Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby vdub213 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:45 am

gettingthere wrote:Cameras are added in the client application and confirmed in the Waze Map Editor.


Ok. I was just checking to make sure there isn't a way to add on from my editor. I will just have to mark it next time I'm in the area. Thanks!
.:Vdub213:. Area Manager- Midwest Ohio
https://www.facebook.com/brh213
Win7 + Chrome
Huawei M885 + Android 2.3.6
Waze: 3.0.2.8

Image
vdub213
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: A City founded on April 1, 1796 in the 17th State
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby vdub213 » Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:55 pm

Is there a way to add a red light of speed camera to the map in editing mode? Or can you only do so by marking it on my mobile app?
.:Vdub213:. Area Manager- Midwest Ohio
https://www.facebook.com/brh213
Win7 + Chrome
Huawei M885 + Android 2.3.6
Waze: 3.0.2.8

Image
vdub213
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: A City founded on April 1, 1796 in the 17th State
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby TheRookie » Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:11 am

I have only marked the RED light camera's on the WAZE application on my phone and that's it. I can't seem to find a procedure or write up on how to add it to a map using a map editor... Can you help?
TheRookie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby TheRookie » Mon Sep 03, 2012 4:55 am

I've marked it on the map on 3 different occasions.. So why isn't it marked on the map by now???
TheRookie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby TCHappy8 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:32 pm

DallasGrant wrote:
rotus8 wrote:I personally think the warning system for these cameras are annoying as it will warn you every time you pass by the road and reporting that it is not there will not stop the warning until the next update (3-8 weeks on average).


You are correct. It does take a few weeks. The trick here is, update the road segment somehow that the camera is on. Maybe you cannot change anything because it's all correct, Edit the Road segment and then change your setting back and save. This will trigger Waze to hit the segment and remove the camera in a day or two.
TCHappy8
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby taco909 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:50 pm

nzahn1 wrote:Yeah, if the camera is mobile/relocatable then its best reported as a police speed trap.

Except those only hang around for a couple of hours.
We would need something in between, like the logic of potholes that stick for 72-96 hours.
Perhaps a police trap that sticks until it is flagged "not there"?
-- Rich
ImageImageImage
taco909
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:05 am
Location: Los Angeles Area
Has thanked: 716 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby taco909 » Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:23 pm

+1

Just because the strobe fires does not mean a ticket is issued.
We have radar speed signs that will flash a strobe if the driver is more than 10 over, but it is only an attention-grabber and scare tactic. Speed cameras are illegal in California.
-- Rich
ImageImageImage
taco909
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:05 am
Location: Los Angeles Area
Has thanked: 716 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby taco909 » Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:52 am

DallasGrant wrote:That is the same way in Minnesota. We have cameras at most stop lights in cities, but these are not red light (take pictures of people going through red lights) cameras, these are only for gathering evidence of an accident or a crime.

Likely not even that.
Los Angeles and Caltrans do not even record.
My city records, but we only store for a few weeks. It can be helpful to resolve accidents in some cases, but not always. Our cameras are either for vehicle detection (replacement for the in-ground loop detectors) or simply for traffic observation to assist in improving timing plans.
-- Rich
ImageImageImage
taco909
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:05 am
Location: Los Angeles Area
Has thanked: 716 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby taco909 » Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:48 am

kudu12323 wrote:
DallasGrant wrote:The good thing about reporting cameras in the Waze app is that an editor then has to approve them now before they show up on the map itself.


And thank goodness for that. I find dozens a day in the Houston area by almost always level 1's who many times set up several of them as they go down the street. I have seen instances of them setting up a speed, red light and dummy at the same location simultaneously.

Texas does not allow speed cameras anyplace in the state and Houston (and other cities) don't allow red light cameras either. The Texas wiki is very clear on this but I guess these new guys push buttons and ask questions later.

Most of these are not even from editors, and have no idea what happens after they hit "report"
If I'm not mistaken, the usa_xxxxx users are the default assigned to Facebook imports.
-- Rich
ImageImageImage
taco909
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:05 am
Location: Los Angeles Area
Has thanked: 716 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Add Speed and Red Light Camera?

Postby rotus8 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:43 pm

DallasGrant wrote:I personally think the warning system for these cameras are annoying as it will warn you every time you pass by the road and reporting that it is not there will not stop the warning until the next update (3-8 weeks on average).


I don't think reporting "not there" does anything at all...
rotus8
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:01 am
Location: La Honda, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], hiferns, jm6087