Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:55 pm

mapcat wrote:The main drawback I was thinking of was someone having to evaluate ramps individually and only assigning penalties under certain circumstances. I have no clue how the algorithm works, but it seemed that automatically giving all segments of one type precedence over all segments of another type could cause problems. Maybe only occasionally, but then the exit ramp routing problem is not occurring everywhere either.

Segments do already have a hierarchy of penalties. Parking Lot roads, for example, have a very high penalty.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.1.1 | Waze v4.14
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23501
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1090 times
Been thanked: 4639 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby mapcat » Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:17 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
mapcat wrote:The main drawback I was thinking of was someone having to evaluate ramps individually and only assigning penalties under certain circumstances. I have no clue how the algorithm works, but it seemed that automatically giving all segments of one type precedence over all segments of another type could cause problems. Maybe only occasionally, but then the exit ramp routing problem is not occurring everywhere either.

Segments do already have a hierarchy of penalties. Parking Lot roads, for example, have a very high penalty.

True, but what about normal public roads (service roads, streets, etc on up to freeways)?
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:58 pm

mapcat wrote:If it's only been doing this for a week, maybe it's temporary.


Just wanted to report that it is still doing this. Plus, there has been an update request noting the error. So there are other users that see this as an error.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10333
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2354 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby Talisker66 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:33 pm

I would like to come back to my suggestion since I had the same Problem in my Area and it's now solved:

Look at the GPS-Tracks. Maybe the ramp and the road are too close together AND the GPS-Track is only slightly off the map AND since the Routing is now via the Ramp Waze does not recognize that you stay on the road and "allocates" the data to the road.

This was my observation: Everytime I stayed on the road Waze thought I used the off/on-ramps (at least this was what I saw on the client.
Only as I checked the GPS-Tracks and moved the Main Road more into the main GPS-Stream and increased the gap between the road and the ramp I've got this solved
Talisker66
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:45 pm

I'll take a look at my spot. Looking at the gps tracks and the location of the road on the map, I doubt the main traffic is being assigned to the ramp. However, I haven't driven the main road as I have been following the waze directions. I'll drive the main road and see what happens.
Last edited by CBenson on Wed Jun 29, 2011 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10333
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2354 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Jun 29, 2011 5:00 pm

Talisker66 wrote:Look at the GPS-Tracks. Maybe the ramp and the road are too close together AND the GPS-Track is only slightly off the map AND since the Routing is now via the Ramp Waze does not recognize that you stay on the road and "allocates" the data to the road.

I concede this may be a possibility. With the link from my OP, I saw that the ramp is right on the edge of the mass of GPS tracks. There really were very few on the other side, so I doubt that is what was happening. The average segment speed for the ramps are 8-16 MPH below the main interstate. I really can't fathom why Waze would want to route onto the ramps. However, I have adjusted the ramp a little further away from I-5, but I do have my doubts that in my original case, this was the issue.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.1.1 | Waze v4.14
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23501
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1090 times
Been thanked: 4639 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Wed Jun 29, 2011 5:23 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote: I really can't fathom why Waze would want to route onto the ramps.

In my spot waze doesn't route that way on the live map when I check during the middle of the day or at night. Waze didn't previously route me over the ramps, but has recently been routing me over the ramps during my morning commute. Thus, I have been guessing that waze's calculations are taking into account the current traffic and that is causing waze to route over the ramps.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10333
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2354 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:40 pm

Talisker66 wrote:I would like to come back to my suggestion since I had the same Problem in my Area and it's now solved:

Look at the GPS-Tracks. Maybe the ramp and the road are too close together AND the GPS-Track is only slightly off the map AND since the Routing is now via the Ramp Waze does not recognize that you stay on the road and "allocates" the data to the road.

This was my observation: Everytime I stayed on the road Waze thought I used the off/on-ramps (at least this was what I saw on the client.
Only as I checked the GPS-Tracks and moved the Main Road more into the main GPS-Stream and increased the gap between the road and the ramp I've got this solved


Waze is still routing over the ramps at the location I have linked to above. When I stay on the highway, the car icon on the client map simply moves along the ramps following the recommmended route. I have edited the ramp and the highway to be further apart and the car icon still moves along the ramps when driving the highway.

Did you simply align the roads with the GPS tracks to solve the problem or did you separate the roads more than they really are? The roads at the intersection I travel seem fairly well aligned with the GPS tracks to me.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10333
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2354 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:07 pm

I recieved many update requests last week because people were routed along the parallel lane on clover leaf interchanges in stead of along the main lane. This happened even at night. Average speeds and GPS tracks alignment are fine.

The strange thing is that routing along the parallel lane, there are at lease 2 extra nodes, which cause a penalty of 5 seconds each during route calculation. I cannot think of any reason for this routing to happen other than average speed during rush hour, but then what explains the routing during the night when the difference in speeds can be up to 40 km/h in favour of the main lane...
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby TerryEasy » Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:57 am

Have you tried make a turn restriction for a few days, then routing along that point? With the turn restriction, navigation won't route you along the ramp. That way, when you go this road, it won't believe you are on the ramp and will be able to acquire a correct average speed on the segment.

I agree this is a very sad solution, but I think it's worth a try.
HTC Hero - Android 2.1
TerryEasy
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Liège, BE
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]