Routing off/on highway instead of staying on

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Routing off/on highway instead of staying on

Postby gettingthere » Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:43 pm

AggieJM wrote:Based on the feedback, it sounds like this is something that may need to be refined in the route calculation logic, but we can use the restricted turn as a solution for now.


Exactly. It's a proven workaround.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: Routing off/on highway instead of staying on

Postby invented » Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:51 pm

Add a turn restriction to disallow the 'straight ahead' movement here:

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... s=63628152

And here:

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lat ... s=50209292

While you're at it, the street underneath appears to have no name.
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Routing off/on highway instead of staying on

Postby invented » Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:26 pm

AggieJM wrote:Thanks guys!

Are those turn restrictions something that are required to make it work properly? Or should it not route off of the road that way by default. Obviously it's not a truly restricted turn, but I can see how adding the turn restriction will solve the problem.


I noticed that the entire stretch of that freeway has all turns allowed at the ramps, so this is bound to happen if Waze's routing algorithm determines it is marginally better to exit and enter back via the ramps. Adding a turn restriction at the ramp will add a strong penalty to using that route and more favour the mainline freeway.

Also, any particular reason you're using Major Highway there and Freeway to the east?
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Routing off/on highway instead of staying on

Postby invented » Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:20 pm

I'm kind of stumped as to why it's routing people on the ramps. Cartouche says the freeway has an average speed of 113 km/h, the ramp segments are all lower than that, and the ramp segments together are longer than the freeway adjacent. So it must have been some heavy traffic.
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Routing off/on highway instead of staying on

Postby Mike-1323 » Tue Jun 05, 2012 4:08 pm

AggieJM wrote:I wouldn't expect it to use the ramps since the additional junction and slower speeds should make the highway the preferred choice.


The junction should add a penalty, but the speed on the ramp segments is probably pretty close to the main travel lanes since poor gps location will actually place some wazers on the ramp when they're traveling at full speed in the main lanes. Plus, I'm not convinces that traveling straight through a junction adds much of a penalty. :?

Image Image
AM - Northern Virginia - Fairfax/Ft. Belvoir
CM - USA
Android 2.2.1, LG Optimus V
Mike-1323
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: Lorton, Va
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 139 times

Re: Routing off/on highway instead of staying on

Postby Spil » Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:39 am

invented wrote:I'm kind of stumped as to why it's routing people on the ramps. Cartouche says the freeway has an average speed of 113 km/h, the ramp segments are all lower than that, and the ramp segments together are longer than the freeway adjacent. So it must have been some heavy traffic.

WYSINWYG. ;) The speed data that shows in Cartouche is not what is used by Waze routing; the actual speed data that is used in its calculations is much more complicated, based on the segment's average speed at that time of that day of the week.
I'm Spil, and I approve this message! :D
~ ~ AM: Upstate NY; CM: USA/Canada ~ ~
Wazing the I-86 Corridor with my Casio C771 G'zOne Commando
New York Editors: To-Do List!
Image
Spil
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:11 pm
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Previous

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: skidoomxz01