Post Reply

New Editor Version v2.43-40

Post by delilush
Hi Everyone,

A new WME version is out. Here are the highlights:

* Housenumber layer - ENABLED

*Failure to create MTE (city can't be added) - FIXED
*Unable to uncheck city "None" when adding alternative name - FIXED
*Cannot Select Segments under Area Map Comment - FIXED
*Need to temporary remove virtual node to join segments - FIXED
* Change list also includes many bug fixes that were caught in beta ad never made it to production, so we don't include them here.
* Update translations
* Internal changes

More about the HN layer
From now on you can enable the House Number layer from the side panel:
Screen Shot 2019-11-03 at 2.32.20 PM.png
(1.44 MiB) Downloaded 701 times
Once enabled the HN will be visible on the map, and by clicking on the pencil icon the house number edit mode will be accessed.
Screen Shot 2019-11-03 at 2.32.31 PM.png
(1.44 MiB) Downloaded 695 times
At the same time you will still be able to select a segment and "Edit house numbers" as you did till today.

Happy Editing!
delilush
Waze Team
Waze Team
Posts: 1079
Been thanked: 1803 times

Post by iainhouse
delilush wrote:* Internal changes
Translation: A kick in the teeth for most of the script editors, with many scripts broken. Therefore also a kick in the teeth for the thousands of experienced editors who rely on those scripts.

[EDIT] This was unfair and rude of me. I have posted an apology further down this topic.

I will have more to say on this subject later, but first I have to fix my own script. :x
iainhouse
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
Posts: 11144
Answers: 1
Has thanked: 2185 times
Been thanked: 8160 times
https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... c4/AGC.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/s2000.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/c6.png
My scripts: WME FixUI WME Presets :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season

Post by jm6087
voludu2 wrote:In that image above, In "Via Merulana St. 209"
What does "St." stand for?

The road name there is "Via Merulana"

I see the same thing on segment after segment - For example "E 141st St St. 321".

What is the extra "St." for?
It appears to be irrelevant information. It is just adding St. to the end of every segment name. It really should be removed.
jm6087  
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
Posts: 6267
Answers: 4
Has thanked: 650 times
Been thanked: 2015 times
Thanks,
John
US Global Champ
SCR Wiki
https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... writer.png
[
https://i.ibb.co/ZNbYyt5/RIPIain.png R.I.P. Iainhouse - Oct 21st 2021

Post by iainhouse
There appears to be another change in this version that isn't documented in the release notes.

Segments with closures on them highlight in orange when hovered over or selected. Not a bad idea, except that the colour is very similar to the colour of a segment that has been edited but not yet saved.

So thank you Waze, once again, for introducing a useful feature that is devalued by a stupidly poor contrast level. Is there some internal requirement that all WME Devs should have 20/20 vision, with no form of colour blindness and are only allowed to work in perfect lighting conditions with minimum 28" FHD monitors? :evil:
iainhouse
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
Posts: 11144
Answers: 1
Has thanked: 2185 times
Been thanked: 8160 times
https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... c4/AGC.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/s2000.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/c6.png
My scripts: WME FixUI WME Presets :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season

Post by iainhouse
russblau wrote:
iainhouse wrote:Is there some internal requirement that all WME Devs should have 20/20 vision, with no form of colour blindness and are only allowed to work in perfect lighting conditions with minimum 28" FHD monitors? :evil:
Didn't you have to pass the physical when you signed up, Iain? :lol:
Sure - but 7 years of using WME has not been kind to my eyesight, never mind the lack of physical exercise. :lol:
iainhouse
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
Posts: 11144
Answers: 1
Has thanked: 2185 times
Been thanked: 8160 times
https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... c4/AGC.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/s2000.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/c6.png
My scripts: WME FixUI WME Presets :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season

Post by delilush
Hi Everyone,
iainhouse wrote:There appears to be another change in this version that isn't documented in the release notes.

Segments with closures on them highlight in orange when hovered over or selected. Not a bad idea, except that the colour is very similar to the colour of a segment that has been edited but not yet saved.

