Nav acts strange at this location

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Re: Nav acts strange at this location

Postby cherianchris » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:55 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
FastKatt wrote:I used Google Maps :roll: to get the info I was unsure of.

Have you not read the Google TOS as well as the Waze warnings about using other copyrighted sources of data? Some countries have had all roads deleted due to misuse of other sources. Please do not.

I saw this one coming.. "A small child with a stick" :grin:

MB526 - > Tapatalk 2
“It is not power that corrupts but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge of power corrupts those who are subject to it.” Image Image
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Nav acts strange at this location

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:44 pm

FastKatt wrote:Apologies,...
I'll drive to the sub-division, right away, and manually check the street-names...
I didn't realize you could 'Copyright' a street-name that you didn't name in the 1st-place.
I'll look for the TOS pages before I leave.


It's not the street name that's copyrighted, it's Google's presentation of the data that is copyrighted. If you can get the info about the street name from a government source (website) then you are all good (at least in the USA). State DOT, DEP, and Town/City DPW or Tax Assessor are good places to look.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1323 times

Re: Nav acts strange at this location

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:54 pm

FastKatt wrote:I used Google Maps :roll: to get the info I was unsure of.

Have you not read the Google TOS as well as the Waze warnings about using other copyrighted sources of data? Some countries have had all roads deleted due to misuse of other sources. Please do not.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4815 times

Re: Nav acts strange at this location

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:42 am

Yeah, that's a hard one. Is it any better in the last 3 days since they found and fixed the bug related to interstate gaps and re/routing?

BTW, looks like new neighborhood streets to the northwest of that location need adding. :)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4815 times

Nav acts strange at this location

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:28 am

FastKatt wrote:What do you mean by GPS Layer? This is still new to me

Go to the map editor link in my sig. Go to editing manual, map editor interface and controls. See the layers section.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23617
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4815 times

Previous

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users