GPS layer not updating evidence

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:07 am

Back on October 26, I created some new roads for a development which is planned and roads are gravel with curbs waiting to be paved. You can see some of the roads in question via this permalink, which also has the GPS layer enabled.

Now, here below is the 2nd part of my evidence, which is a screenshot from the client showing the same area, and of special note, is that some of the roads are showing munched and others not.

murray_development_roads.jpg
murray_development_roads.jpg (123.67 KiB) Viewed 1980 times


In the permalink, note the lack of GPS tracks along the roads which were new on Oct 26 and munched since then. Side note: these roads aren't paved or open to the public.

On November 7, I asked Dror if he could tell me what user munched the roads. He said he'd have to wait until the GPS points were visible. I have checked every week since then and no GPS tracks have appeared. Nothing.

So, either the GPS layer is borked and not showing what we are being told it should, or ... the only possibility I can think of is that someone who lives close by walked/rode their bike through here to get the munch points, and turned Waze off quickly, therefore meaning that these streets would probably be the "last x meters not shown in Waze for privacy reasons" streets.

Other thoughts?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Dec 04, 2011 2:53 pm

There are only three GPS tracks in and out of my neighborhood even though I am running Waze nearly daily in that area. It's hard to know how old those tracks are.

jasonh300 wrote:BTW Alan, what was on that site in the obviously outdated aerial image? A trailer park? It looks so neat and new, but I saw the aerials on other websites that show it all cleared and filled with dirt.

It was a trailer park, but several years ago was condemned to make "new and better" mixed housing/retail. Right now is still a lot of dirt, but the new roads are in place with curbs, just not asphalt.

jasonh300 wrote:..you see that "pile" of GPS arrows on SW 139th St? I wonder if that's the residence of a Wazer, who left Waze turned on and maybe mowed his lawn or walked around his house and left a GPS trail.

I thought the same thing.

RickW-NC wrote:Having the userid in there would be nice too but that is probably a big privacy concern.

Yes, I think it possibly could be.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 07, 2011 6:01 pm

Thanks, Eyal.

Another spot is the MP51 interchange on I-580 in Livermore, CA, where the drivers have been using the new ramps and overpass since mid-November. No GPS points, though. :( Hard to get the roads aligned better...

https://www.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=5& ... FTFTFTTTTT
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:32 pm

The next version of Papyrus, release tbd, should have an updated gps points layer.


--
If it looks strange, or I used bad grammar or misspelled anything, it's my phone's fault.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:51 pm

foxitrot wrote:But the waze's tweet makes it clear, I hope at least to understand it this way - they will check and fix the GPS layer after releasing the next Papyrus.

Not sure what the "waze's tweet" you are referring to, but the next Papyrus release and GPS layer fix will likely be the same thing. ;)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:00 pm

CBenson wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Not sure what the "waze's tweet" you are referring to

I'm assuming the tweet linked to in Timbones post.

Ah, yes. Got it. They are linked; ie the same thing.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:01 pm

foxitrot wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:... the next Papyrus release and GPS layer fix will likely be the same thing. ;)

Need to fix Papyrus' GPS layer for this? Cartouche's does not show any recent GPS traces as well. This whole thread was about no recent GPS traces appearing anymore - I doubt any bug in both editing apps would cause this...

I understand it doesn't immediately make sense. But it does.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:10 pm

CBenson wrote:Do you guys have any idea when this will be now?

I would be surprised if it was in January, but they are on an aggressive timeline to remove Cartouche from availability, even still missing some features. At the Palo Alto meetup, we let them know the essential features we think still need to get into Papyrus (rename coming) before Cartouche is no longer available. I would love to give you the short list right now, but it's not in my notes.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19464
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2245 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby bgodette » Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:12 pm

Doesn't look like there's GPS points in my area newer than mid December when this overpass opened.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2933
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 227 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby CBenson » Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:37 pm

Anyone heard anything further on when this might get addressed? The lack of current gps tracks is a problem when trying to update roads to take into account new construction.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6879
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 435 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]