Adding new gas stations - manual

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby sk2380 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:48 pm

Unholy wrote:Hi guys,

We added a new wiki article on how to edit new gas stations to Waze's maps.
Thank you Ron Jackson!

Here's the link- http://tinyurl.com/addWazegas




Ori


Hi,
Many Thanks Ori for the link. As you must be knowing that in India Gas Station Feature is still to be activated, this link will help other Users a lot.

Thanks once Again.
Image Image
CM FOR Image
Social Media Expert-iPhone Expert-Translator(Hindi)
iphone 5 iOS 6.1.2 Waze : 3.6
sk2380
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:41 pm
Location: India
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby tchescat » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:47 pm

Just used to add a station; very helpful! Thank you!
tchescat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 4:11 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby techboi84 » Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:49 pm

Should I add entry and exit points to the gas station from the main road(s)? If so, is it private road or parking lot road? Thanks! :)
iPhone5 - Bell - iOS 7.0.4 | Waze v3.7.7
GTHA (Greater Toronto/Hamilton Area)
techboi84
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:34 am
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby techboi84 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 3:14 am

mapcat wrote:
techboi84 wrote:Should I add entry and exit points to the gas station from the main road(s)? If so, is it private road or parking lot road? Thanks! :)

If it's far away from the nearest road, and navigating in or out might be confusing, then yes, with some parking lot roads. Otherwise, why?


Reason why I do it, people find entry points, and some station exits don't allow certain turns, so it's helpful to users. If it's in a rural area, I don't bother though for obvious reasons.
iPhone5 - Bell - iOS 7.0.4 | Waze v3.7.7
GTHA (Greater Toronto/Hamilton Area)
techboi84
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:34 am
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby Timbones » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:46 am

There's a bug in Waze's system, whereby deleted gas stations don't get removed from the list of results in the client.

PS: dovos was talking about duplicate brands in the editor.
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3674
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 625 times

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby Timbones » Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:21 am

wine4sure wrote:There's a UR for a duplicate petrol station that's been puzzling me for a couple of days. This is for a petrol station I added manually ages ago. So, now I'm guessing that the automatic thingy has also added this petrol station, but that it is very tiny, and in the middle of a field somewhere. How on earth do I find it so I can delete it and close the UR? I've looked and looked.

The automatically imported gas station would have been in that same place, and has probably been deleted already. I think there's a bug in the system such that when a landmark is deleted, the gas station is not removed from the list. I have failed to convince Waze that this is happening. (You could try reporting this to them yourself, but you can expect a very frustrating conversation.)

Ori: please check Support Ticket [#466FE2DCF-429DFA]
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3674
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 625 times

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby Timbones » Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:48 am

wine4sure wrote:Well the point of my other example was that the automatically imported one was in the middle of a field some distance away, and not in the right place at all.

The accuracy of the imported data varied wildly between data sources. This particular gas station was spot on. If it was a significant distance away (say more that 0.1 of a mile), then it wouldn't have appeared in the client as a duplicate.
Timbones(6) • UK Country Admin & Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Beta Editor and Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour Highlights v1.8 (Feb 2014)WME Route Tester
Timbones
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3674
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 181 times
Been thanked: 625 times

Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby Unholy » Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:55 pm

Hi guys,

We added a new wiki article on how to edit new gas stations to Waze's maps.
Thank you Ron Jackson!

Here's the link- http://tinyurl.com/addWazegas




Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:14 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby Unholy » Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:39 am

dovos wrote:Hello!
How I can remove the identical and duplicated names of gas station in Russia, in Papyrus?



Hi,

Can you please give me an example?
Where do you see identical and duplicated gas stations?


Thanks,

Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:14 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Adding new gas stations - manual

Postby Unholy » Mon Aug 20, 2012 1:33 pm

dovos wrote:Up.
How to remove duplicates? Where to write about this problem? There passed week, and the answer and isn't present



Hi,

We will fix these duplicates.
Thank you for letting us know.


Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:14 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]