Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Re: Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official

Postby xtago » Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:45 am

mike-bronner wrote:
xtago wrote:If you select a segment and it is connected to a junction point then you'll see red or green arrows, if you don't get the arrows then the segment isn't connected to a junction point.


Hi xtago,

I don't think you're understanding the point wine4sure was getting at: unterminated segments. These are most often dead-end streets that don't have a termination junction at the end, caused most often by inexperienced editors (I've done it in the past, until I found out, as well). The junction needs to be at the end so the client can handle navigation properly, if I understand it correctly.

~Mike


I see.

The dead end roads I've done haven't needed a junction at the dead end and still worked with navigation, you will need the dead end as a 2 way street.

The street numbering will allow for a better navigation end point as it'll have a better referance point to use along the segment.

though, if you did want a Junction on the dead end, you would just lay a very small brand new road from or to the dead end side not connected to anything else.

which makes a new junction at the dead end then delete the new road segment and the junction will stay on the dead end side.

Then save the edits made and all done.

Very quick and simple to do.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feed

Postby xtago » Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:41 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
xtago wrote:Click on the street if you get no turn arrows then it probably isn't connected and needs to be checked

Please please please stop answering questions with an answer which isn't remotely related to the actual question. You keep pulling answers out of thin air, giving bad and incorrect answers to users, or just completely miss the actual point of the question. You have been warned many times.


If you select a segment and it is connected to a junction point then you'll see red or green arrows, if you don't get the arrows then the segment isn't connected to a junction point.

This is explained in the wme video on waze youtube channel.


Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:25 pm

wine4sure wrote:Forgive me if this is already covered in the 19 pages of messages, but is there any way that I've missed to tell if a road ends in a node once it's been selected?

Previously you would get a different shape at the end. Now it looks to me like you get the same size circle at each end. Am I missing something?

You can't always tell by the blue dot because sometimes the street name obscures it. And anyway I would like to know once the road is actually selected.


Click on the street if you get no turn arrows then it probably isn't connected and needs to be checked

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:35 am

I've noticed the petrol brands are all messed up in Australia.

People should check for that, seems to be mixed up with US and euro petrol brands I assume.
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:27 am

WeeeZer14 wrote:
bgodette wrote:
skbun wrote:http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Map_Editor_Interface_and_Controls#Segment_Edit_Detail:

An alternate name street must also have the same city as the primary segment. (My emphasis added)
So there's no Street anywhere in the world that belongs to two cities or a city with two official names. Somehow I doubt that.

Forget different cities. How about different states? For example: State St in Bristol, TN / Bristol, VA

Image

To the left of the double yellow line is VA, to the right is TN.


You'd need 2 one easy streets or pick a state or probably have no state and a road name.

Its alt names not alt name, state, city.

The states don't mean anything much just a search area look up, in waze/editor Australia doesn't have any states even though there is 8 states with more minor ones as well like Norfolk island.

We have to add states to the suburb/city name, so the area names don't get mixed up over the whole country.

Which must cause problems for the servers as they are dealing with an area the size of the USA.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:00 am

A quick question on the street numbers as well.

Multi segments and street numbering.

I see you can only do numbers for 1 segment at a time does anyone know if you do a number on that street and then went to the other end segment and did the end number.

would it have numbering across the whole street/segments or just incomplete numbering for the end segments?
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:55 am

rleejr79 wrote:In the screenshot posted:

1.) I understand the the alt name feature works. Do I have to delete and reassign alt name every time? I am unable to edit the alt name as is. Yes, I have permission and I was last to lock it. (Highlighted it in red on left)

4.) Is Waze going to implement their own search result as per the ability to enter house numbers or is it still going to use the search provider?

5.) +1 for simplifying the functions on the left side


On the Alt names from what I've seen you can have 4-5 alt names I guess the circle X would clear it but I noticed the old WME would have some alt names but you couldn't edit or delete them now you can I guess, could be person based as some places can have many names based on where you are from.

I've not used the old old editor so do not know much about how it worked the names.


From the times I've used waze to find a street it you could always add a street number but it would just goto the middle or the end or a street, I would assume the same will happen again but be a little bit more picky about the place it decides.

Correct street numbers will always be a hit and miss affair really, same problem in many GPS apps and units.

at least they can be added so you get fairly close to the right place.
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby xtago » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:24 am

Haven't tried it yet but looking forwarded to giving it a go.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
Image
xtago
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby wroadd » Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:08 am

The gas station's brand field is fixed...
Waze Global Champ, (Re)tired
Hardware: Oukitel U22 & iPhone 7
Car: Soca Octavia : red
wroadd
 
Posts: 1839
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:35 pm
Location: Szeged,Hungary
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby wroadd » Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:23 pm

Sometimes helps if you turn off the landmarks layer

Tapatalk 2-vel küldve az én GT-P1000-ről
Waze Global Champ, (Re)tired
Hardware: Oukitel U22 & iPhone 7
Car: Soca Octavia : red
wroadd
 
Posts: 1839
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:35 pm
Location: Szeged,Hungary
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 24 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: steveinark

cron