Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby mike-bronner » Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:40 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
mike-bronner wrote:If we're speaking of graphically drawing things out, the browser is already doing this. The server just sends the raw data about the objects (coordinates, basically), then the browser renders everything through SVG data. The selectable road object is actually separate from the road that you see. It is an invisible vector object that gets manipulated as you select it or hover over it.
Because all objects are essentially data, and not graphics, we can create nifty add-ons, like timbones' color hightlights script, that can manipulate segments. :)
The only graphics that the server servers up is the Bing imagery, which comes from Bing servers, so it doesn't present an additional load on the Waze servers.

We are saying the same thing I think. What we see visually for the road layer, is a png, aligned with the actual SVG layer. What I'd like to see is the SVG layer only to be loaded, and have the browser draw the actual visible layer too.

In terms of the browser save causing a tile refresh, that is a capability of the current infrastructure and was one of the major features of the upgrade the US got a few months ago, and the World got this past week.

However, we do not want it to happen this quickly, at least, not so the app can download it right away or by default. Can you imagine a tile being saved 20 times in 5 minutes and the app downloading the tile 20 times? That would crush both the infrastrucutre network bandwidth and kill our data plan limits. :) It may be able to do that, but before we do, we need better, more restrictive default app tile download behavior.

Oh yes, didn't mean to contradict, was expanding on your answer. :)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
mike-bronner
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:46 pm

Yes, there's a couple if extra mouse clicks, but the Ctrl-A negates any other inconveniences.

I still like the tools better on the right hand side (which is how it was for the majority of the time in this beta).


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:18 pm

davipt wrote:and the intl editor is down right now, can't even login :(

It's supposed to be isn't it?
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23587
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 4770 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:02 pm

AndyPoms wrote:Just from the image it looks like Reserve Circle is a loop. A segment can't start and end on the same node, it needs an extra junction on it somewhere...

Which can fixed by deleting the segment and redrawing as two. That will have to be done regardless.

But I think either this isn't a loop road and that one side of the loop isn't really connected to the junction, or there is a geometry node very close to the junction which makes the right turn actually go left for just a few feet and then has a 180 link in it to the right. That would make both turn arrows overlap.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23587
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 4770 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:02 pm

Fabione72 wrote:Hi,

I've got a boring editing problem.

I noticed a map error while driving on a road, and I'd like to fix it.

When I enter into the editing screen, I verified that, even if the whole road area is available for editing (that's very close to my last drives), the system says I'm not enable to edit it...

I checked the tutorial, I should be able to do it...

any suggestion? is that my problem or some kind of bug?

I'm using Chrome 22.0.1229.94 m

Ciao


Is the segment you're trying to edit locked by a higher level user? If you're trying to edit a major highway or complicated junction, it's common practice to lock these at a high level to prevent inexperienced editors from making changes.

Either way, you may want to post a permalink in the update requests forum along with the general location and a brief description and someone can try to help you out.


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:57 pm

xtago wrote:I don't see a problem with that myself, you have to go to the intersection anyway, I don't see what the point is of trying top start the navigation half way through the segment of a dead end road when you need top head towards the junction anyway.


This is a huge problem because an unterminated dead-end can be miles long. The highlighted route may not be in sight. Remember, this is a navigation app. It tells you where to go. "Proceed to Highlighted Route" is never acceptable and immediately signals that something is wrong with the map.

The unterminated dead end problem is documented in the Wiki and discussed throughout the forums.

xtago wrote:Also you do know that if you move the end of a segment that has a junction the editor automatically removes the junction, you can only keep the junction if you move the junction itself.2


This only happens if you select the segment before you move the end. If you select the end node without selecting the segment, you can move it around without losing the end node.



---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:14 pm

invented wrote:I just don't get why the City field even appears in Alternate as a separate option then. I thought it was to select different alt names for the different cities the road travels through, as all the segments I'm finding with this already filled out have different city names than the primary.

Because every street in the database, which is where segments get their properties, has an associated city. That street could be empty, but then that is a different streetId than the same street with any other city name. All distinct. But we should be forced to have any new alt names be the same city as primary. When the primary changes city, though, there is no code or check to adjust alternates at the same time. Future features I hope.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23587
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 4770 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:30 pm

anonymous0816 wrote:Well. German keyboard layout would also require a double-shift.
Please fix this. Either make it "?"-only or "Shift+h" for example for "help".

2nd: This function is not mentioned in the wiki.

Which function isn't mentioned in the wiki? German keyboard layout activator for the help window?
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23587
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 4770 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby stevecody » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:59 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
stevecody wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:[quote="davipt"]So waze please tell me the nickname of the reporter!!!

This is being looked into by management. Right now, the TOS/Privacy Policy doesn't allow it. It may be as easy as modifying that, but we're not sure.


I don't care to know who the person is but I would LOVE to be able to simply send them a message, as in Cartouche.

Right there with ya! The email contains your username and a link to the forum, so if they are motivated, they can contact you.[/quote]

Yeah, that is nice. I actually had a friend at work thank me because he received one of those emails after I fixed a problem he reported. :)




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
stevecody
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:18 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Map Editor major ver (Nov 5, 2012) Official Feedback

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:56 am

stevecody wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:So waze please tell me the nickname of the reporter!!!

This is being looked into by management. Right now, the TOS/Privacy Policy doesn't allow it. It may be as easy as modifying that, but we're not sure.


I don't care to know who the person is but I would LOVE to be able to simply send them a message, as in Cartouche.

Right there with ya! The email contains your username and a link to the forum, so if they are motivated, they can contact you.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23587
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 4770 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], karapan