GPS layer not updating evidence

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby CBenson » Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:51 pm

Thanks for the information.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6866
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 981 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby CBenson » Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:58 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Not sure what the "waze's tweet" you are referring to

I'm assuming the tweet linked to in Timbones post.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6866
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 981 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby CBenson » Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:26 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The next version of Papyrus, release tbd, should have an updated gps points layer.

Do you guys have any idea when this will be now?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6866
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 981 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby CBenson » Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:50 pm

So is the GPS layer updating in the new release of the editor? The new release certainly shows more recent tracks than I could see before the update, but the tracks don't seem current to date. For instance the northbound bridge here was openned on Dec. 18, 2011 and the southbound bridge on Jan. 8, 2012, yet there are no GPS tracks for the new bridges. Do we expect this to improve in the new release of the editor?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6866
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 981 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby CBenson » Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:39 am

Another question would be - when will it be updated again?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6866
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 981 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby CBenson » Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:18 pm

gettingthere wrote:Since the editor is now released it should be safe to assume that the GPS layer is no longer experimental and is now fully functional.

:lol:
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6866
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 430 times
Been thanked: 981 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby Dave2084 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:05 pm

The A46 junctions with the A6097 and A52 opened to traffic along a new route on 25 November, three weeks later there are still no tracks. The road has been on the live map for about 10 days.

https://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=5&lat=52.96814&lon=-0.96176&layers=BTFFTTTTTTTTTFTTTTT

The new road is a major highway labelled A46 (N) and A46 (S), whereas the old route (which has GPS traces) is now a street and is named Fosse Way (which is an old Roman road if you are interested!)

The few traces that are there were there before the road opened as one of the construction crew seems to be a Wazer (handy for placing the road path before it opens!)
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 7.1.0 • Waze 3.7.9.922 Beta
Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester • iPhone Expert
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby Dave2084 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:42 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:they are on an aggressive timeline to remove Cartouche from availability, even still missing some features. At the Palo Alto meetup, we let them know the essential features we think still need to get into Papyrus (rename coming) before Cartouche is no longer available. I would love to give you the short list right now, but it's not in my notes.


Yikes! :shock:

Going off topic a little ....

There are so many obscure things that I revert to cartouche for!

Some that spring to mind:
1. Removal of stray nodes inside roundabouts that cause the notorious double roundabout error in the client (I wish you could still see them but at least you can select them in cartouche, there's no way of doing this in papyrus). The UK has so many roundabouts it's a significant issue here.
2. The UK country boundary is wrong in may of the UK's coastal areas, so even as a country manager I can't edit these roads in papyrus, strangely I can in cartouche. UK Forum Thread
3. Random roads that you can't edit in papyrus, until first you've edited them in cartouche.

And of course:
4. Update Requests.
5. Finding area managers.
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 7.1.0 • Waze 3.7.9.922 Beta
Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester • iPhone Expert
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby Dave2084 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:03 pm

Dave2084 wrote:The A46 junctions with the A6097 and A52 opened to traffic along a new route on 25 November, three weeks later there are still no tracks. The road has been on the live map for about 10 days.

https://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=5&lat=52.96814&lon=-0.96176&layers=BTFFTTTTTTTTTFTTTTT

The new road is a major highway labelled A46 (N) and A46 (S), whereas the old route (which has GPS traces) is now a street and is named Fosse Way (which is an old Roman road if you are interested!)

The few traces that are there were there before the road opened as one of the construction crew seems to be a Wazer (handy for placing the road path before it opens!)


There's still no new traces here even in the new editor.
iPhone 4S 32GB (Jailed) • iOS 7.1.0 • Waze 3.7.9.922 Beta
Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester • iPhone Expert
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: GPS layer not updating evidence

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:33 am

I've noticed the GPS layer updated with the new map editor. The question is to what date.
Image
Area manager: SWFL (Ft. Myers, North Fort Myers, Cape Coral, North Naples)
Waze 3.5 | LG Motion 4G | Android 4.0.4
douglasr007
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users