Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, Unholy

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:14 pm

moesterry wrote:Have you tried make a turn restriction for a few days, then routing along that point? With the turn restriction, navigation won't route you along the ramp. That way, when you go this road, it won't believe you are on the ramp and will be able to acquire a correct average speed on the segment.

I agree this is a very sad solution, but I think it's worth a try.


I have not. First, I'm not positive that the fact that car shows following the route over the ramp on the client means that the speed data is being assigned to the ramp. (I rather suspect the opposite - that the processing on the server is independent of what route was being followed.) Second, I am unwilling to break routing for those that are actually using the ramps to exit the highway.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0, Waze 3.9.9.907
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9723
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 921 times
Been thanked: 2076 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby Talisker66 » Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:55 pm

CBenson wrote:Waze is still routing over the ramps at the location I have linked to above. When I stay on the highway, the car icon on the client map simply moves along the ramps following the recommmended route. I have edited the ramp and the highway to be further apart and the car icon still moves along the ramps when driving the highway.

Did you simply align the roads with the GPS tracks to solve the problem or did you separate the roads more than they really are? The roads at the intersection I travel seem fairly well aligned with the GPS tracks to me.


Yeas, I actually separated the roads more than they really are. If I look at the GPS-Tracks you can easily move the ramps more to the north and they still will align with the tracks.
In addition you could move the node at the beginning of the ramp more to the east. This indicates the aerial to me.

Regards
Talisker66
Talisker66
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:53 pm

I am to lazy to read back, but has anyone already reported this by mail?
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4779
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:05 pm

I have not, and I do not recall anyone else writing as much either.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.2.1 | Waze v4.2b
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23422
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 4513 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:18 pm

I have not either.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0, Waze 3.9.9.907
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9723
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 921 times
Been thanked: 2076 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:52 am

OK, mail sent.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4779
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby alexthelion » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:03 am

This is only my 2 cents comments but since version 2.0 of Waze, it seems my trust in the reliability of waze has decreased... At first it was almost impossible to reach the server to get the maps displayed but now this off/on-ramp issue.

After making a few feedbacks for wrong navigation instruction, I was told it could be that using the ramps might be quicker due to traffic and therefore Waze was behaving as 'normal'.
But not only I find people driving this way very asocial, it also asked me to leave the main motorway to for the ramp on lots of occasion at night while I'm alone or as such on the road...
As far as I can remember I didn't experience this behaviour in the past and this started a couple of months ago.

Last week I went to a totally new location and I had doubts about how I was lead there... my doubts were strong enough for me to stop and check the itinerary via the built-in Maps app of the iPhone...

I find the principle of Waze excellent and I want to keep using it while I'm driving within the borders... I would find it disappointing to have to purchase TomTom or similar app because I come to the conclusion I cant rely on the free stuff...
alexthelion
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:48 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:02 pm

alexthelion wrote:But not only I find people driving this way very asocial, it also asked me to leave the main motorway to for the ramp on lots of occasion at night while I'm alone or as such on the road...
As far as I can remember I didn't experience this behaviour in the past and this started a couple of months ago.

I really think there are a number seperate issues here.
First, make sure that you do not have "avoid highways" or "prefer cookie munching" set in your routing preferences. These setting can cause some unexpected routing choices such as routing over ramps at some times.
Second in areas where there is not a lot of speed data and the roads have not been reviewed and corrected by competent editors it is my experience that the waze algorthm is much more likely to provide questionable routes such as routing on and off the highway. This, however, corrects when the highways have sufficient speed data and the connections are checked and corrected in the map editor.
Third, (which is the circumstance I have) the waze algorthm routes on the highway at night or the middle of the day, but when traffic is present routes over the ramps even though the ramps are not faster.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0, Waze 3.9.9.907
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9723
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 921 times
Been thanked: 2076 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:41 pm

As the AM of some of the interchanges alexthelion found this problem on, I am sure they are mapped right. Also there is more than enough speed data available (The Netherlands is a small country with a relatelive large userbase, so the freeways and intersections are travelled lots of times each day).

At first I thought these errors were caused by a lower average speed on the main lane during rush hour, but after I experienced these errors myself in the middle of the day, and after recieving messages this happens at night as well, I am not so sure this is the cause...
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4779
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby CBenson » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:55 pm

How dissappointing. Given how beautiful the Dutch map looks, I'm concerned to hear that the waze routing using such a mature map is not reliable.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0, Waze 3.9.9.907
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9723
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 921 times
Been thanked: 2076 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]