Editor trouble

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Editor trouble

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:58 am

Turn off the landmarks layer.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2246 times

Re: Editor trouble

Postby cherianchris » Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:41 am

I refresh the WME every 30 minutes. That helps me to avoid the problem. :grin:

MB526 - > Tapatalk 2
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Editor trouble

Postby daknife » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:07 pm

tgfathergoose wrote:This is a serious problem that has been in existence ever since the latest editor came on line. My frustration with this bug is extremely high.

The only workaround to this is to save your changes, then select Live Map, then Update Map. Most of the time this will work, but only temporarily. I've done as few as 20 or so turn enables, then try to select a street to change the routing, and it has died again.

FIX THIS BUG!!!!!

Actually it's much easier to fix. Once you are zoomed into the area you are working go to your address bar and delete everything but the basic editor url https://www.waze.com/editor/. Then when you run across this just save your edits to this point, and then reload the page, it will refresh the entire map, fixing the problem (until you've zoomed in and out a few times). It's quick and easy. To not have to do it at all would be best, but until Waze gets it fixed this is the quickest work-around.

As long as the address is the basic link as shown above, it will always refocus you right on where you were when you hit reload. If you have additional location data in the address box, it will reload to that data, which has bounced me miles from where I was working when I wasn't watching what I was doing.
Image
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 359 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: Editor trouble

Postby EduardoJaramillo » Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:29 pm

I have the same problem, but turning the landmarks layer off doesn't help. I've found that taking a permalink (bottom right of the screen) usually works.
Sometimes, the roads don't even show and some tiles are pink. The roads are there (moving the mouse over will select them) but there is no map at all to be seen. After changing the zoom they will eventually show.
EduardoJaramillo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Editor trouble

Postby Jarpee28 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:14 am

If this is posted in the wrong place than Mods please delete it and tell me where to put it. But I am having a hard time selecting roads in the editor. It seems like 75% of the time when I click on a road it highlights the segment in blue but does not show me the points of the segment or the turning arrows at the junctions. I have to zoom out a few times and select it and then it will let me see the editing points. Is this a know issue or am I doing something wrong or what?
Jarpee28
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:17 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Editor trouble

Postby tgfathergoose » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:22 am

This is a serious problem that has been in existence ever since the latest editor came on line. My frustration with this bug is extremely high.

The only workaround to this is to save your changes, then select Live Map, then Update Map. Most of the time this will work, but only temporarily. I've done as few as 20 or so turn enables, then try to select a street to change the routing, and it has died again.

FIX THIS BUG!!!!!
Country Manager - US
iphone 5s
Image
tgfathergoose
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sebath