[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby bgodette » Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:24 pm

Mike-1323 wrote:
bgodette wrote:RevCon is a connection into the wrong way of a one-way street, these were created all the time back when WME was called Papyrus, and can still be created by starting with a two-way segment and allowing turns into it, then changing it to one-way.

Then how can I get a RevCon error at a junction when the junction is at the 'entrance' end of a one-way street?
Depending on how Tim implemented it he may be showing SelfCon on a one-way segment as RevCon.

Mike-1323 wrote:And shouldn't qw'ing fix RevCon? The junction doesn't have to be exploded and rebuilt does it?
'qw'ing fixes RevCon because there's a legal turns vs road direction check on 'w'. 'qw'ing doesn't fix SelfCon because the 'q' function currently only looks at connections to other segments and ignores connections back to the same segment.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby bgodette » Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:31 pm

shawndoc wrote:Just thinking out of the box.... Does this mean we can intentionally create u-turns with non-split roads, where u-turns are allowed?
Yes, but we'd need WME support for it, and more importantly client support for it, to be clean. It can be done in a script with a side-car with check boxes for each possible u-turn.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Re: Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmark

Postby bgodette » Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:32 pm

Timbones wrote:
Mike-1323 wrote:
Timbones wrote:PS: the colour key, only appears when a node is selected.


That's what I said. :D

I know. I'm saying that it's supposed to be like that.

BTW, I should really credit bgodette for this feature, as it's his excellent code that I used in this version :)
I think you're right in having implemented it this way however. The visual overload of what I did is demoralizing in some areas.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby bgodette » Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:48 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Waze is still looking at 3-month+ old GPS tracks for the map problem detection, which has been reported to Waze for over a year and they haven't done anything about it.
Try 12 month+ old GPS tracks, this area pops MPs whenever they rerun it because it looked like gmap's aerials a little over a year ago.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks -

Postby bgodette » Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:30 am

razor2k wrote:Is this from lack of data on segment, a bug or something else?
#3, something else. Some segment attributes are invalid after saving if the segment has been modified. Permalinking clears that up, panning or zooming may as well.


It's all my phone's fault for using Tapatalk.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.

Postby bgodette » Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:30 pm

Wajo357 wrote:
skbun wrote:
Wajo357 wrote:I'm loving the script. I'm still getting used to it. Thank you!.

Quick question: I always assumed that Waze stored road speed based on time of day and road speed to go straight or make a turn (based on the navigation routes I would get). However, when I select a segment, it just shows the average speed for that segment. So is this information telling me I was wrong with my assumption?


I think this might be a useful read for you:

http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/How_ ... tes_routes

Meantime...'average' A-B and B-A speeds is an easily pulled data chunk from a segment, so Tim said 'Sure, let's put it in'. Real time data and 'Time of day data' is not, so far as I know.


Yeah... I saw that wiki article, which is where I got my knowledge from. So it seems like I am correct and this data is just a total average.

Our best guess as to what it exactly is, is that it is an average of all the timeslots. It does change over time as drives across segments are processed, but is a synthetic attribute that we cannot change with the editor.

It's useful inferring data pollution, potentially wrongly set one ways, etc.

It's all my phone's fault for using Tapatalk.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby BlazeTool » Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:35 pm

rottielover wrote:I didn't see any video's on youtube about how to fix U-Turn and RevCon nodes (using the highlight script to find them).

I tried my hand at creating one : http://youtu.be/IFNXGQjA4kc

I had some trouble with the volume. Let me know what you think.


Only criticism is that you should tell users to check existing turn restrictions before doing a QW or disconnect/reconnect. You mention double checking when you are finished, but they might not know what restrictions they need to put back in without checking existing restrictions before modifying.
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Script to add Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.3

Postby bz2012 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:00 pm

Timbones wrote:Thing is, do levels actually have any purpose?

I believe they DO have a purpose, at least for the program that WAZE uses to generate 'Problem Reports'.

If two segments, on the same level, overlap or cross, WAZE seems to puts a 'Problem Report BALLOON' on the spot that shows up in WME to indicate a missing intersection, or roads close but not touching.

I find multiple-levels quite useful in complicated intersections, to allow proper depictions of the 'only' lanes without having them connecting to other, crossing lanes, to which the traffic in that lane can never route.

Of course, unnecessary levels can be frustrating when trying to connect two segment. If they won't connect, make sure that they are on the same level!

They might be used for rendering overlapping roads in the client, but they don't influence routing. When there's a fat purple line on top of the map, the levels aren't visible anyway.

No purpose to the routing engine or the client software, but I think important to those of us editing the maps.
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby bz2012 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:45 pm

Love the script.
Wish it would remember settings from one invocation to the next. (refresh clears everything except 'turn warnings for selected nodes'.)

I think it used to do so but is not doing that now.

Perhaps there is some special incantation that I have forgotten?
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby bz2012 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:33 pm

Measles seems to have disappeared. The revcon/softcon/u-con colored nodes are missing.

Disregard. Seems to be back after I disabled all extension and then re-enabled them.
:(
bz2012
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 78 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Ralphius