[SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBAR

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby foxitrot » Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:36 pm

foxitrot wrote:I've yet to check my last control segment in WME, whether someone inadvertently changed it...

My bad - I did. on Oct 8th I "finally gave up the waiting" and (with a one year delay) have applied a few overdue changes (while also fixing revcons and U-turns). So, there are possibly still some more-than-a-year old segments, which are rendered as broken on client displays.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7140
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2464 times
Been thanked: 1122 times

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby foxitrot » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:27 pm

Reviving this ancient thread... :mrgreen:

I've yet to check my last control segment in WME, whether someone inadvertently changed it, but after a year, its shape finally did change in my client's map! Possibly with the advent of the new infrastructure?

Maybe others could check their "exploded" segments (if they did not yet fix them manually)?
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7140
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2464 times
Been thanked: 1122 times

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby fvwazing » Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:34 am

From what I see from the layout of the more zoomed-out tiles is that shifting roads - freeways - is not reflected until after a quite long time - think 2 or 3 regular updates. As it is the freeway that shifted it is not blended out. There is a different thread about it, can't reproduce that now.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby gettingthere » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:13 pm

Could this be due to the fact that Waze hides certain road types as you zoom out? The same thing occurs when using Autozoom.
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6083
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby ValterBR » Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:32 pm

With the latest map update (or the previous one, not sure) the tiles in the client now show two different behaviour:

The one normally used for driving slow (shows all streets nearby), closest in zoom, looks fine!
But zooming out, when it shows highways only, the gaps are still there.

This is not a full solution, but a major improvement, anyway.
ValterBR
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:59 pm
Location: Porto Alegre-RS-Brasil
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby foxitrot » Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:40 pm

redmek wrote:I don't get a map at all since upgrading to version 3.0 on ice cream sandwich (Galaxy Nexus)

You have chosen an incorrect thread - please read through "Android 3.0.0.0 - official feedback post" (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15670) and eventually report it there.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7140
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2464 times
Been thanked: 1122 times

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby redmek » Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:24 pm

I don't get a map at all since upgrading to version 3.0 on ice cream sandwich (Galaxy Nexus)
[ img ]
redmek
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby foxitrot » Fri Feb 10, 2012 5:16 pm

Indeed :( I suspect the devs really consider the fix being an already closed issue.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7140
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2464 times
Been thanked: 1122 times

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby ValterBR » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:42 pm

New map update out. :o Growing disappointment. :cry:
ValterBR
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:59 pm
Location: Porto Alegre-RS-Brasil
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [SUPPORT] (WORLD) MapUpdate leaves client's livemap FUBA

Postby ValterBR » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:47 pm

fvwazing wrote:O no! Xangri-La can not be reached anymore! (assuming routing is hampered)

Are the segments involved in these mashups all from the same period iof time again? Haven't found any new ones anymore myself, and all the old ones I knew about are fixed manually at some point by now (which does not mean that there can not be any broken tiles that I am not aware of)


Hi, all these segments are edits made in October 2011.

Routing works. The routing server, map editor and the web livemap all seem to have good information. When routing, depending on the zoom level, the purple route sometimes even appears complete.

But going trough these missing/bad segments the phone looses the route and keeps recalculating. Very annoying.

RS389route.png
(94.36 KiB) Downloaded 650 times
ValterBR
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:59 pm
Location: Porto Alegre-RS-Brasil
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher