Landmark Database Size Reduction

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:29 pm

1. Depends on how far the screen is moved.
2. ?
3. It appears to, yes. It's part of the Features load

I have noted that the editor will start to crawl when landmarks layer is enabled, especially at low zoom levels (high altitude), presumably due to many landmarks being in view.

In the past, some landmarks with too many geometry nodes would fail to display at all. That may have been in Cartouche.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4870 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 am

The hold 'd' while dragging (no mouse click) is way faster than double clicking.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4870 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun May 05, 2013 9:30 pm

orbitc wrote:It works fine with Chrome fine (howering and clicking D), but it doesn't work well the same way as you are describing using firefox. That's from my experience.

It should be the same and I haven't heard other FF users complaining about this. Did you possibly change the shortcut letter? This is the same delete function as for removing geometry nodes on segments. Can you not delete those either?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4870 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun May 05, 2013 9:41 pm

I use a MBP and Chrome and Chrome both work fine with the builtin track pad. Can figure why ff would misbehave as such.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4870 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun May 05, 2013 10:04 pm

Seems that ff has a built-in shortcut for search and it's capturing the key press instead of WME. You could assign a different letter.... How have you been removing any geometry nodes ever?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4870 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun May 05, 2013 10:47 pm

orbitc wrote:Needless to say.... It works. :)

Sweet.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4870 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby AndyPoms » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:25 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:
skbun wrote:(An afterthought...In theory, we're not supposed to be mapping water at all, correct? Last I heard, Waze is handing the water layer, and we're supposed to delete any body of water in the United States, with prejudice...right? https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=129&t=38934 for reference.

I have not read through that link yet, but I would think it best to not delete water (like the SF Bay) until the water layer is operational. I thought there were issues with water not showing up where it was supposed to show. Unless someone has done a test on the bay to confirm you can still see water with those landmarks removed, I propose we hold on them until testing confirms it is OK to remove now.

Yes, what Kent said (Except SF Bay should be part of the water layer - has anyone tested it yet?).
[ img ]
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 7223
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 1331 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby b-pilot » Thu May 02, 2013 4:13 am

Can the editor be set up to - upon a double click of a Landmark Node - interpret that as a delete of that node, or bring up a dialog to have the user confirm the node deletion?

That would be an AWESOME (and painless) way to simplify Landmarks

- - - Jim
AM: IL (Lincoln - Peoria - Galesburg - QCA) - IA (QCA - DeWitt - Clinton)
434K [ img ]
b-pilot
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:38 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby CBenson » Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:25 pm

Likely should be a separate topic. Don't really know, but I have had some luck in the past with water anomalies that the are actually in the landmark layer by drawing a railroad segment through the area to get all the tiles to regenerate.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: Landmark Database Size Reduction

Postby Daknife » Sat Aug 03, 2013 6:06 am

Late to this topic, good to know, I've attempted to clean-up/adjust the borders of the Grand Canyon a few times and quickly gave up each time. Now I know why it was such a pain.

Bravo Kentsmith9!!!!!!
[ img ]
AM in Utah; CM USA
Utah Forum: Utah Forum
Samsung Galaxy S4 running 4.4 KitKat on Sprint
Daknife
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Riverdale, Utah
Has thanked: 455 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron