Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:53 pm

I am to lazy to read back, but has anyone already reported this by mail?
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:52 am

OK, mail sent.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:41 pm

As the AM of some of the interchanges alexthelion found this problem on, I am sure they are mapped right. Also there is more than enough speed data available (The Netherlands is a small country with a relatelive large userbase, so the freeways and intersections are travelled lots of times each day).

At first I thought these errors were caused by a lower average speed on the main lane during rush hour, but after I experienced these errors myself in the middle of the day, and after recieving messages this happens at night as well, I am not so sure this is the cause...
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:35 pm

gerben wrote:OK, mail sent.


The reaction in short: Because the is thread no longer very active, they assume this problem has gone away.

So if you still are experiencing this problem, post it here!
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby gerben » Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:51 pm

petervdveen wrote:But the street name I saw in the intructions was this:
'A50 ri Zwolle'.


That's a known bug, if you are routed to a ramp that has more than one segment, the on screen prompt will show the name of the second or third part of the ramp in stead of the first one.

See here.

Being routed along the ramps while travelling to the north is indeed the problem discussed here.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby mapcat » Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:14 pm

It's interesting that the ramp doesn't have a higher average speed than the freeway. Normally that's what causes it whenever I run into it. Short of lengthening the segment, it doesn't seem like there's a lot you can do.
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby mapcat » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:57 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Good points, again. Makes me think that ramps should have higher penalty than freeway road type. But, I'm thinking of this more simply than the devs are, probably. I don't know all the drawbacks to adjusting a penalty like that...

The drawbacks probably outweigh the benefits, since they would probably have to penalize only some ramps, and it's not obvious which ones would need it. It seems like this would rarely cause problems for users, and I hope that replying to an update request with info about the routing algorithm/average speeds/data-gathering for potential alternate routes would reassure any users who do question it.

CBenson wrote:I have looked at a bunch of interchanges where this happens, such as the one I linked to above, and this one and the ramp speeds are never shown as being more than the highway speed.

Does this happen all the time?
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby mapcat » Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:39 pm

The main drawback I was thinking of was someone having to evaluate ramps individually and only assigning penalties under certain circumstances. I have no clue how the algorithm works, but it seemed that automatically giving all segments of one type precedence over all segments of another type could cause problems. Maybe only occasionally, but then the exit ramp routing problem is not occurring everywhere either.

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:In some jurisdictions, doing things like using on-off-ramps get around a traffic jam or using a parking lot as an intersection cut-off will get you a traffic violation if caught.

Using parking lots as shortcuts is illegal, sure, but using off-ramps? Seriously?

CBenson wrote:It has only started routing me through the ramp here for the past week or so, but it has been consistent since it started. Before that waze kept me on the freeway. In other cases, I have been able to edit the map to make it stop. But for the example that Alan gave and the current problem I am having I don't see a good way to edit the map to make it stop.

If it's only been doing this for a week, maybe it's temporary. From your response it seems that the only way you could stop it in the other cases was to edit the map--if so, what did you do that corrected it?

One other thought: do reports have any effect on routing? IOW, if people began regularly reporting anything--accidents, hazards, even police--along the freeway, would Waze start looking for alternatives?
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby mapcat » Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:17 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
mapcat wrote:The main drawback I was thinking of was someone having to evaluate ramps individually and only assigning penalties under certain circumstances. I have no clue how the algorithm works, but it seemed that automatically giving all segments of one type precedence over all segments of another type could cause problems. Maybe only occasionally, but then the exit ramp routing problem is not occurring everywhere either.

Segments do already have a hierarchy of penalties. Parking Lot roads, for example, have a very high penalty.

True, but what about normal public roads (service roads, streets, etc on up to freeways)?
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Off-ramp to interchange to on-ramp routing

Postby petervdveen » Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:24 am

Yesterday on this road:
http://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=4 ... FTFTFFTTTT
I was going north and I got the message 'Keep right'.
But the street name I saw in the intructions was this:
'A50 ri Zwolle'.
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 9211
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 382 times
Been thanked: 1149 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Delb0y, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot]