Street Missing from Client

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Street Missing from Client

Postby deeggo » Thu Jul 01, 2010 6:23 am

Hi, maybe you can manually update the tiles in your client, or delete them from your device to force an update? Don't know what client your using....
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3962
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 427 times
Been thanked: 465 times

Re: Street Missing from Client

Postby deeggo » Thu Jul 01, 2010 8:39 pm

If I look at the images, the missing street in the client is not the one with the update request on top of it, but the one north of it, selected in this link. True?

I don't know what's wrong with it. I suggest you send it in to alpha@waze.com, so they can take a look at it. I've occasionally seen weird things happening with roads in cartouche. I'm usually not patient enough, so I delete to troubling segments and recreate it :)
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3962
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 427 times
Been thanked: 465 times

Re: Street Missing from Client

Postby krankyd » Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:31 pm

the problem with this specific segment is now solved (you can see it on the client), and we are also running a fix to upload other missing segments to the client tiles.
thank you for this report.
wazing like a hurricane
krankyd
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 2:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Street Missing from Client

Postby trantjd » Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:13 pm

The street segment (flagged by the update request) here:

http://www.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=6&l ... 1=57830343

Is not showing up on my Waze client for the iPhone for some reason. It shows up on the live map and has the same characteristics as the other streets around it in cartouche but does not display nor does it show a path when routing along that road.
Waze Community Member
Area Manager for Dulles South area in Northern VA
(Aldie to Chantilly and Ashburn to Manassass)
iPhone 4 client
trantjd
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Street Missing from Client

Postby trantjd » Thu Jul 01, 2010 3:22 pm

I refreshed the tiles and the problem still occurs. This small segment has actually been missing on the client for several months now. I've attached a screenshot from my phone showing the area in question. If you look at cartouche and then look at the screenshot, you can see the portion that is missing. Routing occurs as if the road is there (it does not route me in a different direction, avoiding the gap and shows the route path on the road on both sides but does not trace over the missing road) but then the client recalculates my route once I hit this section as the client deems me to be off route.

missing Summerall Dr segment.PNG
Shows the missing segment on my iPhone client.
missing Summerall Dr segment.PNG (107.71 KiB) Viewed 629 times


I am using client 1.10.0.0 on the iPhone 4 but this problem has occurred on my previous iPhone 3G over several client updates.

My next step was to just delete the segment in cartouche and re-create it but if this pointed to a deeper problem in Waze, I thought this should be reported as it is very repeatable (at least on my end).
Waze Community Member
Area Manager for Dulles South area in Northern VA
(Aldie to Chantilly and Ashburn to Manassass)
iPhone 4 client
trantjd
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Street Missing from Client

Postby trantjd » Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:35 pm

Ah, yes, you are correct, it is the street that you selected and not the one that the update request is on. I'll be e-mailing alpha shortly!
Waze Community Member
Area Manager for Dulles South area in Northern VA
(Aldie to Chantilly and Ashburn to Manassass)
iPhone 4 client
trantjd
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Street Missing from Client

Postby trantjd » Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:03 pm

It looks much better now and the routing looks correct!
Waze Community Member
Area Manager for Dulles South area in Northern VA
(Aldie to Chantilly and Ashburn to Manassass)
iPhone 4 client
trantjd
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], JubailBarroquillo, Twister-UK