this problem, post it here!
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:51 pm

Talisker66 wrote:Yeas, I actually separated the roads more than they really are. If I look at the GPS-Tracks you can easily move the ramps more to the north and they still will align with the tracks.
In addition you could move the node at the beginning of the ramp more to the east. This indicates the aerial to me.

Regards
Talisker66


I have taken this advice and moved the ramps north and the beginning node east. On my first route through this area after these changes made it to the client, I was routed on the highway.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:55 pm

How dissappointing. Given how beautiful the Dutch map looks, I'm concerned to hear that the waze routing using such a mature map is not reliable.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:41 pm

As the AM of some of the interchanges alexthelion found this problem on, I am sure they are mapped right. Also there is more than enough speed data available (The Netherlands is a small country with a relatelive large userbase, so the freeways and intersections are travelled lots of times each day).

At first I thought these errors were caused by a lower average speed on the main lane during rush hour, but after I experienced these errors myself in the middle of the day, and after recieving messages this happens at night as well, I am not so sure this is the cause...
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:02 pm

alexthelion wrote:But not only I find people driving this way very asocial, it also asked me to leave the main motorway to for the ramp on lots of occasion at night while I'm alone or as such on the road...
As far as I can remember I didn't experience this behaviour in the past and this started a couple of months ago.

I really think there are a number seperate issues here.
First, make sure that you do not have "avoid highways" or "prefer cookie munching" set in your routing preferences. These setting can cause some unexpected routing choices such as routing over ramps at some times.
Second in areas where there is not a lot of speed data and the roads have not been reviewed and corrected by competent editors it is my experience that the waze algorthm is much more likely to provide questionable routes such as routing on and off the highway. This, however, corrects when the highways have sufficient speed data and the connections are checked and corrected in the map editor.
Third, (which is the circumstance I have) the waze algorthm routes on the highway at night or the middle of the day, but when traffic is present routes over the ramps even though the ramps are not faster.
CBenson
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users