Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby PhantomBlack » Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:43 pm

gettingthere wrote:Actually you may have touched on the #1 thing that people are using Cartouche for - getting around the editor rank security model in WME.

Or maybe what I forgot to mention in my earlier post the reverse connectivity bug. That bug must be squashed before the fly swatter is taken away.
Wisconsin-based US Country Manager
PhantomBlack
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 9:17 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby R4CLucky14 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:23 pm

The ability to edit alternative names. This is a biggie for me. If alternative names are to produce shields, then WME needs to be able edit alternative names. I've came across roads that have 3+ local names plus 3 highway numbers. I should be able to put all of these there on the new editor, while still generating a shield.
Tennessee Editors, paritipate in our Wikipage

Area Manager: Southeast Tennessee, USA. Includes Athens, Benton, Cleveland, Englewood, Greenback, Maryville, Madisonville, and surrounding areas.
Phone: HTC Thunderbolt, Verizon, Android 2.3.4.
R4CLucky14
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby R4CLucky14 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:36 pm

Timbones wrote:The country borders need to be corrected so that country editors can edit the whole country. At the moment, Cartouche is still needed when editing junctions that are considered outside the country. Oddly, this doesn't affect the editing of road properties.


That should be fixed using a layers system IMHO. I read this somewhere else, but cities, states, and countries should be mapped via layers. Remove those properties from road segments. Instead, allow editors to move city limits, state limits, and country limits.

Sorry, that was off topic.

But I believe it's inefficient for each segment to have a location defined by an editor, when a bunch of segments could easily be defined just by moving city limits around . . .

That's my personal opinion. It would also remove the need for junctions between cities.

Then Waze could also add edit rights by these layers.
Tennessee Editors, paritipate in our Wikipage

Area Manager: Southeast Tennessee, USA. Includes Athens, Benton, Cleveland, Englewood, Greenback, Maryville, Madisonville, and surrounding areas.
Phone: HTC Thunderbolt, Verizon, Android 2.3.4.
R4CLucky14
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby R4CLucky14 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:59 pm

Timbones wrote:
gettingthere wrote:Although you can't identify where you have reverse connectivity issues in WME since you can't see the turns that are incorrectly allowed since those arrows are hidden in WME.

Alternative method is to change the segments to 2-way, and check the turns, then set them back again. :)

Or Waze could fix it . . . Seriously, is it really that hard? Or just make a one-way penalty much higher...I'm willing to say this is high up there to me, but not required. Close, but no cigar. . .
Last edited by R4CLucky14 on Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tennessee Editors, paritipate in our Wikipage

Area Manager: Southeast Tennessee, USA. Includes Athens, Benton, Cleveland, Englewood, Greenback, Maryville, Madisonville, and surrounding areas.
Phone: HTC Thunderbolt, Verizon, Android 2.3.4.
R4CLucky14
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby svx-biker » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:38 pm

The removal of the separating line in primary streets.

Either remove it from the entire DB or have the flag in WME so we can remove it when a street is changed.
svx-biker
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:43 am
Location: Germany, Austria and Switzerland (DACH)
Has thanked: 267 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby svx-biker » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:09 am

gerben wrote:Sort options are new, but the list function needs to be ported! And while they are programming it, please let them program a list for automatic problems as wel...


+1

Without a list it's almost impossible to keep track of all URs coming in. In Cartouche I had finished almost all URs by going just through the list which took me from on end of my areas to another.

With WME I have to scroll over and over which is not practical if you have a larger area (or areas). The bad thing for project than is that answers tend to take much longer and the reporter looses confidence.
svx-biker
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:43 am
Location: Germany, Austria and Switzerland (DACH)
Has thanked: 267 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby Timbones » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:32 pm

The country borders need to be corrected so that country editors can edit the whole country. At the moment, Cartouche is still needed when editing junctions that are considered outside the country. Oddly, this doesn't affect the editing of road properties.
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3682
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 626 times

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby Timbones » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:25 pm

PhantomBlack wrote:Or maybe what I forgot to mention in my earlier post the reverse connectivity bug. That bug must be squashed before the fly swatter is taken away.

The 'reverse connectivity' bug can fixed without Cartouche though, right?
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3682
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 626 times

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby Timbones » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:51 pm

gettingthere wrote:Although you can't identify where you have reverse connectivity issues in WME since you can't see the turns that are incorrectly allowed since those arrows are hidden in WME.

Alternative method is to change the segments to 2-way, and check the turns, then set them back again. :)
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3682
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 626 times

Re: Required in Waze Map Editor in order to retire Cartouche

Postby vectorspace » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:13 pm

I really liked the list of problem reports in Cartouche. It was a good way to review and organize the problems. Clicking on "show" brought you to that problem instantly. I don't see that in WME, which is difficult because if you have a significantly large area, you cannot see all the problem icons without scrolling the view, something that is time consuming. Would like to see this feature in WME.
vectorspace
iPad Air, iPhone 5s, Nexus 7
Image
Edit Well * Participate in Forums * Be an Area Manager * Mentor
vectorspace
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 674
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 207 times

Previous

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: elektronAu