Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Nov 16, 2011 7:07 pm

that sucks. I've read about it happening recently. Not sure if it's a database issue or not.

FYI: To make the roads not red, you should confirm the details prior to saving. See the "Creating and Editing Segments" wiki page for info.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.4
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23254
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1036 times
Been thanked: 4241 times

Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 18, 2011 7:42 pm

Some editors lock segments after they find that inexperienced editors repeat the same mistakes in turn restrictions or aligning the roads to outdated aerials instead of GPS tracks.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.4
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23254
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1036 times
Been thanked: 4241 times

Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby dmcconachie » Wed Nov 16, 2011 7:53 pm

It's fairly common really. It will be correct but a bad sync between the editor and database leaves the editor confused. Give it 24 hours and come back to it. There was a form to fill out to give papyrus Devs a quick headsup but I can't remember where it was.
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby dmcconachie » Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:55 am

Spil wrote:
dmcconachie wrote:There was a form to fill out to give papyrus Devs a quick headsup but I can't remember where it was.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dDdieXc1VGdNOHlpNXBTMWNrdU8zZmc6MQ
(And if you lose it again ... it's in the top sticky topic here in the Editing forum. ;))

Lol, thanks! :oops:
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby gerben » Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:47 am

I was able to change the road type in Cartouche. Now it looks fine in both editors.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby gettingthere » Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:59 pm

zing-gabardine-two wrote:Is there any way to fix the wrong map there without the area manager or the individual who created that wrong road?

Zg2


If the segment is locked, the editor that locked it has a higher editing rank than you (the number in parenthesis), you won't be able to edit it.

An Area Manager, the original editor, or an editor with an equal or higher editing rank will need to get involved to edit or unlock the segment.

Unfortunately it is not clear to everyone when segments should be locked and the adverse impact locking segments has on other editors that want to contribute to improving the maps. Some editors are locking everything they work on. Some editors are only locking freeways, etc.

Waze has stated that the current editor rank and locking is not final. Unclear on how they are going to modify this in the future.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6 Plus, iOS 8.1.3, Waze 3.9
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 169 times

Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby Spil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:50 am

dmcconachie wrote:There was a form to fill out to give papyrus Devs a quick headsup but I can't remember where it was.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dDdieXc1VGdNOHlpNXBTMWNrdU8zZmc6MQ
(And if you lose it again ... it's in the top sticky topic here in the Editing forum. ;))
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby zing-gabardine-two » Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:27 pm

Hi,

https://world.waze.com/cartouche/?mtfcc ... FTTTTTTTTT

shows a roundabout which has been built in the real world back in 2007. The areal picture still show the old layout of the roads.

I was able to delete the old roads, create a new roundabout, and save these changes. However, the roundabout was half an hour later not a full circle, but an open circle, and I cannot seem to be able to save any of the changes I make to the roundabout now.

The current state of affairs is much worse than what was there previously, how do I fix this?

Greetings
Zg2
zing-gabardine-two
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help with a roundabout in Ilvesheim, Germany

Postby zing-gabardine-two » Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:17 am

gerben wrote:I was able to change the road type in Cartouche. Now it looks fine in both editors.


Very nice, thanks.

Now the disconnected road east of the roundabout needs to be connected to the roundabout to connect the filling station. The disconnected road was created by somebody else and has the "Locked" box ticked.

When I try to create a new road connecting the disconnected road fragment with the roundabout, the new editor says that I don't have permission. Is that because of the Lock box?

Is there any way to fix the wrong map there without the area manager or the individual who created that wrong road?

Zg2
zing-gabardine-two
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], maxbrunner, ortega2211