So thank you Waze, once again, for introducing a useful feature that is devalued by a stupidly poor contrast level. Is there some internal requirement that all WME Devs should have 20/20 vision, with no form of colour blindness and are only allowed to work in perfect lighting conditions with minimum 28" FHD monitors? :evil:
Will forward this feedback to the team to find a more distinctive colour for this.
iainhouse wrote:
delilush wrote:* Internal changes
Translation: A kick in the teeth for most of the script editors, with many scripts broken. Therefore also a kick in the teeth for the thousands of experienced editors who rely on those scripts.

I will have more to say on this subject later, but first I have to fix my own script. :x
I've updated in Scripters Hall (closed forum) with more details about this. There were some script breakers in the lastest beta versions that were fixed before releasing to production. We're happy to work with the developers to continue finding solutions for this.

Best,
Daliah
delilush
Waze Team
Waze Team
Posts: 1079
Been thanked: 1803 times

Post by iainhouse
I was very unfair earlier. I've modified my original post and I apologise for it here. Between some frustrations with Waze and with Real Life, and some other stuff I'm dealing with, I definitely allowed my mouth to pull away without first engaging my brain.

Yes, this update has broken many of the scripts and I felt that Waze could have done more to alleviate the situation. But the fact is that the script writers were told of the major internal change. For myself, at least, I didn't notice at the time and I haven't had the time to check out the problems, so it's entirely down to my own laziness.

In fact, I think that we could probably have done more to communicate to Waze that this update was going to have a major effect on the scripts and maybe something could have been done about that.

As Daliah said above, she has posted more information in Scripters Hall - including information she gave me at the Global Meetup that I was hoping would be spread a bit wider. I think we will probably be having some discussions there about how we can better manage how WME updates interact with the scripts. Given that HQ is willing to work with us on scripts, I shouldn't be complaining unless I do my part to maintain the relationship.

Maybe I have a problem with this time of year: it's almost exactly 3 years since I had a little rant. I probably need to lower my blood pressure again. :)
iainhouse
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
Posts: 11144
Answers: 1
Has thanked: 2185 times
Been thanked: 8160 times
https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... c4/AGC.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/s2000.pnghttps://sign.waze.tools/c6.png
My scripts: WME FixUI WME Presets :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season

Post by jm6087
That has been reported and IIRC, staff said it is WAD.

The workaround is to hit the esc button instead of tabbing off or hitting apply.


Edit:

Found the thread (Beta viewing only)
jm6087  
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
Posts: 6267
Answers: 4
Has thanked: 650 times
Been thanked: 2015 times
Thanks,
John
US Global Champ
SCR Wiki
https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... writer.png
[
https://i.ibb.co/ZNbYyt5/RIPIain.png R.I.P. Iainhouse - Oct 21st 2021

Post by delilush
iainhouse wrote:I was very unfair earlier. I've modified my original post and I apologise for it here. Between some frustrations with Waze and with Real Life, and some other stuff I'm dealing with, I definitely allowed my mouth to pull away without first engaging my brain.

Yes, this update has broken many of the scripts and I felt that Waze could have done more to alleviate the situation. But the fact is that the script writers were told of the major internal change. For myself, at least, I didn't notice at the time and I haven't had the time to check out the problems, so it's entirely down to my own laziness.

In fact, I think that we could probably have done more to communicate to Waze that this update was going to have a major effect on the scripts and maybe something could have been done about that.

As Daliah said above, she has posted more information in Scripters Hall - including information she gave me at the Global Meetup that I was hoping would be spread a bit wider. I think we will probably be having some discussions there about how we can better manage how WME updates interact with the scripts. Given that HQ is willing to work with us on scripts, I shouldn't be complaining unless I do my part to maintain the relationship.

Maybe I have a problem with this time of year: it's almost exactly 3 years since I had a little rant. I probably need to lower my blood pressure again. :)
Thank you Iain! I'm glad we're talking about this stuff. I think by letting each other know how things work and what hurts and where, there is often so many things we figure out we can be doing better together.
delilush
Waze Team
Waze Team
Posts: 1079
Been thanked: 1803 times

Post by G_W1Z
Thank you so much for fixing the non-existent streetid bug!
G_W1Z
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
Posts: 643
Has thanked: 1373 times
Been thanked: 191 times
G_W1Z
USA | NOR & NER | Pennsylvania LAM & Maine AM
A phoenix out of the ashes...together building a more perfect map.
» Waze Etiquette | Lanes | Places | Shields | JSG | Glossary «
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3o2pi4wjn6w1s ... .jpg?raw=1