Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:48 am

davipt wrote:
mssusa wrote:Issues: (On Chrome, Chrome zoom %100, Windows 7 64bit, World server, All helper tools disabled except the live map navigation list).

1. I got road object/image mismatch after I played with it for some time. (...)
2. Geometry nodes are hard to spot.
3. There does need to be a faster way to access street names by just selecting the street without the need for "e" or clicking on "edit".
4. Hitting "Enter" on street name does not update it. I have to click on "Apply".
5. When naming segments of the same street by choosing from the nearby street name drop down list clicking on a names does not select it.
6. I sometimes get transparent turn restrictions that I can't change.


1 was already happening on the previous version. It works on my firefox, but my colleague on chrome was always seeing the roads besides the satellite images, so it's not a new bug (it may happen more now, I don't know)

2. +1, the new drag nodes and the new arrows when a segment is selected are hard to distinguish.

3. having the "e" to edit is already an advance from the previous version. I'd just suggest that pressing 'e' and opening the editing would pre-focus the city input field right away (or the street if city=none, or no focus if both=none of course)

4. works on firefox and safari, it may be a simple javascript fix. which browser?

5. also works on firefox. both clicking on the street with the mouse, as well as arrow down + enter. I do have a issue though. Let's assume there is a road named "N8" and a "N8-1". If I try to edit the street name and write "N" the drop down shows the two suggestions. Then I write 8 because I want N8, but because the first suggestion is N8-1, the input box changes automatically to N8-1. I basically need to write N8+ESC+Enter to dismiss the suggestion box and avoid saving the wrong name.

6. isn't that the transparent arrow feature? just press "a" to make them transparent or opaque, and shift-z to switch between the arrows from the selected segment to the red arrows on the map. some say shift-? gives you a screen with the keyboard commands, but I can only see it on safari and not on firefox, as the ? in the Portuguese keyboard is already a shift-key-right-to-0 so I can't do a double-shift ;)


3. It'd even be better if selecting a segment automatically opens its properties and focuses on city or name as you suggest. Why click to select the segment then click or press "e"? why not just click to select the segment?

4. Chrome 19.0.1084.56.

5. Same problem you describe + earlier problem I described on Chrome.

6. No it is not, or at least it should not be as I have not asked for it. "a" produces the same behavior, but I did not touch it. It happened when I QWed a node while editing and saved before picking individual turns to restrict. It also happened with the previous version once or twice.
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:12 pm

davipt wrote:
3. I don't agree. I personally seldom need to change the city or street name (it should be a one time operation) so I'd hate if every time I'd select a segment the editor would focus on a input box and I'd no longer be able to do anything else as no other key shortcut would work. I like the 'e' shortcut a lot, just miss the auto-focus on city/street to be even faster.


Well.. I think they should cater to me first ;)
Seriously, that's hard to solve. I and, I believe, many many others, are editing on virgin countries where there is no map at all. Most of our work involve creating and naming streets as opposed to fixing geometry, connectivity and/or turn restrictions.

A middle meeting point is to keep the old behavior: when clicking on a link its properties should be opened without changing the focus.

I wish this can be customizable, or someone would add it to the user scripts.
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:49 pm

From Waze biweekly 5/11/2012 ( viewtopic.php?p=281430#p281430) : the new editor has support for chatting with other editors online and offline. Any ideas?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:39 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:It says they are "adding" it, not that it has been added. It appeared in a previous beta many months ago as a layer called "Other users" which was documented for many months in the wiki. At that time, all we could do was see other editors on the map as the "hardhat Wazer" icon. You could see their zoom level as a grayed circle, and when they were actively editing/saving, their icon would shade red. There was no ability to chat or interact or even know who it was.

Since then, they have continued to develop this feature, but have not yet deployed it for beta testing. It's considered to be in "alpha" testing IMO.


It sounded like they are talking about this version, but thanks anyway. It is not like it'll be of any use to me; I'm the only one editing within at least 400km in each direction :lol:

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:05 pm

My eyes are killing me! Is there a visual cue for showing if a segment is terminated with a node? The A or B cover everything. For named roads I can sometimes see a blue (black?) dot at the end when the segment is terminated with a node, but when it is not named yet? nothing. Same goes when you select a segment. Named or not, I can't see if it is terminated.

I will get used to it like I finally came to love the old version. But for now? everything is killing my eyes. My productivity in Chrome is very reduced because of the irregular behavior of the editing boxes. Is Firefox any better? I left Firefox only for Waze because the last version stated that it is only compatible with Chrome. What is the officially supported browser with this version?
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:12 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I will make sure I disable scripts and try again.

Okay, so I've verified partially. It may be a hardware/software issue. I'm on a unibody MBP and when I click by fully depressing the trackpad so it actually "clicks" then nothing happens. However, if I just tap it, then it works fine. This sounds like an issue with Chrome and the OS/hardware, but not a Waze issue.


I've reported this earlier with Chrome on Windows 7 64bit. I can't even analyze it as it works fine on very rare occasions. All scripts disabled.

Same goes for losing the ability to see if a dead end segment is terminated by a node or not. Thanks to Tim this is not a big issue as his highlighting tool helps here.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:14 pm

Sorry I didn't want to create a discussion of why a segment needs to be terminated. I and the other poster above are complaining that with A and B at the ends of a segment we can no longer see if it is terminated /connected properly to another segment or not. But thanks to Tim's tool, this is no longer a big issue.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:22 am

Loading road images and not the road objects, or vice versa is not a new behavior at all. It has been there for a long time before the last upgrade.
I believe it is a server load problem as I've seen UK editors always complaining about unresponsiveness or missing layers while the editor is working perfectly for me. I've never paid much attention to see if I'm served by the same servers as the UK editors (both before and after the UK got their own servers).

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:17 am

I get the pointer stuck when my machine is overloaded. Especially when there are many segments in the view or there is a very long segment (10s or 100s of km long). This was also the case with the old version

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mssusa » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:52 pm

bz2012 wrote:I submitted a report to support along with a link to our conversation.

Had something like this for a while in the intl server in my last session (3 hours until a few minutes ago). No more unknown type available and the direction arrows in the drop down list were displayed as html escape codes for special characters.
The arrows are fixed now, but I haven't paid attention to the Unknown type.

Time to sleep :(

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
mssusa
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: paulkok_my, Xyzr2