[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby Timbones » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:04 am

Timbones wrote:
foxitrot wrote:I'm getting the "Filter by city" populated with "No City", "Bratislava" and also "Mikovíniho 1, Bratislava" (with =0 occurences).

The list of cities includes all the cities that Waze knows about in that area, even if there are no segments assigned to them. This can happen when a city has been removed, but Waze haven't updated their city layer yet.

I've put in a minor tweak to only show cities that are actually being used on streets: Beta v1.5.6
Might give unexpected results if zoomed out. Please provide feedback...
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 918 times
Been thanked: 2502 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby bz2012 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:45 pm

Love the script.
Wish it would remember settings from one invocation to the next. (refresh clears everything except 'turn warnings for selected nodes'.)

I think it used to do so but is not doing that now.

Perhaps there is some special incantation that I have forgotten?
State Manager, Louisiana
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1421
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 957 times
Been thanked: 259 times

Re: Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5

Postby Kuhlkatz » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:55 pm

bz2012 wrote:Perhaps there is some special incantation that I have forgotten?


As mentioned earlier, it's due to a WME bug, not related to the highlight script. Maybe Tim can change the script to immediately update/save each setting as it is toggled.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using Tapatalk 2
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 5.0.2, v7.19.401.51)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5

Postby Timbones » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:27 pm

Timbones wrote:I've put in a minor tweak to only show cities that are actually being used on streets: Beta v1.5.6
Might give unexpected results if zoomed out. Please provide feedback...

Anyone tried this yet? Any cities appearing in the list that shouldn't, or vica versa? Hoping to push this to a public release soon...

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 918 times
Been thanked: 2502 times

Re: Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5

Postby skbun » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:50 pm

Timbones wrote:
Timbones wrote:I've put in a minor tweak to only show cities that are actually being used on streets: Beta v1.5.6
Might give unexpected results if zoomed out. Please provide feedback...

Anyone tried this yet? Any cities appearing in the list that shouldn't, or vica versa? Hoping to push this to a public release soon...

via mobile


Slightly unrelated note, but I do wonder how much of a pain in the butt this would be...do you suppose, if the landmarks layer is visible, that we can add in the 'highlight landmarks' that stuff with a given city gets yellow, or striped, bold border, or...something? Since this is already clearly becoming a pain and many editors don't realize landmarks influence the dropdowns if that layer is on.

I'm guessing that that code would only have to run if 'highlight landmarks' is checked, AND a city is checked. I don't know as much about that section of code to know if it's viable, though.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby skbun » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:57 pm

As to the 'show only...' cities part, it looks like it's working. It's possible to select lower class segments here and there at zoom level 3 (even though highlighter won't list them or their cities), but that's just because of how WME renders streets. You can just tell people this:

'No cities will be scanned for at zoom 0 or 1.'
'Freeways and highways will have their cities checked at zoom 2 and 3.'
'All segments in view will have their cities shown at zoom 4 and above.'
'Landmarks are not checked for their city regardless of zoom level'.

But I don't seem to be able to crash it by zooming in and out, anyway.
Image

AM in SW Shasta, NW Tehama, Central Trinity Counties, CA; Mt Rainier Nat'l Park, WA
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:38 pm

Timbones wrote:
Timbones wrote:I've put in a minor tweak to only show cities that are actually being used on streets: Beta v1.5.6
Might give unexpected results if zoomed out. Please provide feedback...

Anyone tried this yet? Any cities appearing in the list that shouldn't, or vica versa? Hoping to push this to a public release soon...

Crap, I missed this version. Installing...
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby Timbones » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:55 am

Beta time, again. Here's Color Highlights v1.5.7:

  • Highlight landmarks when a specific city is selected
  • Fixed saving of options when leaving the editor
Tested in Chrome and Firefox - seems to work...

:ugeek:
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6585
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 918 times
Been thanked: 2502 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby iainhouse » Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:54 am

Fixed saving of options when leaving the editor


Fantastic! :D It's been so annoying having to remember to turn "un-terminated" back on after every refresh.


Highlight landmarks when a specific city is selected


The highlighting seems to be "sticky": if I turn on city highlighting, the landmarks don't highlight until I mouseover them. Similarly, if I turn the highlighting off, I have to mouseover again to un-highlight the landmark.

Zooming in doesn't make the highlights change. Panning a short distance away and back again (1 screen horizontally) doesn't change it, but panning 2 screens away and then back does work.
UK Country Administrator
AM: London (DELETED)
Waze 3.7.3 • iPhone 4S (iOS 6.1.3) • Chrome/W7x64
ImageImageImage
UK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 6969
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity
Has thanked: 1138 times
Been thanked: 3904 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov

Postby svx-biker » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:23 pm

Any reason a Level(1) Editor should not see unterminated roads and node problems?

We have quite some new editors that don't put end nodes initially and when I show them the Highlight Script they dont see unterminated roads and Node Problems.
svx-biker
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2707
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:43 am
Location: Germany, Austria and Switzerland (DACH)
Has thanked: 472 times
Been thanked: 422 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BahaaBaderMeow, Bing [Bot], FLHappy52, krizecek