Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:51 pm

I haven't run into the situation until now where Cartouche and Papyrus are showing different age aerials, and in this case, Cartouche is showing a more recent set.

https://www.waze.com/cartouche_old/?zoo ... -123.23528

I had always thought that they pulled from the same API and should be identical?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19476
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 651 times
Been thanked: 2250 times

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:34 pm

Here's what I see:

cartouche_aerial.png
Aerial view in Cartouche
cartouche_aerial.png (278.64 KiB) Viewed 966 times
papyrus_aerial.png
Aerial view in Papyrus
papyrus_aerial.png (273.98 KiB) Viewed 966 times
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19476
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 651 times
Been thanked: 2250 times

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:43 pm

It's gotta be some kind of caching then at our ISPs or other location which can't control.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19476
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 651 times
Been thanked: 2250 times

Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:01 pm

gettingthere wrote:Related although not specifically addressing this issue - it seems that when zoomed in to the last image that displays (zoomed in close) that these are generally older images than what displays when zoomed out further.

Which is the opposite of what I usually experience and have complained to alpha about before.


--
If it looks strange, or I used bad grammar or misspelled anything, it's my phone's fault.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19476
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 651 times
Been thanked: 2250 times

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby cactus22minus1 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:17 pm

I can confirm new aerials in Seattle, and they are a lot more recent so that's nice to see. However, the new aerials are not showing up on the tightest zoom level, which still shows the older images. The problem with updated satellite imagery is that the two different sets were taken from different angles relative to the earth's surface- Obviously, the satellite is not always directly above the area it is capturing. This doesn't affect surface roads so much, but you may find now that elevated roads can appear in a drastically different location depending on how much the angle differs on the new set. The higher elevated a road/bridge/whatever is from the ground, the more potential for that road to now look really offset in the editor. Some of the stuff I noticed that looks a little shifted, I checked the GPS trails, and the placement is correct.. it just now looks a little off based on the images. So I guess this is a good time to be reminded about checking GPS!
cactus22minus1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:22 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby CBenson » Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:36 pm

Fascinating. I see in the old cartouche what your Papyrus screen shot shows.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6890
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 438 times
Been thanked: 991 times

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby dmcconachie » Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:52 pm

My views are switched!? I see the newer aerial in papyrus and the older one in cartouche! :shock:
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby gerben » Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:26 pm

I see the new images in both editors...

I think Bing is renewing their aerials. We've got very recent (last winter) aerials popping up at many locations in The Netherlands since August or so.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby gettingthere » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:17 pm

Related although not specifically addressing this issue - it seems that when zoomed in to the last image that displays (zoomed in close) that these are generally older images than what displays when zoomed out further.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: Cartouche and Papyrus showing different aerials?

Postby gettingthere » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:13 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Which is the opposite of what I usually experience and have complained to alpha about before.


Maybe it is different in each State/Region. What I posted above has been my experience.

Don't know how much control Waze has over this. Bing is the provider. Likely Waze is just using whatever Bing is giving them.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LeighGr, miole67